We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, quiet and clean!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Myers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shell Point Guest House
Ranked #37 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful pool, on the gulf coast very serene and clean. Would highly recommend especially on a family emergency. Very accommodating with basic essentials. Has its own bank, laundry rooms, restaurants and medical facility.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sgiannone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Registration courteous and friendly, room large, clean and comfortable. Very convenient while visiting friends and family at the Shell Point retirement community. They just remodeled the pool and it is wheel chair friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Since we were only here for a few days, it served our needs perfectly. Coffee @Island cafe. Enjoyed the morning sun, then heading to Sanibel for the day after a few minutes drive. Perfect spot. Great location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BuckskinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is the place to stay if you have family members living at Shell Point. It is walking distance to most of the independent living residences and it is right next door to King's Crown (assisted living) and just across the drive from the Pavilion (skilled nursing). There is a beautiful new aquatic center (large pool, spa) just steps away that just opened. There is a nice Cafe on the premises nearby. The rooms are basic and clean, but the value at the Guest House is much better than at the hotels out on Summerlin Road (La Quinta, Residence Inn); ask for the Shell Point resident's discount if you are visiting a family member.

Room Tip: There are smoking rooms available at the Guest House, but the Shell Point community itself is comple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My mother moved to Shell Point but her new home has an office in the second bedroom so we decided to stay at the guest house. It is motel with nice enough, dated rooms. The staff is very nice. The community is lovely with a nice café to have breakfast and lunch. I will stay there when visiting my mother because it is a two minute walk to her apartment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KarinB445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed at the Shell Point Guest House for six nights. This is a guest house in a gated senior community. The rooms were very nice, the grounds were beautifully landscaped, the pool was awesome and most of the time it was empty. There were no refrigerators in the rooms but ice chests were available for use and worked just fine for beverages. The residents I encountered were very nice. I used the Cafe Restaurant for one breakfast & one lunch, food was good, freshly prepared & very reasonable. It's about a mile from the bridge over to Sanibel Island so it's not real convenient to a whole lot. It is convenient to Sanibel and Ft. Myers Beach. Great ice cream place nearby -- Love Boat Ice cream, made on site, lots of flavors and extremely reasonable. The only draw back was not having a computer convenient for flight checkin. The computer center is only open a couple of hours a day. I would definitely return and use it as accomodations for Sanibel. Even the $6 bridge toll still makes this place a great bargain.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gianj856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Best price in town, wonderfully quiet location with generous space. On the grounds of a retirement community in Fort Myers, near the bridge to Sanibel Island. Recommended: Visit the orchid house, and find resident-crafted treasures in the Gift Shop in the lobby. We had planned to move on after one night, but due to weather had to stay in Fort Myers - and were lucky enough to find they had rooms for us. You can't reserve on line, and the front desk is not automated, so leave your urgency in your car. This is Florida - in a retirement community - think slow! And enjoy the gracious courtesy and friendliness.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are level access from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HedgehogsOnTheWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
4.0 mi away
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Point Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Point Guest House

Address: 15040 Shell Point Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33908
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the resort-style campus of Shell Point Retirement Community, our Guest House prides itself on its warm and inviting atmosphere. Located on The Island, the Guest House is surrounded by lush flowering landscape and breezes coming from the Caloosahatchee River. Looking to stay a night, a week or a month? The Shell Point Guest House is the perfect place for a relaxing getaway. If you're visiting family here at Shell Point or just looking to avoid high priced Sanibel accommodations, our property offers the ideal setting for turning a visit into a vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shell Point Guest House Hotel Fort Myers
Shell Point Guest House Fort Myers, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing