We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new hotel with excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Just spent a week at the Candlewood Suites with my family. Very nice new hotel. The staff and general manager were very helpful and friendly.

DVD's are free of charge to use. There is no charge to park your car. (Not sure if someone confused the extra $10 a day with state and local taxes) Free coffee 24 hours a day.

Shingi goes above and beyond the call of duty to make your stay pleasant. Extra towels, silver ware, last minute room cleaning, late check out, etc. - just ask her.

No oven in the kitchenette but a toaster oven can be checked out at no charge. There is also a grill by the pool.

Washer and dryer are free. Detergent can be purchased for $1.

If you want a "suite"; just click on suites and amenities tab on the website. Reserve the 1 or 2 room. The website clearly shows the layout of the rooms so you shouldn't be surprised.

Great value for $84 a night at Christmas time.

The only complaint is they don't have a hot tub.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DetroitDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krissygildersleeve, Public Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2010

Dear Dave.
We are happy that you chose the Candlewood Suites Fort Meyers Sanibel/ Gateway and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was pleasant and that you were able to take advantage of our free DVD usage. Maybe on your next visit you could take advantage of some of our nearby recreational amenities such as boat and scooter/ moped rentals.Or you might take a swim in our pool. Again we appreciate your choosing the Candlewood Suites Fort Meyers Sanibel/Gateway and look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2009

Just checked out of this wonderful hotel this morning; writing the review from my mother's house. I really dont know where to begin. Check in fast and friendly...The room was just perfect. roomy with stove top, fridge, the best a/c unit i have ever seen. Bathroom door accomodates wheelchairs. The room was spotless. On the first floor there is a laundrymat, gym, a sundries mini store and a living room area with large screen tv. Pool was nicely heated, was in the 50s outside and pool stayed warm....The staff were very friendly on all shifts; the hotel manager was very visual and very much involved in the running of the hotel. I go to Fort Myers frequently and this is by far the best of them all!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2BIGBOYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwendysuethurman, Marketing at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2009

We Want to Thank You for choosing the Candlewood Suites Ft. Myers Sanibel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, Our guests are our number one proprity and we strive to make everyone feel at home. We hope you had a chance to check out our nearby attractions such as Ft. Myers Beach or Captiva Island just minutes away. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the Candlewood Suites Ft. Myers Sanibel and hope that you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We stayed four nights here. The kitchenette was very nice, with a cooktop, microwave,full size fridge and dishwasher, and outfitted with quality pans, utensils and dishes. It had a large closet, nice sized bathroom, comfy bed, really nice recliner, flat screen tv, free wireless and was very clean and stylishly decorated. We were looking for a place where we could prepare some of our meals to make our vacation less expensive. This place was great! There is also a really nice exercise room and a large living room/lounge with large flat screen tv and a computer and printer - very handy for printing off Mapquest! And, free laundry! Staff was friendly and the hotel was quiet. There's no continental breakfast, but there is a snack room where you can get all sorts of things, on the honor system. Housekeeping is on a weekly basis - which was fine for us - but you can get fresh towels or linens at any time. Four nights cost us about $285 total. (We were there slightly ahead of "tourist season.") Also, it's close to Sanibel and also to the main roads, so getting around was pretty easy. If we make it back to Fort Myers, we'll definitely stay here again. [Hopefully, it won't rain EVERY day next time. ~:)]

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LikesToGoGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwendysuethurman, Marketing at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2009

Thank you for Choosing to stay with us at the Condlewood Suites Ft. Myers Sanibel, We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay and all the amenaties our Hotel has to offer. From our Large rooms with full size appliances and flat screen Televisions to our Fitness center and Friendly Staff. We will see what we can do to accomadate the Weather for you on your next visit. Thank you again for your comments and choosing to stay with us at the Candlewood Suites Ft. Myers Sanibel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

My friend and I came to visit Fort Myers for the weekend, it was a spur of the moment trip. We looked at so many hotels and just so happend to stumble across this one. It's practically brand new, great location as we didn't want to stay directly on the beach, and most of all it was very clean! The price was great but then turned to excellent when we found out what all the hotel had to offer. The room looked like a miniature apartment, full kitchen in the room, 32" flat screen TV, dvd player (they also had free DVD rentals at the front desk), & a pillowtop on the bed! They had a pool, a gym, a living room, and a little store you could get snacks and drinks from. It had to have been the best stay at a hotel in a long time. I would definitely go back again and will be referring anyone that I know to this hotel if they are ever planing on going to Fort Myers!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank labellavita326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

A Suite? It's just a hotel room with a small kitchen. Where's the couch? Where's the separate living area? When I priced this place I was comparing it to what other places called suites. I should have just been comparing it to normal one room hotel rooms. The woman at the desk said if I wanted more room for my family I could just pay for another room. The photos on their website showed rooms with couches - this was a misrepresentation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry2136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We just got back from a 1 night stay here and I wish it was a longer weekend.
The pros:
The room was perfect. Immaculate. Large and open spaced. We had a double bed studio with plasma TV, Full Kitchenette and ample closet room.
We used priceline and got it for $50.00-however-the nightly rate of $89.00 is really worth it. THe beds were extremely comfy. We had a 2nd floor room with a view of the pond. (it had jumping fish that my children couldnt stop laughing at) The kitchen was well stocked with plates, bowls, utensils, pots pans and tupperware for leftovers. We just wanted a one night beach getaway-and this was great. Lights tunr on and off automatically after leaving and upon entering. 3 miles from Ft. Myers beach, 5 miles from Saibel beach. Very close to restaurants, shopping district and nightlife (like 2-6 miles) Free internet hook up. Pets are allowed for an additional charge. Huge Gym and laundry services. Full living room downstairs with flat screen tv. The pool area was empty-we had it to ourselves
Cons:
Its is located behind a small shopping center kinda tucked away from civilzation. The online directions are a little tricky. The hallways still small like fresh paint-it gives you a headache. The rooms dont have enough towels for a family of 4 and housekeeping only come 1x per week-so if we needed more towels we had to call and it was quicker to run down and get them. There is a hidden $10.00 parking charge that will not hit your card until check out. Which is funny because the hotel was almost empty and there is nothing around so its silly to charge to park on the completely open parking lot.
There is no restaurant or eatery or beverage station. There is a small "shop" with single packets of coffee and small shower and bathroom items-not really worth it. As soon as we entered the room-bags still in hand the front office called to see if we needed anything and then let us know housekeeping was done for the day-and if we needed anything we had to come and get it downstairs-ie towels. Also the pool area only has a few chairs/lounges-it was fine since we had the pool to ourselves but if there are alot of people at one time-you'll be sitting on the ground.

I would definitely stay here again for a weekend. Its not the place you got to for a weekend pampering with room service and spa treatments. Its definitely not a resort-but its great for a few nites away on a budget. Very comfy-very quiet. Awesome price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank disneygrl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

My husband and I just spent one day over Memorial day weekend here. We truly enjoyed our one night stay and wish we could have stayed another. This is a brand new hotel with signs still outside that say now open. The staff was friendly, the room looked like we were the first to use it, and despite the fire department using this as a home base (first floor only) it was super quite...did not hear a peep! It is about 10 minutes or so from the beaches but for the value and cleanliness definitely worth the drive.

The room had a full kitchen including a fridge, cutting board, dishwasher, microwave, stove, etc.

I would recommend anybody to stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enibsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
10.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft Myers - I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,111 reviews
4.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Address: 9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range: £64 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Fort Myers and Sanibel Island has to offer at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers-Sanibel Gateway Hotel. The hotel is ideal for relocation apartment style living without the hassles of long term leases. Our condominium style hotel suites offer all of the amenities you will need for a weekend Ft. Myers or Sanibel Island Beach getaway or long-term lease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Hotel Fort Myers
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing