We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury experience at economy price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Jaipur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Luxury experience at economy price”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This has to be one of my best stays in fort lauderdale.

Great location...within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and stores. Very close to the promenade.

Very spacious room with a separate a sitting area.great sofa. Ultimate entertainment system that has a huge flat screen tv and allows you to c connect a variety of devices including your laptop and cellphone. Great experience.

They have gourmet hot sandwiches for the included free breakfast. Hands down the best free breakfast included in a room. Great staff. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: No real view from rooms on any side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you so much for your kind and generous feedback about our hotel...We at Hyatt take this very seriously and use your comments to encourage our staff on a job well done. We do hope that you will share your story with your friends, and family. We do hope to see you again real soon.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    439
    143
    68
    35
See reviews for
374
424
71
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

First off - one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. Updated, large, huge flat panel TV..as soon as we walked into the room we said "wow!". Welcoming and courteous staff in all of our interactions. A great location close to the Lauderdale beaches, the cruise port and more. Within in minutes of coming to the room, I knew already I was going to give this hotel a rating of five on tripadvisor....but then I tried to go online. Pretty well the worst, the glitchiest, the most inconsistent and unpredictable wifi internet of any hotel I've ever been at. Continued through our stay, and apparently it's an ongoing issue with their provider (or something like that). I need the internet for business and to stay in touch, so on our return leg in a couple of weeks, while I would love to book a room here, I will not - at least not until their wifi issues are corrected. If wifi is important to you, you may want to verify that their problems have been resolved..if you don't care about wifi, then you will find the Hyatt Place to be a lovely hotel and one of the best price/value/wow factor rooms you'll stay in.

Room Tip: They advertise complimentary wifi..but it pretty much is non-functioning..so call ahead to verify th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CroozerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Greetings!

Thank you for your feedback. We certainly appreciate your experience both good and bad so that we may utilize that in receiving the results that are intended. As for the internet wi-fi, we are working on getting this resolved for the stability, speed, and consistency of the network...we have completed our 4 million dollar renovation (structurally) and this is the final stage in were we are working. I assure you, this issue will be resolved in the near future. Please do give us another opportunity for the "5" you mentioned in your review. Thank you again, all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I was so pleased by this room and hotel. I knew I would like it as soon as I walked in because the front desk staff were so nice. I wish I had his name from our stay on Oct 13th. As soon as we came in, he helped us arrange a shuttle for Jungle Island Cruise and even asked how we enjoyed it on the way back. The other staff was great too, but he was overly pleasant and helpful. The shuttle driver was great as well (don't have his name either but he took us to and from the Jungle Island Cruise on Oct 13th and chatted with us about the area).

I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel room. It was so clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Loved the comfortable couch and large TV. They had free wifi, a nice breakfast in the morning and a free shuttle. The price for the room was great especially with so much included. You can't ask for anything more.

The only thing that I could complain about is the bathroom which was small with a dim light but all the other GREAT things about this hotel overshadowed the bathroom.

And I must add I recently stayed at a 4 star hyatt a few days before that I was so disappointed with and to find this great 3 star hyatt totally shocked me.

I would recommend staying at this hotel. We very much enjoyed it and a big thank you to the wonderful staff. You guys are great and make the hotel what it is. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback. We sincerely appreciate your repsonse and will use this as training for our staff for continued success. Please do share with your friends and family and come back and see us again real soon.

All the best~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights. This is a beautiful hotel located next to a shopping plaza with good restaurants, shopping and within 2 miles of the cruise port and 3 miles of the beach. The hotel has a small outside pool that looked very nice.

The challenge with this hotel were the little things, but there where so many.

Coffee in the room, but those same ole dry creamer, with sugar and stir stick. By now, most hotels have the cream packet and choice of sugar packets in the room.
Starbucks coffee in the bar made from 3 Mr. Coffee Pots.
Ordered a Cappachino and the cup was only half full of the coffee part and the rest was foam.
Nobody smiled.. there was this stress level in the hotel that was easy to tell. As an example, in the breakfast room, someone asked if they had any breakfast sandwiches left, the lady working behind the counter simply replied, "no more".
Breakfast dishes pilled up over the top of the bus tubs
The chill plate for the milk and juices was turned off early to make clean-up faster

You should know that the bar is very limited in it's selection and offers Budwieser Beer along with Heiniken, Corona and Sam Adams.

I've stayed at many Hyatt Place hotels in the past, this one had the same nice room, good ombiance and the potiential to be a favorite. This just seem to be missing a good manager for the details that are a hallmark of most like hotels in the chain.

Room Tip: Go to the Lauderdale Grill for the best Bloody Mary in town and good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterV54301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Greetings! My sincere apologies you encountered during your stay with us! All the issues that you encountered have been addressed...and corrected, so that moving forward, you will not have these occurences. We do take pride in our customer service and ammentiites in the hotel. Please allow us another opportunity to show you how our hotel truly operates. We look forward to having you here with us again, in the near future. Again, please accept our apologies.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I was very impressed with the level of customer service at this hotel. My room was clean and the staff were very helpful.

In the morning, did notice a hair on one of my towns and one on the floor. When I mentioned it at checkout they were very apologetic and even deducted $30 from the already great rate that I received. Although hair is gross, it is a hotel and these things happen. The way the employee handled the complaint, though, was above par. He acted right away and with a smile. You can tell that they do take cleanliness very seriously here and that the hair was just very unacceptable to them. I really appreciated their professionalism and the integrity that was displayed. Other than the little bit of hair, the room was exceptionally clean. The bed was comfortable and I was very at ease.

I will stay again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank 3lildivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We do sincerely apologize for the situation that occured during your stay and for being so understanding. We do value your consideration for our hotel and do hope to see you again in the near future. Our main goal is to satisfy our guests, and your experience will assist us greatly in preventing this moving forward. Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed here on Friday 09/29/12 ...

We could not have asked for anything to be any better. The room was awesome. The managers and staff were all very nice and helpful. The breakfast buffet was great and added to the value. We will definitely stay here the next time we are in the area again.

Tip: You cannot beat their shuttle service. They will take you and come and pick you up later in a good radius around the hotel. Since we were only in the area one day, we used the shuttle to take us down to get on the water taxi. It was a great way to see and get a good taste of Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CoupleHarleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
What a nice review...Greetings and thank you for your kind words about our hotel, staff, managers, and shuttle. This is great feedback and will be shared with the team to assist in continuing excellent guest stays now and in the future. Again we thank you and value your feedback.

Hope to see you again and share the good word with all!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
310 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is always what you get from the Hyatt place, a clean, nice decor room, friendly staff, nice FREE morning breakfast buffet. Weekend is busy with a family and KIDS.. So little noisy, well the hotel get noisy because of the kids, and that happends everywhere. My only complain will be the internet access. VERY SLOW in room, at lobby ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback!.. We sincerely appreciate the information that you provided. We are currently working on upgrading our internet service for a more faster stable connection. Please be sure to stay with us again in the future and share the good word with your friends and family.

Thank you again...Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,951 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Address: 1851 SE 10th Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2935
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center ~ great location, conviently located 2 miles from the beach, 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Port. In addition, we are less than 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, a complimentay upgraded "hot AM Skillet" breakfast buffet, and 24 hour food cooked to order food options, or grab and go. We are within walking distance to Harbor Shops, Mezzaluna, and Outback to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport - North Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing