We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pizza”
Review of Grimaldis Pizzeria

Grimaldis Pizzeria
Ranked #182 of 854 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

One of the best pizza places in the area! Had a side of meatballs that were amazing too. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, and the wait staff was very nice as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    60
    40
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
214 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good food, but that waitress really took the enjoyment away....”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Pizza here is very good. Salads large and good. Usually a bit too crowded at popular times. But we will give it a rest for a year or so. Last trip the waitress was more interested in telling about "rules" that forbid us from asking for a margarita pizza. Which was both annoying and odd since we have probably eaten 15 margarita pizzas at this restaurant over the last year. In the past, we were simply asked if the basil leaves should be cooked or not... this time we were informed in a rather mean spirit that we would have to tell her exactly what this pizza was and that anyone who had sold us such a pizza at this restaurant was way out of line. Being confused, annoyed, offended, and unwilling to reward such ignorance and obstruction, we left. The manager did chase us down and ask why. But my guess is there is some problem with both training and leadership here, and there are many other places to eat. We will try again in a year.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Its only pizza and salad but it hits the spot.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The small salads are enough for 2 people and more and I would order the large. and the pizza is made fresh and served hot! I ordered the white pizza and it was great - I asked for it under baked so the sides were not burnt and it came out perfect!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gareth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

All we've ever had here is the pizza, which is exactly the way we like it: fresh, thin, crispy crust (you can see them tossing the dough behind the counter), splendid tomato sauce, splats of fresh mozzarella, perfect seasoning. We usually share a personal size ($9), which is just enough for the two of us, but heartier eaters might want to share a small (or knock yourself out with a large and take some home). You pick and pay for any extra toppings, and there are a lot to choose from, mostly $2, some $4. These we have found somewhat underwhelming: we've tried mushrooms (meh) and roasted red peppers ($4, double meh); but the Italian sausage is outstanding. We'll try black olives next time, with the Italian sausage. Service is attentive and efficient, and of course the pizza comes piping hot straight from the oven... which makes it all the more regrettable that the plates that are part of the standard table setting are ice-cold. Every time we've been there after the first we have asked our server to set them in a warm place near the oven; he or she has always been happy to oblige, and it makes a big difference! But why does this have to be a special request? keeping a pile of plates in the cooking area, where at least the AC chill would be taken off of them, seems like a no-brainer.

Nice wine list, 1/2 price on Tuesdays in the summer, plus perfectly creditable house wine, white and red, by the glass or carafe. The restaurant is spacious, attractive, popular with families as well as office groups, singles, and couples. Outdoor tables are pleasant when it's cool enough.

Grimaldi's is our go-to pizza place for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family loves it. Mom, not so much!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Grimaldi's has great atmosphere. You can watch them make the pizzas right in front of you and slice them into the wood-burning oven. They have a good selection of beers and their salads are great. The pizza? Not my favorite. The topping to crust ratio is too low in my opinion, but I am a Chicago pizza lover. I want lots of cheese on my pizza! That being said, my family likes it. I think one of my issues is that you have to order so much to fill the family because they are so light on the toppings. If you like wood-fired pizza, definitely give it a try. You may love it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ACRMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grimaldis Pizzeria also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Grimaldis Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing