We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Receptionist was Quite Rude”
Review of Econo Lodge North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge North
Ranked #52 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Receptionist was Quite Rude”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Econo lodge does what it says on the tin. The only good thing about the name is that it reduces ones expectations. The rooms were a bit smelly but relatively clean. However I got an earful from the lady at reception when asking for her to clean the room. The internet connection was better in the Days in motel next door then it was at the econo lodge.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tony_cummins56543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    5
    8
    25
See reviews for
14
10
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Room basic and clean, no signs of bed bugs in Rm 115. 2 towels for room with 4 persons. Toilet clogged and did not flush well. So called continental breakfast: fake OJ and white bread/bagel for toast. Extra cot was $10 and slow to come.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finndance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Myers hotels

Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I made the mistake of not reading the reviews before booking. I was staying at the Best Western down the road, which has a nice river view, and large rooms. Decided to use my reward points for a night at the EconoLodge. Upon a closer inspection, some the of room doors had dent damage, and general appearance of property indicated security problems. The highway is close and noisy. Transients roaming the area. Wooded area behind seems to be a hobo jungle. What the heck, I didn't want to waste the reward points so I entered the office. Overwhelming smell of curry. The swarthy individual behind the desk was condescendingly rude, and I did and about face. Spent the night at the Best Western. Lesson learned - always consult Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
8 Thank Inge12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We stayed in Choice Hotels during our move from the San Francisco Bay area to Cape Coral, FL because of their summer promotion and (mostly) pet friendly policy. We were stuck in thus hell-hole for 3 nights awaiting our furniture. (It was the only pet friendly hotel we could find.) The indeterminate Indian/Pakistani/Middle Eastern family running this place were rude and downright scary. My wife called the motel directly to make reservations and was told no rooms were available. She was treated rudely on the phone and passed from person to person. I got online and made a reservation 3 minutes later. When we showed up the son and two of his buddies were in the office watching some sort of ultimate fighting show on TV. They were barely able to pull themselves away from the TV long enough to check us into the mostly empty motel. They gave me the creeps. I immediately checked the room for hidden cameras - it was that bad. The motel seemed like a cover for illicit activities. The father was barely tolerable and the mother the rudest of all. She pounded on our door at 10:00 AM every morning demanding all our towels whether we were done with them or not and they did not replace them until late in the afternoon. If you can stay elsewhere, DO SO! Stay away from these people and this dive. By far the worst motel I have ever stayed in. Choice Hotels needs to distance themselves from these people and this property quickly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mhconley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

I do not know how to express just how bad this place is. Smells bad, dirty and the staff is rude beyond belief.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PrintGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia area
Level Contributor
437 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We've been staying in Choice Hotels for an extended road trip, and are accustomed to certain basics being provided--soap, shampoo, small note pad & pen, coffee maker. Our room had none of these, yet the price was as high or higher than what we've been paying in this region. "Breakfast" was bland bagels or muffins in cellophane packages and something that tasted like Tang.
If the price were less than others in this hotel group and region it wouldn't seem so bad, but this was actually the most we paid in 12 nights (not counting the one that was a special "Cruise and Park" arrangement). The room was dingy, the 'carpet' almost unwalkable upon. There was a fridge in the room but it didn't work.
The location was off of a main thoroughfare in Ft. Myers--relatively convenient but not in a neighborhood of any elegance cleanliness, or interest.
Why did we stay? Because we'd booked in advance and it had a punitive cancellation policy--plus we've stayed in tents in Mexico and hostel-type places in other countries and we can tolerate many conditions that would freak lots of middle class Americans. But this one was so out of step with our usual Choice Hotels experiences that the circumstances need to be shared -- booker beware!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mass.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Didn't like it. Noisy air conditioner, unable to control the temp. on it. A non- smoking room with a burn hole in the comforter. Ran out of toilet paper in the middle of the night and there wasn't another spare roll. Disappointing for myself and my children.

Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mauide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
#38 of 59 in Fort Myers
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Fort Myers Waterfront
Best Western Fort Myers Waterfro...
#1 of 4 in North Fort Myers
829 reviews
1.6 mi away
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
#28 of 59 in Fort Myers
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Fort Myers
Travelodge Fort Myers
#50 of 59 in Fort Myers
642 reviews
2.2 mi away
Edison at Midtown
Edison at Midtown
#27 of 59 in Fort Myers
303 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North

Property: Econo Lodge North
Address: 13301 N Cleveland Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33903-4818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Fort Myers
Fort Myers Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge North Fort Myers, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing