We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasant stay for a getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always a pleasant stay for a getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was our third stay at this hotel. The location is perfect for a quick getaway or an extended stay. The kitchenettes are always spotless and in perfect working order. The staff from the front desk to the room maids are helpful, cheerful and always willing to point you in the right direction. They know the area and can put you in an elegant restaurant or the dock where the freshest gulf shrimp can be purchased to boil in your room. Breakfast has always been in a tidy room with fresh offerings. While everything is "disposable" in the dining room, you can always bring it up to your room to eat with real plates and utensils. On this visit, there was a basic complimentary "dinner" served on three nights (MO, TU, WE). Great if you're on a budget but also good for a short stay. You can buy some local shrimp, a bottle of wine at Publix market next door, a salad in the dining room and you have an authentic Florida meal in the comfort of your room!
The location near the Sanibel and Captiva beaches is also perfect. Don't forget to check out the hotel pool. Usually quiet and private to catch up on lost vitamin D during a cold winter in a northern climate. Plan a sunset drink at the Mucky Duck on Captiva; you can wave to your friends on their live webcam from their beach.

Room Tip: The parking lot view rooms are adequate as this hotel is not in a noisy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyingByWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Valued Repeat Guest....

Thank you for being a loyal guest and for your review of our hotel.

I'm glad to hear that you again, had a great stay and not only enjoyed our amenities, but surrounding restaurants, as well. Our staff is a great point of pride and I am glad they were able to make your stay so pleasant. I will certainly share your comments with them.

I certainly look forward to having you stay with us again.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    242
    78
    35
    22
See reviews for
302
242
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel is conveniently located near the Sanibel causeway. We have stayed at this hotel before and found the staff very friendly and helpful then and during our most recent visit. However, the furniture in our suite needs to be replaced. The sofa was stained and the chair had a slip cover because the fabric was worn out. The dining table in our suite was missing a leg and was held up by being propped against the wall. (The staff quickly replaced the table when we brought this to their attention.) The pots and pans had the non-stick finish badly scratched. We were also very disappointed by the very limited number of TV channels offered. On a positive note the guests were given a turkey dinner the day before Thanksgiving. The common areas were in very good condition.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobNepean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Valued Guest......Firstly, thank you for your recent posting. We value our guests opinions and take them as opportunities to see what actions we need to take to ensure they are corrected.

There are no excuses for the lack of attention to detail that was given to your room. Each of your comments should have been noticed by our Staff and corrected prior to guests checking into that room. For this, I sincerely apologize and rest assured it will be addressed. As for the chair covers, while it is not the best solution, we are in fact, addressing concerns with the manufacturer. We are only four years old and the chairs should not be cracking as they are.

Again, thank you for bringing this to the forefront. My hope is that should your travels bring you back to SW Florida, you will allow us the opportunity to earn back your confidence and show that what you encountered is not the normal level of service our guests have come to know.

All the best for the upcoming holiday season!

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
264 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The staff were knowledgable and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic and free. They were kind to my children and our pet. The room was very nice. Great two bedroom suite for a family of four. Two bedroom, two bath with kitchenette.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
To our valued past guests....

I am happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your time with us, as this is our main goal for the guests. I will definitely share your post, with the Staff as it is always nice to hear that their efforts are acknowledged. We do our best to make everyone feel at home.

Should your travels bring you back this way, we hope you will again, give us the priviledge to welcome you to our hotel again.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Fresh, clean, convenient location
Coffee 24 hours in lobby
Nice breakfast and breakfast area

Front desk somewhat understaffed. If the person gets a phone call to ask for directions, you have to be patient in check-ing in

Pool heated, nice jacuzzi, hardly used

Beds are high, but very comfortable. Kitchen with granite counters, coffee maker, toaster, etc.
Frig. Publix in walking distance.

Will stay here again and highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Only one bedroom suites have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachloverNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
To our valued past guests....thank you for taking time to post on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us.

I am certainly glad you were able to relax and enjoy your time with us. I truly apologize for the inconvenience incurred at check-in and assure you that it will be looked into.

Should your travels bring you back this way, we hope you will again, give us the priviledge to welcome you to our hotel again.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I spend a few days at this beautiful property to celebrate our anniversary. Staff did not know what to do to cater our needs. They had chairs and beach towels ready for us, addresses of best restaurants in town, directions to events....and a very nice note and basket full of goodies in our room. Location, accommodation, service, amenities are all top notch but the people are what makes a difference, they are absolutely fantastic and all born to be in the hospitality field because they care so much to make you happy. I am already thinking about my next trip there.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms facing the islands are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josette8017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
To our valued past guests....I want to thank you for your kind posting. We hope we helped to make some memorable moments for your anniversary!

It is always great to hear that our guests were able to enjoy not only our hotel, but the surrounding areas, as well. I will be sure to share this with the entire staff! I am proud to lead a Team that takes such pride in taking care of our guests.

We certainly look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great hotel! While not immediately on the water - easy access to beaches at Sanibel Island and Fort Myers Beach. Across from an outlet Mall with good restaurants in easy driving range. Friendly staff, clean rooms, breakfast included and a nice pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Valued past guest......thank you so much for your posting.

Your comments on our location, is absolutely what we believe to be one of our most valuable assets. It doesn't get much better than being nestled between both Fort Myers and Sanibel Island beaches! I will certainly share your thoughts with our Staff.

Should your travels bring you back to SW Florida again, we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Residence Inn Fort Myers - Sanibel.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine FL
Level Contributor
637 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

If you are looking for a great place to stay, this is it. While its miles from the beach the accommodations are perfect. Stayed for three nights and everything was great. The staff was friendly the room was super clean and the bed was comfy.

The room had two flat screen TVs, microwave and a refrigerator.

Everything we needed.

Room Tip: This is a six floor building and the elevators are always busy. I would suggest asking for first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gregbooras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
On behalf of our entire Staff, thank you for taking your time to post your kind review of our hotel.

We are always happy to see that our guests enjoyed their time with us. I will definitely share your posting. During busy times, elevators are challenging, but I hope this did not cause you too much inconvenience.

Should your travels bring you back to Fort Myers, we hope that you will again, give us the opportunity to welcome you.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
3.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
7.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fort Myers
10.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers
Residence Inn Fort Myers
#27 of 58 in Fort Myers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel

Property: Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Address: 20371 Summerlin Rd, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3706
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Fort Myers
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel Hotel Fort Myers
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing