We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, i guess”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad, i guess”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

not really fair for me to review this place after staying 5 nights at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, but...
certainly not 4.5-stars, concierge was the best part, Peggy, from Long Island, was so helpful and knowledgeable.

The Hotel was huge, very busy, and people were crowded together in small area's.

Stayed two nights, didnt have turndown service once.

Continental breakfast was $15. Didnt eat anywhere on site, closest restaurants are in ft. myers beach, about 15-20 minutes away.

No beach, only pools to swim in. lots of intimate couples in pool, pretty gross.

Best part was the fishing pier. caught 3 species of fish in very little time, including a grouper!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    529
    271
    103
    45
See reviews for
468
662
44
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Lovely hotel, excellent staff, nice food but....

We had a lovely family holiday in this hotel in April until a little boy drown in the pool.
I'm not sure of the outcome but I think of the family every day.
I am amazed that the hotel did not hire life guards the very next day?

Room Tip: Not on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank UKMary365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Spent last weekend enjoying Marriott at it's best. Excellent staff. Worked with concierge on two different days. Both ladies were incredibly helpful. Their knowledge of the various local activities to fit into our schedule was fantastic. Desk and Valet staff were genuinely interested in making sure you were served. Went to the Spa and had a Couples massage. Darlene worked on my range of motion issues expertly. Because of her we went back the next day but she wasn't available which was disappointing. However Jen delivered another "best" massage using totally different technique, back walking. While pricey, the spa was the best value at the property! To obtain consistently excellent service during 3 messages with 3 individuals and a facial, made the stay worth a repeat. Just call in advance for reservations!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

After handling family business, one looks for a quiet place too chill out.
That's Sanibel Harbor Marriott. Located right at the bridge crossing to Sanibel Island.
It has beautiful view. There is a great bar overlooking the water and pool area.
The resort has a great spa to get a massage. For a peaceful day, go to Sanibel Island.
For a more energetic day, go to Ft Myers beach. Ft Myers airport is about 20 minutes away.
I have stayed at this resort many times and have never been disappointed.
We were upgraded to a corner suite with a huge balcony.

Room Tip: There are two buildings. If you want to be in the center of the action, stay in the main facility. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

The facilities can use some upgrades such as building painting and kids playgrounds maybe even small kids pool. The staff and service were really good. Breakfast buffet, excellent!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmcolegio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay and we were thrilled. The Sanibel Tower has most of the ameneties - restaurants, fishing pier, bikes, 2 pools, and shops. The Captiva Tower is quieter, has a nice lounge, and a good pool. It's a short, shaded walk between towers and they run a trolley between resort buildings. Both buidling have harbor views so either tower is really fine.

The staff are exemplary with their customer service. It begins with the gatehouse calling reception to announce your arrival. As a result, the valets call you by name when they open your car door.

Every single member of their staff went out of their way to ask if we were enjoying our stay. We met the Chief of Engineering on the elevator who gave us a warm handshake. And we met the Assistant Manager who poured our wine and refilled our water glasses even though the restaurant staff were doing a great job of keeping us replenished. Their customer service skills exceed those of many 5 star resorts and they should be proud.

Our room was well appointed with a an incredibly comfortable bed and pillows. The room was quiet and the thermostat kept us very comfortable. Bathroom is very spacious with the sinks separated from tub/shower and toilet. Balcony is a bit narrow but there are 2 chairs and a large coffee table.

The view from the harbor side balcony is a delight. We saw lots of boats coming and going to the Gulf, pelicans, night time fishing, and even dolphins. Plus, the infamous sunsets.

We tried all 4 restaurants. Food was VERY good in each. Service was top notch. One "suprise" was that the steakhouse ran out of Chilean Sea Bass. The waiter recommended the grouper instead. Although it was tasty I was truly shocked upon getting the bill to see the grouper was $45 while the bass would have been $29. They really should advise if there is a significant price difference when they propose an alternative.

The work out facility is really large and lots of great equipment options. They also run about 2 fitness classes per day. Tennis courts were empty but they had several.

Enjoyed the rental bikes (they are part of your resort fee so use them!) and cruising around the resort. The walking paths give you an interesting insight to mangroves and there were fish literally jumping out of a little lake hidden amongst the trees.

I've seen the reviews about the need for updating. I didn't have that perception at all so maybe I was in a different tower or floor?

I will say that we have every intention of making this our "go to" place on the west coast. It is that good!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Sanibel Tower with even numbers face the harbor which is the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reddogsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I was not sure if I should keep this reservation or not based on some of the reviews I read on tripadvisor. Upon arrival, the place was clean, friendly and the staff could not have been nicer. The front lobby is beautiful and the views are amazing. We stayed in room 1166 in the main tower and it was delightful. I mean WOW - could not have been nicer.

We went to the gym every morning. It is a short, fun walk to a clean upscale gym. We used the Spa which is very good (but not great like the rest of the place), we had lunch a few times here. I thought the food was good and the prices very fair.

One day the toilet clogged up and they came right up and fixed it within minutes and then called us to make sure we were satisfied with the service and left us some candy too. We got a gift for stuffing up their toilet!

We loved the pool. We had great weather. Excellent service.

I have stayed at MANY 5 star hotels, and for those people who are expecting a 5 star, well it's not, but go to s 5 star and see what it's like, unless you are spending 3 times what this hotel costs you will get nothing more - nothing! This place - this place is WONDERFUL!

Go - Enjoy - Relax - THIS PLACE IS TERRIFIC!

LOVED IT !

Room Tip: 1166 - AMAZING! Get a room in the main tower facing the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank true11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
4.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
3.2 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 17260 Harbour Point Drive, Fort Myers, FL 33908-2704
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Hotel Fort Myers
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbour Hotel
Sanibel Harbour Resort And Spa
Sanibel Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbor Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa Fort Myers, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing