We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"NIGHTMARE". WARNING - DO NOT STAY HERE!!! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Fort Myers near JetBlue Park
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

To whom it may concern,This is a hotel review my wife and I are posting on Tripadvisor . . There's only one word to describe this Days Inn in Fort Meyers (formally known as Grandstay Hotel and Suites at 10150 Daniels Parkway) and its "NIGHTMARE". WARNING - DO NOT STAY HERE!!! My husband, two teens and I were visiting Fort Myers to participate in a local baseball tournament. We checked into this hotel on July 3rd. On Monday July 7th, we returned to our hotel late afternoon after a ballgame only to find a major renovation and construction taking place . There was plastic sheeting along the entire corridor on the 2nd floor, dust everywhere, tools strewn about and heavy drilling noise was evident. The entire second floor was being renovated.We found our room in complete disarray with all of our personal belongings missing. In fact, lighting fixtures were removed and furniture was missing with the bed frame disassembled and sitting in the middle of the floor covered by a plastic sheet. We rushed to the front desk where we proceeded to question the front desk clerk about what was happening and her first response was that she didn't know. We asked her where our luggage and personal belongings were and again she responded that she had no idea. It was apparent she was instructed to act dumb so we asked to speak to the manager, Vinnie Patel.We then asked Vinnie Patel about the location of our personal belongings and he didn't know. He had to call several hotel staff and it took 20 minutes to finally track down our luggage. Hotel staff had been instructed by hotel management to move guests' belongings to another room on another floor. Mind you, we were never informed the day we booked the room, nor the day we checked in, nor during the 3 days of our stay that there was any planned construction. We were interfacing with front desk staff on a daily basis 2-3 times a day to inquire about hotel amenities. Not once were we ever alerted that there would be any construction. The hotel's dirty secret was maintained in order to prevent guests from leaving prematurely and to prevent raising a red flag as guests called to book a room. We certainly would not have stayed there if we knew about the pending construction. We were not offered an apology, discount or other compensation for our troubles. In fact, upon checking out he tried to bill us twice the rate but we fortunately caught the "error".Obviously we were quite perturbed that we were getting the run around and few answers were being provided. Professionally trained hotel managers would have at least apologized and would have given an explanation. Instead he was rude, aggressive, unprofessional and yelled at us which made things worse. My daughter and I had some undergarments and swimsuits hanging on the shower curtain rod in our room which hotel staff pulled down and stuffed into garbage bags along with all of our toiletries. After we left the hotel that same afternoon, we threw away the undergarments and toothbrushes which who knows who had handled them! In addition, an HDMI and USB cables were missing along with my son's PS3 adapter.We had stored food in the room refrigerator which they also handled and removed. They removed the clothes we had in drawers, opened our luggages and threw them in. This was a nightmare no hotel guest should ever experience. By the way, I forgot to mention that due to our expressed concerns about what was occurring, Vinnie Patel ordered us to leave the hotel. He called the local police and we then proceeded to call NBC-2's news team. Their news reporter, Lindsey Fry, arrived a half hour later. She interviewed my husband and I and recorded our concerns on camera in reference to the turn of events that day. We provided photos of what our room looked like that afternoon. She also interviewed Vinnie Patel. Unfortunately and much to our dismay, the report never aired this evening.Grandstay was in the process of renovating because they had obviously just sold the property to Days Inn. You won't find Grandstay listed on Tripadvisor but rather as Days Inn. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL AND ITS MANAGEMENT, ESPECIALLY FROM VINNIE PATEL!!!  Checkout the following Tripadvisor link where other guests describe their horrible experiences with VINNIE PATEL. Checkout the guest review titled "Horrible" where Patel calls the cops and evicts another guest! Patel should not be working in the hotel business!!!  We will be reporting him to AAA, the Better Business Bureau and to Fort Myer's Visitors and Convention Bureau.  YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!Days Inn & Suites Fort Myers Southeast.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank marjflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

943 - 949 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We needed a large, affordable room for our family of 5 that was close to the RSW airport since our flight was arriving at 11:45PM and we didn't want to drive far. GrandStay fit the bill nicely.

Although they do offer a complimentary cab service, we did not make use of it since we were picking up a rental vehicle. It was about 8 minutes from the airport...a little difficult to get to due to an odd entryway and some construction, but not a big deal.

Checkin was friendly and efficient. The room had 2 comfortable queen beds and a pullout sofa. It also had a microwave and small fridge. We all slept fairly well and had no trouble with noise in spite of the fact that we are right on the maid drag (Daniels Blvd) and near the airport.

They serve a basic continental breakfast (waffle iron, pastries, juice). Nothing special but adequate. The woman who was replenishing items was very friendly and helpful.

The pool is very nice, but the fitness center is below average.

As I write this review (soaking up some sun poolside using the excellent complimentary wifi), I'd definitely come back. It's not posh, but budget friendly and a solid choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlumniGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Rooms are really clean,love the variety of the breakfast. Travel to the city every week and I'm not staying anywhere but here. The pool it's always clean and the personal very helpful. Love the suite very convenient and confort for a large group. Perfect location, close to the I-75.


Room Tip: Enjoyed the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angu2135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting family, and I can honestly say that I had no complaints about the property. Honestly I expected less for the price, I'd definitely use this hotel again. Just wish that the breakfast ended a bit later than 9 am. Other than that, very pleased with my stay. Very friendly staff.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank HecMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I am from MI visiting my family and grandchildren in FL. The visit was made so much more fun by the convenience in location and the efficiency and friendliness of the staff. The room was perfect for our needs. We would definitely use your hotel again. Thank you for meeting our family needs in such a clean, friendly and fun way. Paula Rae

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Contrary to what AAA states, NOT pet friendly. Continental breakfast. Very close to the JetBlue Park, so if you want to see the Red Sox, this is a prime place to spend the night after a late game. The main hangup is the way the hotel is located on a road that parallels the nightmarish highway going past it - there is no direct access, and the GPS will try to lead you back onto the highway. The rooms are small but well appointed and very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Serviceable, clean hotel in a safe area near the airport. I had to check in at the last minute with my three kids as my son got sick and we couldn't take our flight home. The hotel was clean, the water hot and the beds comfortable enough. I think the carpets could use some
Febreze but otherwise just fine.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers hotels
8.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fort Myers Airport
5 mi away
Best Western Fort Myers Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft Myers - I-75
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Myers Airport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Fort Myers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Fort Myers near JetBlue Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Fort Myers near JetBlue Park

Address: 10150 Daniels Pkwy, Fort Myers, FL 33913-7707 (Formerly GrandStay Hotel & Suites Fort Myers)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#7 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range: £59 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Fort Myers near JetBlue Park 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes away from the airport, Spring Training, Edison/Ford Estates, Shell Factory, Barbara B. Mann Theater and many other attractions. GrandStay(R) Hotel and Suites Fort Myers Florida, offers spacious hotel suites, perfect for the business traveler or a family vacation. This all-suite hotel features complimentary Gourmet Express Breakfast daily, high-speed Internet with Business Center. Only 2 miles away from the Southwest Florida (RSW) International Airport off I-75(exit 131) and Daniels Parkway, GrandStay Hotel and Suites is also conveniently located close to a variety of dining and entertainment attractions. If you enjoy golfing, Southern Florida has over 130 golf courses; with many just miles away from the hotel! Fort Myers is also known for its great shopping, Broadway shows, trails for biking & walking, fine dining, fishing and amazing white-sand beaches. Baseball fans will feel right at home during the months of February and March as Fort Myers welcomes Major League Baseball's Spring Training Camp. The Minnesota Twins, playing at Hammond Stadium only 3 miles away, and the Boston Red Sox, playing at Jet Blue Park within a mile of the hotel, prepare for the regular season.We welcome groups, sport's team, motor coach tours and more. GrandStay(R) Hotel and Suites Airport in Fort Myers, Florida offers a variety of room types. From our standard king or queen suites with a microwave and small fridge to our extended-stay suites with a full kitchen including microwave, full-size refrigerator, stove top, dishware and utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Fort Myers near JetBlue Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Hotel And Suites
Grandstay Hotel Fort Myers
Wynstar Hotel Fort Myers
Wynstar Fort Myers
Days Inn & Suites Fort Myers Near JetBlue Park Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing