We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for bars and restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District
Ranked #30 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location for bars and restaurants”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location in the river district in downtown fort Myers , handy for bars / cafes / restaurants
If you want to hit the beach it takes around an hour by car depending on traffic , beaches on captiva are really nice
Hotel is nicely furnished and clean, beds are not the most comfortable , our room 208 was an adjoining room which meant you could hear way too much from next door .
Had lots of issues with the electronic keys :-(
But all and all a good hotel

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeysjfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    181
    51
    37
    36
See reviews for
84
208
41
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Lovely hotel, Fast check-in. They have valet parking but self parking is a few blocks down at the city garage.Rooms are very modern and clean. They have a Krups coffeemaker in room but no hair dryers. They need to have coffee in the lobby as well. The shopping around the hotel is nice. Be wary of the vagrants...lots of them asking for handouts. In hotel restaurant "Vito" was excellent for breakfast and dinner and the rooftop bar has a great limited menu. Cheeseburgers cooked to perfection...medium rare and tasty. Did not have a lot of time to spend shopping as I wanted to. went to Ft. Myers ot look at condo's. had a wonderful real estate woman that spent 2 and 1/2 days showing us around.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine O, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments about Hotel Indigo Fort Myers location. We are always pleased with the wonderful feedback from our valued guests. We do have hair dryers for your convenience and please be sure to let us know when you will be returning so we may be sure your stay is most enjoyable. Happy New Year from Hotel Indigo and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Here is my list of pros and cons. Bottom line -- given the options available in/near Fort Myers, this isn't bad, but there are several areas that need work.

PROS:
* Good options for food/drink nearby
* Suite was very spacious
* Keurig machine in the room was a nice touch (but, like the television, needed to be replaced)
* Spacious bathroom
* Free wifi that is fast when it works, but it was a bit inconsistent (had to repeatedly refresh the same page to get my browser to go there)
* Valet parking was available (albeit for $20 per night)
* The value is pretty good given the size of the room and the relatively low price

CONS:
* Air conditioning in the room is really loud, and is powered by wall units (not central) so it makes a lot of noise and will wake you up when it cuts on while you sleep.
* Hotel is located in the heart of an area of the city that turns into a party zone at night. Good if that's what you're looking for, but if you're looking to try to get some sleep before 1 a.m., not so good.
* Room service menu is very limited (think glorified airline food) and wasn't offered on Sunday.
* When I arrived at my room the television in the living room did not work. They did not replace it until the next day.
* Service was hit or miss. When I checked in, the attendant was pleasant and helpful. But that same attendant seemed put out of her way when I made simple requests from the room by telephone.
* The theme of this place appears to be "how minimally can we staff it and maximize profit"
* The "business center" is merely a large cubicle near the front desk and bar.
* The televisions have HD capability but no HD channels
* One small trash can for the entire suite (and bathroom)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aj74mia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine O, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you so much for your recent review. I wanted to clarify that you stayed at the Fort Myers Hotel Indigo? We are a fairly new hotel almost 3 years now. We have bran new top of the line Keurig coffee machines for our valued guests morning enjoyment. We have flat screen TV's in our bedrooms & living areas of our suites. Your review indicated that our valet was $20.00 per night. We charge 14.00 for valet and only $5.00 to self park across the street. We have an Executive chef and offer room service every day with a lot of great homemade choices. On Sundays we offer a Jazz Brunch from 9 am to 1pm with several choices for breakfast, or/and lunch. We also offer room service for Sunday morning early risers from 7am to 1pm in the afternoon. At your next stay with us try us out for brunch you will love the homemade muffins, specialty bloody mary's, and special breakfast entrees our Chef offers. I look forward to having you stay with us again to try all the wonderful amenities that we are so proud to offer our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

This was our first stay at an Indigo Hotel and we were most pleasantly surprised by the upscale style and amenities. It was similar to staying at a W at half the price. The hotel is uniquely located in the historic area of downtown Fort Myers and is within walking distance to some terrific restaurants and shops. We were visiting the Edison and Ford Estates and the Indigo is only a few minute drive away.
We had a 4th floor corner room that provided a nice view of the downtown area, lots of natural light and showcased a very well thought out renovation of an older building. The bathroom was very large with a wonderful shower that even included a bench and very high end products. Also nice robes and towels!
The room had nice clean wood flooring and an area rug and had a separate work are with free WiFi, lounge chair, and a very modern and sophisticated color scheme. If there is a draw back it is the lack of central cooling. The wall style unit was reasonably quite and very efficiently controlled by a wall mounted thermostat.
We booked a rate that included breakfast and it is well worth the few extra bucks. There is also a French Bakery on the North side of the hotel that offers incredible pastries and sandwiches. Since we were there on a weekend, we opted for free street parking rather than use the valet.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more windows, space and light
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florida-Traveler-888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Had a fantastic experience staying in the Hotel Indigo! Rooms are clean and spacious, and the staff is really friendly and helpful - gave us lots of great sightseeing advice. Loved the hotel bars and restaurants, especially the rooftop bar! Location is perfect - right in the heart of downtown with boutiques, bars and restaurants within a short walking distance. Highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine O, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
It is such a joy and gives me such pride to have our guests take the time to write a review of our hotel. I do think our hotel is fun and trendy! We have a lot of new artwork in our lobby and its a pleasure to have guests enjoy the new features! I hope you come and stay with us again ! Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo and Happy Holidays to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

definitely a cool boutique spot in a hip area. really the only hotel in the river district. tons of great restaurants/amenities around.
the hotel is upscale and clean and comfortable. beds and bathrooms are huge.
staff is very friendly but could use a little more training/punctuality. for example the housekeepers just come and go as they please and don't mind the door hangers, and the pool didn't open until about two hours after when it supposed to, upon us asking them to open it.
the hotel could use a few more amenities--for example, the lobby bar doesn't serve food and closes super early and there's no place to get a snack after about 9pm. loved the free wifi.
overall it was a great stay.

Room Tip: upgrade to a corner suite--definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JQFreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine O, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our fun rooftop pool opens at dawn and closes at dusk. For your enjoyment we now have a "Grab n' Go" which is located at our front desk with homemade snacks, wraps, wine and spring water! I hope you decide to stay with us in the future and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

What a delight to enter this hotel and find the online descriptions to be more than accurate. This hotel is truly a great find. Great location in town. Upon arrival, bellman was super courteous, desk clerk was very accomodating and professional. The room was super clean and spacious,and views from this corner room were great. The windows inside and out were spotless. Very comfy bed, nice sized flat screen TV, and ample closet space with terry cloth robes for the guests. Water pressure was perfect in the shower, and all Aveeno bath products were a nice touch in the bathrom. Dinner in the restaurant was also terrific. Excellent service, presentation, ambiance, and above all, a great meal. Kudos to the chef! All in all very enjoyable experience. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuckshomeoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine O, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Wow I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Our staff takes such pride in their hotel and we are so happy that you want to return! Its such a joy to have our guests take the time to share their experiences with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.3 mi away
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
#29 of 59 in Fort Myers
162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Myers at The Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
1.4 mi away
Best Western Fort Myers Waterfront
Best Western Fort Myers Waterfro...
#1 of 4 in North Fort Myers
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District

Property: Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District
Address: 1520 Broadway, Fort Myers, FL 33901-3076
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel in Fort Myers focused on creating a sense of peace and serenity. Modern decor and innovative design coupled with traditional hotel conveniences make a stay at the Fort Myers Hotel Indigo a time to escape and relax. Families looking for lodging in Ft. Myers will appreciate our hotel's ideal location in the lovely Historic District,with close proximity to attractions such as the Historic Edison & Ford Winter Estates, Sanibel & Captiva's Beaches,Quaint downtown shops and art galleries. Within 6 miles of our downtown location, you'll find large businesses like Miva, GE, the WCI and Chicos headquarters and we are located next to the Federal Courthouse. Premium services like a Business Ctr & free high-speed Internet access available.While lodging at Hotel Indigo you can take a dip in our pool,exercise at our Fitness Center,enjoy our restaurant with great wine selections and Sunday Jazz Brunches. Hotel Indigo is connected to the Historic Post Office Arcade,providing access to a hair salon, bank, scenic rooftop bar, with great weekend entertainment. With a refreshing blend of historic charm & modern sensibility,the Fort Myers Hotel Indigo offers the very best in luxury for their guests enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing