We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time, still love it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just a great place to stay, location is prime to get you to Ft Myers, Sanibel/Captiva. Can take your dog which I did, tho $100 is too steep I think, 1 star off for that, I have paid $50-$75 at other hotels, both Marriott and non-Marriott. Nice clean suites, plenty of drawer space, stayed in a room with a balcony and 2 queens plus a pull out, just great for us and kids. Breakfast is decent for being free, rotates menu (I was there 2 days), scrambled eggs & waffles standard plus bagels, yogurt, etc. for cold, then one day they had biscuits & gravy, next day eggs florentine on an english muffin. Pool area was nice, very nice area to walk your dog with dog station. There was also a grill area with picnic tables and a fire pit (it was 85 deg, I can't believe people were there).

Will be back. Next time will leave dog home at kennel so I can enjoy beach area more, at $35 a day it's actually cheaper anyway.

Margarita checked us in and assisted throughout stay, she was great. Thanks!

Room Tip: Second floor with a balcony overlooking pool, around 214.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Lovers_YB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location only few minutes from Sanibel Island, great front desk staff, nice rooms, busy hotel. We were staying 1 week meeting family that had condo on Sanibel, so location was great. In the parking lot there is a grocery store, bar/grill with live music outside, gas station, subway all within walking distance. Inside hotel was clean & bright decor in halls & front lobby, nice outdoor pool & hot tub, fire pit with seating, basketball/volleyball court, BBQ grills & tables if you want to cook out. The rooms included bedroom 2 queen beds (most comfortable ever slept in) dark curtains for late sleeping without hot sun waking you up. Living room with TV, sofa, dining room table for 4, small kitchen with stainless steel full sized frig with ice maker & dishwasher. I did find kitchen walls had splattered marks, all cookware & dishes needed to be cleaned before I could use and there was a dirty sponge let on kitchen sink. It was not horrible but unexpected as bathroom & bedroom was clean. The carpet throughout room was stained and left your socks dirty. The washing machines & dryers could have used a good cleaning but again this hotel was full during our stay and these few items did not ruin our stay. It was a beautiful location and we were basically gone during the day to the beach. This is a good home away from home. Front desk will even give you more ice until ice maker makes enough, and they clean out ice between guest so there is not a lot built up in the ice maker. If you want they will even deliver groceries you list in morning by end of day to your room...nice touch. We had 1 day housekeeping could not speak english therefore just kept holding up items for us to pick what we needed replaced (because we were in room that day) and then the following day we were gone and housekeeping did not clean room? Other days were fine and front desk provided us with trash bags, clean towels, ect because we got back to hotel after 10pm when housekeeping did not clean room during that day. We would stay here again all things considered it was always quiet (didnt hear noise or even doors closing), best beds to sleep in, convience of home could cook if we wanted, and free breakfast & some evening meals offered free also. Could walk to get household items with out having to drive and bonus outlet mall was directly across the street if you wanted to shop. We stayed on 1st floor, easy access to doors, pool, workout room, & laundry room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcshannonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Trying to find any hotel room for Memorial Day weekend near FT Myers Beach was near impossible. Finding one at the last minute, so close to Sanibel and Ft Myers Beach, made our weekend! Most places were +$300/night and booked solid. Our 1 bedroom/ 1bath room with full kitchen, living, and balcony overlooking the pool was $140/night Including full breakfast !! On Memorial Day!!

Beds were sooo comfortable, quiet, and clean. Having 2 large TVs(one in bedroom) kept the fighting to zero. Full-size frig and stove top saved alot of money as we cooked our own dinners a couple of times. Having a Publix supermarket next door made that simple. less than 5 minute walk.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Even Monday morning breakfast when it seemed like the whole hotel came down to eat at the same time, smiles all around. Yes, they ran out of food several times. Alot of grumbling from us guests, but none of the employees lost their cool. Apologies and smiles. And the food kept coming out. No fun standing in lines, but what can you do? BTW, only happened Monday. Sunday and Tuesday, no problems at all.

We went to Sanibel Island Monday to Bowman's Beach, near Captiva Island. Hint: Go before noon to get a parking spot. $2/hour is cheap enough. Miles long and not as crowded as other beaches. Just beautiful. We left about 1pm to go to Turner Beach but no spots left when we got there. On to Captiva Island! Wow, some those houses were amazing!! Always a dream of mine. Huge house with the beach in front, the bay in the back. Oh well, someday!!

Anyhoo, definitely staying here next time we come south! Just longer!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I spent only one night at the Residence Inn but it was enough for us to know that we'll be back! We had a King Room Suite which had a bedroom with a king bed, a separate bathroom, living room, and small kitchen. It was perfect for our schedules as one turns in early and the other is up early. The Suite was clean and had everything we could need including well running Wifi. The breakfast was fine and the breakfast area was clean and orderly. I appreciated Shannon in the breakfast area and how very friendly she was with everyone. We come to the west coast of Florida several times a year and, for the most part, we stay on Sanibel. But when we don't want the expense of staying on the island, we'll certainly return to the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniea46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It was a great experience staying at this property. After a hectic busy week, it was a nice reprieve to relax and recharge at this hotel. The staff was really nice and friendly. I also enjoyed the evening food along with the breakfast. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I will definitely be back with my family for relaxation. It is perfectly situated before Sanibel as well as the locations that I needed to visit for work.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back were very quiet. I enjoyed watching the wild life from my window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent two nights here when we were travelling around Florida. The hotel is clean and bright and we were very pleased with the size and comfort of the room. Food drink and shopping all very nearby make this an ideal location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete-H-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We enjoy staying at Marriott properties as they never disappoint in any way. This was again true. We had a perfect 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit. Extremely quiet hotel even though every night they were booked to capacity. The staff is terrific! Brandon (who happens to come from about 35 miles from where we live) was very helpful in checking us in. He IS the example why we primarily choose Marriott! The breakfast was perfect for us with a selection of hot and cold foods to include fruits. The service in every aspect was above and beyond. For us this hotel was a perfect location to visit family. But it is centrally located to be at Fort Myers Beach or Sanibelle Island. There are bicycles to rent, a small strip center with grocery store and restaurants within walking distance and an outlet mall across the street. I would definitely highly recommend this hotel! Thank You again Marriott for making our Florida family vacation memorable!

Room Tip: Book early to get a room of your choice and a great rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pulmqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam M, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

To our valued guests....I want to thank you for your kind posting. We hope we helped to make some memorable moments for your Florida vacation!

It is always great to hear that our guests were able to enjoy not only our hotel, but the surrounding areas, as well. I will be sure to share this with the entire staff! I am proud to lead a Team that takes such pride in taking care of our guests, and of course Brandon is a gem!

We certainly look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Yours in hospitality,
Pam Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,099 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
3.6 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
6.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel

Address: 20371 Summerlin Rd, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3706
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Fort Myers
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#20 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range: £83 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel Hotel Fort Myers
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing