We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Ranked #13 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, value”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here for a week. The location is great...minutes to the beaches and Sanibel. There are numerous restaurants, grocery stores and drug stores within a mile or two. We stayed over Christmas and the hotel put on a Christmas Eve dinner for the guests. Free laundry facilities are great. WiFi worked flawlessly. Plus we got a spectacular weekly rate ($275/wk.) which frankly was the difference between vacation or no vacation. You'd spend that for one night on Sanibel. Hotel was very quiet. Staff responsive to our few requests. We had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
The Best kept secret in Fort Myers, Great location, Great staff, & great Hotel. We thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope you can come back soon!!

Thank You!

Team Candlewood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    206
    57
    32
    23
See reviews for
198
287
57
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SPRING HILL FLORIDA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for just one night. If you want to visit either Sanibel Island or Captiva Island this is one of the best-located hotels to stay at if you don't feel like paying island prices. We arrived early and proceeded out to the beach at Captiva on the advice of the maintenance staff member. What a treat! After a few hours we returned to check in. The rooms, being suites were large: we had two of the one bedroom queen suites. Two flat screen TVs with premium cable and a full DVD library at the front desk kept the kids occupied. There is a Walmart and a Publix nearby so we spent all of $12 for a huge breakfast, cooking it ourselves, the next morning.The staff was very helpful and answered every question we had and bent over backwards to meet all of our needs. Our swimsuits and towels were wet and sandy after our visit to the beach so the complimentary laundry room was nice (bring your own soap powder etc...). The pool area is smallish, fenced it and quiet with a bbq grill and covered lounge area.We're not ones to 'pick a property to death' and/or knock it down...unless we receive rude,negligent service. That will get me going. This property met our needs successfully. Of course it's no Hilton or Marriott five star full-service property either, but that's why I'm giving it only four...for appearance,effort and that fact that it does everything it claims it's supposed to do.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve34609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Wow, what a nice review. We at Team Candlewood really appreciate the kind words regarding our staff, its the best in town!! As you mentioned in detail, we have it all. Thank you for taking the time and we welcome you back as soon as you can!!

Thank YOu

Dan Berben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for over two weeks. We have stayed here before and were completely satisfied with our stay. However we noticed this time that the hotel is looking very 'tired' the walls in our room were stained and dirty looking. The carpets were also looking soiled. We spoke to the general manager who assured us that a refurbishment programme was under way. The staff as always were friendly and helpful. The BBQ grills near the pool did not work, as this is one of the features of this hotel I expected them to be in good workin condition

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauldee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear pauldee50,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at our hotel again. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over the property's condition. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJTraveler100
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised that the staff at the Candlewood cooked a homemade dinner for the hotel guests on Thanksgiving. That shows the kindness and appreciation of the staff. If you plan on staying at this location, call them directly as you can secure a significantly lower weekly rate direct vs any other online service. Note, this is a sparsely furnished no frills long term stay. If you are planning a longer stay, you might want to check into a Staybridge. This location has a decent free laundry facility and exercise room as well as a free computer and printer. Free wifi is available in each room. Free coffee is always available and if you want to cook, there are basic utensils, plates and pots in each room. I would rate this hotel a 4 out of 10 in terms of cleanliness. The property was extremely quiet the four nights I stayed and my room 218 was right around the corner from the elevator. One of the most personable staffs I have ever met and they try on a first name basis. I just feel that the limited cleaning staff might be a bit stretched. The location is great if you plan on visiting Ft Myers Beach.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NJTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your review, the staff wanted to feed everyone a complimentary Thanksgiving feast for guests away from home. This is the outstanding ways our Team at Candlewood strive to please our guests. You wrote how much you enjoyed all of the Hotels complimentary amenties, free Laundry facility, great workout room, heated pool with complimentary grills for all to use. The Candlewood model only does housekeeping service once a week, but upon requests we are more than happy to accommondate more frequently. Thank you for your feedback.

Dan Berben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is an excellent place to stay while visiting relatives who live on Sanibel island. It is conveniently located near the causeway for easy access to and from the island. The rooms are comfortably sized. Our had a separate bedroom as well as a large room with sleeper couch and a kitchen. A kitchen that was well stocked with utensils and necessary items. Anything we missed the front desk whisked it to us. The service from the front desk staff was above and beyond all expectations. We were visiting for our father's 88th birthday and at the last minute we needed a late check-out on our last day. The staff including Carol Clark were very helpful and made us feel welcome even though we left so late. I highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely make it our regular hotel to stay at whenever visiting our parents.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 306Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Above and Beyond in service is what we at Team Candlewood strive for, thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and recognize our Teams efforts. Our Candlewood has the best service in Fort Myers, thanks for spreading the word!! Come back soon!!

Dan Berben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was our third stay at this Candlewood and we still enjoyed it but we had a couple of small problems this time. The room was very nice and spacious, as was the bathroom. Both were clean although the bathroom walls could do with a paint as there were a lot of dirty scuff marks on them. The towels are lovely and fluffy - very good. The TV was nice and big with a good choice of channels. The kitchen area was nice, but we found that there was not as much cutlery as in previous years - only one teaspoon, but this was quickly solved by the helpful lady on reception. There was no plug in the kitchen sink so we could not wash dishes, but the next day the reception lady managed to find us one. The waste disposal did not work and so the sink started to block and on the last day we stayed there the water would not run away, but a maintenance guy went up when we checked out to solve the problem. The pool area is quite small and shady - does not get much sun and we noticed that there are only two sun loungers now, whereas in past years there used to be more. Perhaps a sign of the times that the hotel is cutting back on things. Anyway, still a nice homely hotel if you get a good price for it, and in a very quiet area very near to Sanibel, with Ruby Tuesday very close for dining.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a nice review for us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay! It appears that any smaller issues were handled quickly and promptly by our staff, that is our #1 goal. We at Team Candlewood take great pride in our service for all of our guests. Please come back any time soon.

Thank You

Dan Berben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CENTRAL WI
Level Contributor
239 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

check-in on nov 7th , very smooth!! ( jodi )VERY NICE ROOM, FULL KITCHEN,NICE BATH,NICE BED AND DRESSER SPACE!! EXCELLENT WATER PRESSURE!!/dont no what other people were thinking!! THIS RESORT IS #1 IN MY BOOK,, GREAT EMPLOYEES FROM THE TOP DOWN!!,, ( DAN,LYNN,CLINT,JODI,LINDA,SONJA,LA-SHANDA,ALL MAIDS AND EVEN the laundry guy,, EVERYONE want to make sure everything is OK!! free coffee,, laundry,, real nice work-out area,,GREAT POOL AREA with BBQ grills to use,, i met some real nice people in the 23 days i was here, THEY( THE STAFF ) started the 1st annual thanksgiving dinner for guests,, SONJA AND JODI , made sure everyone felt @ home!!! i brought french bread and real butter to contribute,, I WILL GO BACK TO THIS RESORT ,EVEN IF ITS JUST TO VISIT!!! EVERYONE I TALKED to enjoyed there stay here!! its a four y.o. property in excellent condition!! REAL CLOSE TO SANIBEL AND FORT MYERS BEACH, shopping is 1 mile away with great reastraunts real close by,,IF YOU COME TO THIS RESORT/HOTEL and dont enjoy yourself,, its not because of the people working there or the facilitys . period. I WOULD LIKE TO THANK EVERYONE @ CANDLEWOOD SUITES FOR THE GREAT STAY!!!!!! JOE GUESS

Room Tip: i stayed on the 4th floor, great h2o pressure , good wi-fi, clean and quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOEYGCentralWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thanks so much for the glowing review! We have a great Team at our Hotel, and when we read these reviews it makes it all worth while. Please come back soon, the Candlewood family will be waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,046 reviews
7.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fort Myers Airport / FGCU
4.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fort Myers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Property: Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Address: 9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway hotel conveniently located at Summerlin and Bass Roads, near Lee Memorial HealthPark and Lexington Country Club. This extended stay, all suite property is located near Fort Myers Beach and Sanibel-Captiva Island and is minutes from Everglades National Park, Manatee State Park, Tarpon Tournaments and just a short drive to Naples and Marco Island. At Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and free high-speed and wireless Internet. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway is located nearby to many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream.Earn more with each night's stay! Priority Club Members earn points and rewards every day at the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Hotel Fort Myers
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing