We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value in an expensive area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fountain Cottages Inn
Ranked #35 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Since we were busy sightseeing every day, we basically needed a place to sleep. We found the little bungalows at the Fountain to be clean & comfortable. The only problem was that it was hard to find someone if you had any questions. We were only going to stay 2 nights but extended to 3 nights.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed for a week this January. This is a great famly owned hotel. It's small but that's what makes it very nice. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The owners are very friendly and will go out of their way to make you feel at home. I would stay again and would recommend this hotel to my family and friends. Just look for the Chipmonks and you'll find it!.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We travel a lot and are always on the look out for bargains. The Fountain is older and the entrance is a bit "off-putting" but go for it if you want good value for your money. The rooms are fairly spacious, we had a livingroom, full kitchen and a bedroom. The bed was only a double but was relatively comfortable. Bath was small. It was very clean. I found no odor at all.

The location is fairly central if you want to visit a variety of sites. The Edison Ford Winter Estate is nearby as are the beaches, restaurants etc. on the islands.

The internet service was pretty good although I had difficulty streaming video.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaSTSummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed for one week in January. A large room with a double bed, kitchen, love seat and roll out bed cost us $350 for the week. The room was very clean and very comfortable for a family with two small children. There are not large motel amenities such as wake-up calls, but again, for the price and the ability to make your own meals, the value is great. Our room also had a strong disinfectant smell when we arrived but we simply opened the windows and turned on the fan and the smell was gone in an hour. It is also very close to several grocery stores. Our room was right next to the pool which was very clean as well. The highway was close but not so close it ever woke up the kids.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveKay155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We spent one night at the Fountain Motel and found it to be quite nice. The rooms were nice, well equipped and very clean. The pool was also well kept and clean. Staff were very friendly and accommodating as well. It was close to the airport and worked well for a first night place to stay and rest up after a long day of travel. The only drawback I can note is that is right next to a busy highway that is quite noisy. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Needed a place for one night in an area of expensive places to stay. Found this.Not so great looking from the outside, but the room was large and extremely clean. The owners are very welcoming and helpful when so one is there. There was no disinfectant smell the night I stayed. My room had only a small frig and microwave - perfect for one night.

Cons - the lighting was terrible (read in bed with lighted reader only), no staff on-site quite often, no wake-up call availability and no clock radio to set (bring one or use your phone as I did), and my mattress was NOT comfortable - it was as hard as the floor.
Yes, it is near a busy road, but traffic is minimal at night and not enough to keep me awake - just cars, no trucks.

It is not close to I-75, but near downtown Ft. Myers and short drive to Sannibel Island,
which is why everything else is so expensive.

Would stay again, but ask for room with good mattress.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomlin2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I booked this hotel due to consistently positive Trip Advisor reviews regarding its cleanliness. They have clearly taken this to the extreme. The smell of disinfectant was so strong that my head started to ache immediately upon entering the room, and after about 20 minutes I thought I was going to throw up. My boyfriend had the same physical reaction. We left without unpacking, since the smell is so strong that you, your clothing, and your suitcase will smell like this funky disinfectant if you spend any time there at all.

Room Tip: there aren't any if they all smell like ours did
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
3.3 mi away
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
4.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#33 of 59 in Fort Myers
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
4.0 mi away
Casa Loma Motel on the Waterfront
8.5 mi away
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
#29 of 59 in Fort Myers
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Cottages Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Cottages Inn

Address: 14621 McGregor Blvd, Fort Myers, FL 33908-1947 (Formerly Fountain Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Price Range: £59 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fountain Cottages Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fountain Cottages Inn is a small family operated 18 unit hotel. Close to beaches (Fort Myers Beach, Sanibel and Captiva). Clean, Safe, Affordable. Visit us, you will love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Fountain Cottages Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Motel Fort Myers
Fountain Hotel Fort Myers
Fountain Cottages Inn Fort Myers, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing