We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beach find!!”
Review of Bunche Beach

Bunche Beach
Ranked #12 of 113 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Old Florida, where things are done naturally.San Carlos Bay - Bunche Beach Preserve is a 718 acre beach and mangrove forest preserve with a variety of recreational opportunities to enjoy including: Bird Watching, Canoe/Kayak Launch, Canoeing/Kayaking, Fishing, Hiking (Boardwalk), Nature Study/Photography, Picnic Area, Swimming and Sun Bathing.Step back in time visiting San Carlos Bay- Bunche Beach Preserve, one of the few natural beaches framed with native vegetation and mangrove tunnels to explore by kayak or canoe. In 2010, public beach facilities were completed & opened with ADA parking, restrooms, fishing piers, kayak ramp, picnic tables, and a small boardwalk overlooking Rock Creek. On the white sandy beach, there is an ADA mobie mat that leads to an ADA picnic table. Bunche Beach is not a barrier island beach. It is narrow compared to the beaches on Sanibel and Fort Myers beach. This adds to its unique charm. This Beach is never crowded and easily accessible with no traffic concerns. Kayak and SUP rentals are available through the on site vendor, Kayak Excursions, which also sells bottled water and assorted sundries at the Activities center located just behind the beach.Enjoy a quiet day by the bay.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great beach find!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The trip to Fort Myers Beach was canceled because of the Shrimp festival, the wait to get over the bridge was 2 hours long! so, we decided to take my mom's advice and go to this beach instead - what a great day - the water was warm and sand was lovely.........will definitely go back to this beach!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    108
    51
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Small Beach”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This beach is close to our condo, so we often ride our bikes down there and walk the beach. It is a narrow beach, even narrower as the tide comes in. The beach is not a well groomed white sand beach like Fort Myers and has stumps popping out in a few areas. It can be quite busy on nice days and weekends. There is a fee to park, but not o get onto the beach. A few picnic tables at the entrance to beach. No rest rooms, unless you walk up to area where you can rent kayaks. Because it is local, we go there. No place o buy food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Old Florida”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a natural park - no hot dog stands here - and the bathrooms are a couple blocks up the road. Tree stumps and rock formations litter the beach giving it the feeling of a deserted island...well except for the tall buildings and bridges in the distance and the other occasional beach goer that is. Ok - so it's not a deserted island but it's natural beauty really won me over and made me feel like I was alone in the world. I walked from one end to the other. I saw an osprey in a tree having his lunch, a great blue heron fishing for his meal and a fiddler crab just - well I guess just fiddling around! Even tho there were a number of people scattered around, it was quiet with only the sounds of the birds and the waves. I left there feeling so relaxed and at peace. Will I go back? Yes - you'll see me there tomorrow morning!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A locals beach”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

No business places selling soda, beer, food nor services. The only business place is Kayak rental. The beaches are not maintained like Fort Myers Beach but the beach slopes so gently no one could possibly drown. Many mangroes are next to the sand beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Y2589RZbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Away from the crowds and natural”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

If you want a beach that is left natural and has no high rise development in Fort Myers, then this is the beach for you. You will not have to sit in a long line of traffic to get here! There is a pay parking machine - $2.00 per hour. We visited in the early evening and it was low tide. We found so many interesting things - live shells moving on the sand, live horseshoe crabs, great shells. The sunset here was beautiful too. The water is very shallow a long way out. This beach is in a wildlife sanctuary so there are no pets allowed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank NancyJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bunche Beach also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bunche Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing