We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeps gettin' better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I hadn't been back for 3 years and lots of changes were made- a new lobby, completely redone rooms, new balcony furniture, and the spa was touched up. The resort looks beautiful!! They still have most of the same great staff and the same delicious breakfast buffet. Somehow the weather is always perfect there, too- I don't know how they do it! Can't wait to return, sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenbflohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,850 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have stayed at this resort one time previously and really enjoyed it so we returned. We were disappointed this time. The setting is beautiful but the grounds did not appear to be very well taken care of. The landscaping was full of weeds. We had to park at the remote parking lot because the parking garage was full, which was fine. It was nightime when we parked and more than 1/2 the parking lot lights were not working creating a very dark parking lot. Not only did it make it difficult to see but it was very unsafe. I would not want my wife walking to the car at night by herself. These will seem like little things but when we got to our room, one of the phones did not work, there was only one soap instead of two (one for the shower and one for the sink) and the beds were very uncomfortable. On the positive side, the staff was pleasant and the views of the harbour and sunset are outstanding.

Room Tip: The waterfront room has an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi Brian,

Thank you for choosing to be one of the many guests who choose to come back year after year. We take great pride in delivering service to our guests that exceeds their expectations. As you listed on your most recent visit we unable to reach our goal.

Please know that guest safety and security and an overall Brilliant Experience are our #1 priority for our team. I would first like to thank you for taking time to provide feedback in areas that need more attention going forward. Second, on behalf of all of our Team Members please accept our apologies for not providing the experience you had that bought you back as a return guest.

We hope to get the chance to be of service again and show you the resort experience I know the team can deliver.

Thanks again for being our guest.

Your Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This place had the worst food, not one thing we ordered we liked and it was very expensive.

The rooms, the location, pool area etc all fabulous. Exceeded all expectations. The concierge was very friendly and helped us find an awesome taxi driver that we used on our entire trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroltiseo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This was the first time that we stayed at this resort and it won't be our last! We had a great experience from beginning to end. We met with family that were already staying at the resort, we arrived early and were told we would be called as soon as a room was available. This was at 11:30 am. We didn't make it to the elevator before we were called to pick up our keys! The check-in staff were friendly and knowledgable and super efficient. We asked if they could try and put us near our family and they were able to get us a room two doors down! Our room was on the 9th floor facing the water. The room was clean and spacious. We had a balcony overlooking the water and pool. The view is spectacular. The beds were extraordinarily comfortable. We were slightly uncomfortable with the temperature in the room. We had it down to 65 (which we NEVER do) and it was still warm. Our family in the other room had the same problem. As far as things to do around the property they have quite the variety. Beautiful pools, arcade, fishing, kayaking, jet skiing etc. There are quite a few places to dine directly on the property also. The food was good but pretty pricey. If you're on a budget I would recommend eating off site. For example, buffet breakfast is $19 pp and a Steak dinner was $29 pp. For a family of 4, food and drinks could easily cost $80-100. The have another restaurant that offers drinks, appetizers, tapas etc. They play live music on the weekends and all the restaurants are kid friendly. The poolside servers were also very friendly and accommodating. They were always available to get you another drink or snack. All in all we were very pleaded with our experience and will be back in the future.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank jverge30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I enjoyed this hotel very much. From the moment you enter the lobby, with its attractive decor, view of the Gulf and lovely smell. We had a suite that was very spacious , nicely decorated and had a stunning view. The bathroom is huge with double sinks and wrap around vanity area, and separate water closet/tub. This room is comparable to any much higher priced hotels I have stay in. We ate in all three restaurants, and while I wouldn't give them 5 stars, they were all very good, with excellent service. The two casual restaurants having great views. I enjoyed my stay here, and would happily return.

Room Tip: Spend a little more for a suite, it is so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel it's self is nice. Expensive valet parking. Self park is just fine.

Rooms are clean and great view of the gulf. The setting is great. However the service staff are horrible. All the way from the pool service to the dining room service. Food is over priced for the quality. Table top was sticky. And no waiter support. I felt bad for the waiter. Nice guy just had no support.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Smghear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Smghear,

I want to Thank You for your positive comments about our hotel and room's but would like to apologize for your negative experiences with our service. We are a hotel that prides itself on our genuine service and have worked hard to develop a reputation on that culture. It is disappointing to hear that you had this type of experience but your feedback will be used in a constructive manner for us to continue to improve. Thank You once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great room with a great view. The valet folks were very nice to us. After that, I was disappointed. I have been to many Marriott resorts and hotels (platinum), but this place was neither. They charge you a resort fee, like a resort, but when we asked about resort activities, they said none because they are not that kind of resort. So why charge the fee then? This is more like a large hotel and spa than a resort. No concierge lounge (I think they should add one). We had to ask for a resort map and everything else a normal resort gives you when you show up. Our small fridge broke, but they did not give a replacement. I think it is listed as a category 6 hotel, but I would say more like a 4. The area was nice. We met some great locals on tours we booked outside the hotel (couldn't get help through the hotel) who gave us places to eat and such. Overall, they need to drop the resort fees and resort name or step up and make it a resort. Next time, I would spend the slightly more and go to the Marriott on Marco island (a little farther south).

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Vince S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Vince S,

I want to Thank You for your loyalty to Marriott as a Platnium member and also want to Thank You for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to our beautiful area. I do want to apologize for the service issues you encountered as it seems our communication was lacking, I have reviewed the concerns with the entire team to ensure all the resort has to offer is communicated the proper way as I would hate for a guest to miss out on any of our experiences we have available. Thank You once again and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
4.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,496 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
311 reviews
11.1 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
3.5 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 17260 Harbour Point Drive, Fort Myers, FL 33908-2704
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range: £200 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Hotel Fort Myers
Sanibel Harbour Hotel
Sanibel Harbour Resort And Spa
Sanibel Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbor Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa Fort Myers, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing