We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good property in ideal location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Pretty good property in ideal location.”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here 4 nights or a baseball tournament. The hotel is pretty average, rooms are typical, maybe a little small. Bathroom was very small. Housekeeping did a great job during our stay. Front desk was hit and miss...one person had a great personality, next person, not so much!
We took advantage of the $5 add on for breakfast or two. It was basic...eggs, meat, waffle, muffin and fruit. Not bad considering it was all you can eat. Definitely better than the "free" breakfasts that many hotels offer. Coffee and water were available in the lobby but several times I tried to get coffee, there were no cups, no coffee or it was cold. Not good! However, there is a Dunkin Donuts in the parking lot which is super convenient.

Location was perfect for us, very close to all the ballparks. About 15 mins to Ft. Myers beach, which I would not recommend...horrible traffic. The hotel is right across the street from a park which was awesome for our son. There is a soccer field, basketball court, tennis court and playground.

Lots of parking available in hotel lot so no worries there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atlirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear atlirish,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    97
    57
    17
    24
See reviews for
96
96
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We picked this hotel for it's location. Upon entering the room, everything appeared clean until we noticed change in the corner of the room. The change stayed in the corner throughout our stay. A quick review of the room by the maid or her supervisor would have uncovered this defect that turns an otherwise clean room into a poor review.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawtraveler084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Lawtraveler084,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent experience with us. I am glad that our location suited your needs. However, it is unfortunate that the maintenance levels in the room you were allocated was sub par. I have taken note of your feedback and this shall be addressed with our team accordingly to consider for enhancements.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Nice rooms and staff. the outdoor pool is huge and was a big positive for my family and kids. The breakfast was not included in the room but the $5 deal is very good. Overall we were very happy with everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Robert W,
Thank You for your feedback, Very pleased to hear that you and your family was able to enjoy your vacation at our hotel. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, FL
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

While definitely not a destination hotel, it is obvious that this renovation was extensive and the result is very nice looking. It smells OK too, but I was disappointed to see moldy grout in the shower. Its a nice, big tile and there is already mold because its Florida and obviously the maids don't scrub. What a shame to spend all that money and then not take care of it. The a/c is noisy, but that helps mask the traffic noise on hwy 41. Ask for a room that faces the back, shaded parking lot instead of the front overlooking the pool. The location is right next to a large, new CVS and a Dunkin Donuts, and half a mile from the Edison Ford Estates. The pillowtop mattress is great, but really, the heavy quilt is so unnecessary in Florida. It seems I always have to remake the bed to get rid of excessive bedding, but the chain is obviously more into uniformity than practicality. You get a lot for your money at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear hotzim,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. Unfortunately I am sorry our housekeeping service did not meet your expectations and apologize for any discomfort caused by the loud air conditioning unit. I have conveyed your comments to the appropriate department for improvements needed.

Again, I appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We chose to stay here because it was the closest hotel to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates. What a pleasant surprise it was to see the like new condition of this 30 year old refurbished building. We had only good things to say about check in, staff, room 409 and the restaurant. We are seniors with slight walking problems and would suggest that the walking route to Edison & Ford could be too much. We drove the short distance and parked in the ample free parking.
My wife & I agreed that we would stay at this hotel again when we return to Fort Myers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear John M,
Thank you for your review. As mentioned our entire team look forward to your next stay with us.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Attending Roy Hobbs Baseball. Very pleased with the service, the A/C was not working properly and it was changed out quickly. The staff was very pleasant and friendly. The location is near downtown and close to several of the ballparks.Thanks Stefania for your help!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank You for your review and very pleased to hear your comments about our staff. I apologize for the AC unit but I am happy that it was resolved in a timely manner and as per your satisfaction. We all look forward to your future stay with us.
Thanks!
Anand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
760 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Our car club recently booked 10 rooms at The Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic Hotel. We were very pleased with the service and reasonable rate. There were two other large groups staying at this hotel at the same time as ours, but that didn't slow down the service at all. The hotel was just a short walk from our primary attraction, The Edison-Ford Estates. Our room was large, comfortable and clean. We were on the 4th floor. Elevators were good. We were not impressed with the breakfast that was $5.00 additional. We ordered the breakfast, but only drank the coffee and juice. On our second morning at this hotel we decided to go elsewhere for breakfast. Otherwise, a really good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radiohutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anand D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear valued Guest,
Very pleased to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize that we fell short of your expectations for breakfast needs, your comments will helps us improve. I will share your comments with our food & beverage team.
Thanks!
Anand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District
0.7 mi away
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
#31 of 59 in Fort Myers
164 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Fort Myers Waterfront
Best Western Fort Myers Waterfro...
#1 of 4 in North Fort Myers
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Fort Myers Inn & Suites
4.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft Myers - I-75
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Myers- The Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area

Property: Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area
Address: 2431 S. Cleveland Avenue, Fort Myers, FL 33901-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Edison at Midtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Edison at Midtown. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, recently renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy our large comfortable rooms. With high-speed wireless Internet access in public areas, meeting space, and guest rooms, you can catch up on work any where you would like even while relaxing by our tropical pool. The Holiday Inn Edison at Midtown is located in Historic Old-World Fort Myers near the River District and is within walking distance of local businesses, dining, shopping, and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Edison at Midtown Fort Myers Hotel is just minutes from I-75 and approximately 20 minutes from the Southwest International Airport (RSW) so you can be to your home away from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic Hotel Fort Myers
Fort Myers Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing