We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, but expensive”

Edison & Ford Winter Estates
Ranked #1 of 112 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visitors to the Edison & Ford Winter Estates in Fort Myers will enjoy seeing the winter residences of famous inventors Thomas Edison and Henry Ford. There are historical buildings, award-winning gardens, the Edison Botanic Research Lab and the Inventors Museum. The museum has hundreds of inventions, artifacts and special exhibits. Edison Ford offers many tour options, including special "Inside the Homes" and "Inside the Laboratory" Tours on select days. The audio tour is available in English, Spanish, German and French. Historian led tours are also offered in German and Spanish on select days. Group tours can be arranged in advance. River cruises are offered daily and dining options are available, including waterfront dining.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good, but expensive”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This museum gives you a lot of information about both Edison and Ford. However, it is very expensive to take the tour. The tour guide had a good knowledge about the houses but not so much about the grounds. Because we were here 18 years ago there were certain trees and bushes that were marked to be highly poisoned, this time they were none. We asked and after many different inquiries finally got the answer from the person in the gift shop, probably because he was there when they had them. Anyway historically very interesting in regard to Edison, if you want to know more about Ford please go to the Ford museum in Detroit. Enjoy the details you learn from the actual museum.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sibylla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,736
    1,095
    221
    38
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“DID NOT KNOW”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

After our tour I then realized that most people would pass this place up, if you are a history buff at all, then you should stop, well every one should stop this place is amazing,

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank terrydolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must see..”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

If in the area, you must stop here. They offer self guided tour and guided tours.you can choose just to go through the museum. I recommend taking the audio tour, has several areas where you can listen audio providing very informative information information. Well woth it. If you go on the guided tour, ask to go with Matt... He is fantastic

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank H2498UXmikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our plan was to do little or no sightseeing on this vacation. But we were all so glad we spent the afternoon here. The grounds are lovely and there is so much history to take in. It is a very relaxed atmosphere and very open so all ages enjoy this stop. My 19 year old even thanked me for getting us there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Christmas”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Enjoyed the night time Christmas tour. Beautifully decorated and lighted grounds and rooms. Very festive and a great way to have holiday spirit in a tropical setting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TinyFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edison & Ford Winter Estates also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Edison & Ford Winter Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing