We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing Marriott property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
GreenLeadersBronze level
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A disappointing Marriott property”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This property looks dated and has spotty touches to look better. While everything worked OK, I had 2 cracked windows and stained floors. I had a lengthy chat with the asst mgr who seemed truly surprised at my notes. After confessing on extending troubles with the spa pump, they replaced it. I further learned they have not updated their computer for guest use (getting boarding passes). Unfortunately for the guests, it was not working. Seems they may be negligent at that too. An office PC was offered for use.
I can't recommend this property until they step up their game. Staff was courteous and helpful to replace towels. Housekeeping failed to catch left items from a previous guest. As an owner, I have seen all the brands and this is not on par at most levels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miker163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest.....first allow me to thank you for taking time to post your thoughts on your recent visit.

I am truly sorry that you experienced, levels of service that were not up to the standards of Marriott and certainly not what we are used to providing at the property level. While the Housekeeping oversight was definitely avoidable, please know that it was not "neglect" as it relates to the spa and business center, but bad timing with delays on deliveries. No one hated that this affected out guests more than we did. Certainly, we never imagined that both of these services would go down at once and at the worst possible time of year.

I hope you can accept my sincerest apologies and rest assured, that your concerns will be addressed and we will definitely "step up our game" and hope that we can earn your confidence again, should you allow us the opportunity to welcome you back should your travels bring you to SW Florida, again.

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    253
    84
    36
    24
See reviews for
322
249
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ansonia, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I went to see a Red Sox game, see our son, walk the beach, and enjoy warm weather after the Winter we have had in Connecticut. This place was ideal for our needs. The suite was very clean and spacious. Full breakfast every morning. Centrally located. About 15 minutes to JetBlue stadium, 30 minutes to Fort Meyers Beach, Sanibel and the ferry to Key West where our son lives.. The staff was very friendly and helped us out with restaurants etc. , as this was our first time in the area. We are already planning on next year's Spring training trip

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnoniaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here with our toddler and the hotel was mostly what we expected (in a good way). The only let down was that I thought all one bedroom suites had balconies, but upon checking in and finding our room did not, I was told only 1 bdrms with 2 queen beds had balconies and that you had to request this ahead of time. Had I known, I would have, but they were unable to move us to a balcony room because those were sold out. Also, our bedroom and living room had windows with cracks running through entire panes, and we were told they would repair these. Otherwise, a very good stay. All the hotel employees, from reception to the breakfast area, were extremely friendly and helpful. We borrowed a beach umbrella for a trip to Sanibel (1 hr to get there in traffic, all of 12 minutes to get back - go EARLY!), used their high chairs at breakfast, and borrowed a pack-n-play for baby to sleep in. Speaking of sleep, we all slept really well once we covered the extremely bright light atop the alarm clock. The hotel's pool area isn't huge and it's a little weird that you have to get towels at the front desk, but it was pleasant enough. Breakfast was plentiful and had a variety of eggs, potatoes, waffles (DIY), yoghurt parfaits, cereal, coffee, etc. This is complimentary as are the "social nights" of food and drink that are held a few times a week. Also, there's a big supermarket and restaurant in the parking lot, and outlets across the road. Definitely a good place to stay if you'll be driving around the Ft. Myers area and access to Sanibel is right there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We and a 2 bedroom suite and lots of space for my husband and me, and our son and his girlfriend. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The beds/pillows were very comfortable and the central living space was well equipped. Generous breakfast was included and a few nights a week there is food in the evening. The pool area was nice enough when a beach trip wasn't available. My only issue was the huge traffic jams getting to the beaches either on Sanibel, or south Ft Myers, at Bonitta Springs. We took the fast way (Rt 41) on the way down to Bonita hoping to take the scenic drive back, but the estimate to travel 15 miles was 5 hours!!!!! the bridge to Sanibel also took an hour to cross even though it was less than 2 miles from the hotel. We made the mistake of staying in the right lane for cash only, when the left lane was moving well and the toll plaza opened up to allow cash in the left (middle lane). Bowman beach was nice. Ding Darling nature preserve should not be missed. Near the hotel is Bunche Beach which is on a bay, so the water is shallow without waves. softer sand and not as crowded. All in all, the hotel was great, but if I was going to visit again, I might choose a place on Sanibel to avoid the traffic.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The staff at the Residence Inn Sanibel were friendly, always smiling, and helpful. The room we had was a king suite. We were very happy that the room had a full stove, refrigerator, and dishwasher. There was a dining table for two, a desk, and a living area. The furniture was very comfy. The hotel had a nice outdoor pool, a fire pit with comfy couches around it, and a basketball/tennis court. The hotel was located next to a Publix shopping center, and a gas station at the entrance. The only real drawback for our room was that we were located next to the the stairwell, therefore each time someone went to the stairwell, the door would bang closed. I would recommend this hotel, but would request that our room not be next to the stairwell. We like to sleep in, so we only made breakfast one morning all week. We did, however, enjoy the cookies and milk one night, and on another night we enjoyed the spaghetti and meatballs. These extras only enhanced our enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Would request a room away from the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsgfhjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Staff was friendly and helpful. We were excepting a hotel room but was very surprise with a very nicely decorated suite. Only gave a very good rating because we found a very small roach on one of the pillowcases. Called front desk and a person with sprays and cloths came, inspected the small roach, floor and bed, then offered to change the bedding. Once the bedding was changed we were fine. Breakfast is only served from 6 to 9 am. Would have preferred breakfast to be served until 10 am since we were on vacation and wanted to sleep in a little. Nice to have a Publix (supermarket) very near. Only booked one night and wanted to stay an extra night but was unable to get the same rate, booked thru a third party. Bumper. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I must begin by stating that our reservation booked by friends for a two bedroom unit had issues. It was booked through a third party and had it been booked directly through Marriott or this hotel, there would have been no problems. However, the staff is super friendly here and the assistant manager was very helpful and did everything she could to remedy the problem. After two nights, she did manage to find a 2 bedroom unit for the four of us adults. This hotel is bright, cheerful and clean! The location is ideal for exploring the islands nearby. We enjoyed the hot tub and the outdoor seating area (although the bugs did bite in the seating area so wear repellant).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank relaxed50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
5.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
6.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,056 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
3.0 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel

Property: Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Address: 20371 Summerlin Rd, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3706
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Fort Myers
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel Hotel Fort Myers
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing