We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal home-away-from home, with great value and a helpful, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Ranked #13 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal home-away-from home, with great value and a helpful, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My wife and I took a few days off to visit the Sanibal and Ft. Myers area. Was pleasantly surprised by the great value - the staff was very helpful, the rooms clean and very homelike, and the location off the beaten path resulting in a quiet, no noise level surroundings. A definite stopover the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blssdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
We are so happy you found us and thank you for the wonderful 5 Star Review! Our close proximity to Sanibel will have your toes in the sand in minutes! Remember for your next trip down that we are the same short distance to Fort Myers Beach and about a 25 drive to Barefoot Beach! So happy to have you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    207
    58
    32
    23
See reviews for
199
288
57
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This was my first time staying at a Candlewood property and I was very impressed. The staff as freindly and accommodating. I'm used to having a gym on site but other amenities such as outdoor grills, laundry room and DVD player in the room was awesome! They also had a DVD library where you can checkout movies.The best thing is, It was all FREE!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
We're so glad you discovered our new hotel! Please keep in mind that on your next trip back to the Fort Myers-Sanibel area that we offer special discounts for extended vacation travel! Our complimentary DVD lending library is very popular and we are adding new movies to our collection regularly. While most hotels offer pay-per-view movies, our guests can enjoy lending multiple movies at a time. Thank you again for your kind remarks, we were happy you chose us as your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Guys,

That is something! I had not fully believed other reviews until I saw it myself. Beauuuuuutiful new place. Quiet, extremely clean, peaceful, away from traffic, good air, heated swimming pool with salt water, no chlorine chemicals, 2 nice big grills. Exquisite, helpful, unobtrusive management, free laundry, free internet comp, large TV set in sitting room. And what is more, it has moderate rates. You somewhat have this family feeling around. Staff is very helpful, they do everything with joy, which indicates they love what they are doing. Cleaning is by request.

This is an indication of the good management style. No wonder, we saw board room meetings almost every day. That means they hold a tight hand on the hotel pulse. If you go there please say hello to Nicole Logan, and Russel Tillson from Alex and Mila from Kenosha, WI. Those who give them modest 4 stars are not giving them full credit. They deserve more than 4, may be 6, 5 or 7. There is no restaurant. And that's good. They are close to everything anyway. What is important you have full kitchen in your room. This is your own restaurant if you know how to cook. Saves you tons of money. They managed to put turtles in the small lake behind the hotel all for your enjoyment. Watch them do their swimming tricks.

Room Tip: We think every room is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mila61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for your amazing review and for recognizing our team! Looks like you got the chance to enjoy all of the amenities from the heated pool to the free laundry and the added value of having your own kitchen to save money on dining. On your next trip back, we hope you take full advantage of the many free DVD movies in our complimentary lending library. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the Fort Myers - Sanibel area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We recently stayed at this property during our vacation to Fort Myers. We cannot say enough regarding the quality and value of this hotel. It is close to everything and has that "at home" feeling. The rooms are very clean and the Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. 4 stars !!

Room Tip: Standard Queen suite, 2nd Floor had full kitchen and large bathroom !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qdan, Public Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thanks for the great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hotel was very accommodating and comfy. Perfect for families on vacation. I especially liked that the bedroom was separated from the living area with doors. The furniture was modern and clean, kitchen was very nice looking with all the pots and utensils necessary if you wanted to cook. I also liked that they had a DVD library so you can watch a movie, free of charge, in your room. The movies were current too! I did not use the pool but it looked inviting. The hotel was full during my stay and I did see a lot of families at the pool and using the grill, it looked like they were having fun. Another nice feature was the 'living room" in the lobby area, the teens had taken the place over and they seem to really enjoy themselves watch movies and using the computer. The living room was a nice place to go to read a book and relax out of your room. They also have a small vending/food room where you can purchase food if you don't want to drive to the (very) close market to buy groceries. You may not like that there is no daily room service so you would need to exchange dirty towels for clean ones at the desk. There is a nicely appointed laundry room so you can do your laundry if that's what you want to do on vacation (not me). I guess it's good if you don't want to pack a lot of clothes and you have kids etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qdan, Public Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thanks for the great review! You review points out all of the things that makes the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel Gateway different from other hotels in the area. Our free laundry, living room, free DVD rentals ,full kitchens and complimentary grills at the pool makes our hotel the perfect "home away from home". Thanks again for the glowing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel visiting my family. The property was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The location is nice, quiet and centrally located to the beach and shopping.

Room Tip: Laundry facilities and free and in great condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qdan, Public Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thanks for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again when you're in the Fort Myers area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was our second time staying here. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Great place if staying for a longer time-with a full kitchen, DVD player, free laundry, nice pool and exercise room. Very close to Sanibel in a quiet area. Lots of restaurants and stores nearby. Much nicer than hotels that we paid three times as much for. Would certainly recommend to travelers wanting to be near Sanibel and the other beaches but not wanting to pay "beachfront" prices.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanCTConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qdan, Public Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thanks for coming back! We love our repeat guests and are proud to have so many that choose us when returning to the Sanibel Island area of Fort Myers. Our free amenities are a constant hit with travelers discovering Candlewood Suites for the first time. Thanks again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,056 reviews
7.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fort Myers Airport / FGCU
4.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Property: Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Address: 9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Fort Myers and Sanibel Island has to offer at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers-Sanibel Gateway Hotel. The hotel is ideal for relocation apartment style living without the hassles of long term leases. Our condominium style hotel suites offer all of the amenities you will need for a weekend Ft. Myers or Sanibel Island Beach getaway or long-term lease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Hotel Fort Myers
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing