We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - Mostly gluten free”
Review of Pollo Tropical

Pollo Tropical
Ranked #480 of 854 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Cuisines: Caribbean, Fast food, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food - Mostly gluten free”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Being gluten free (by choice), it is hard to find places that have a lot of selection. Pollo has a menu that is almost all gluten free if you stay away from the wraps - check their website for a full GF listing - but I have always loved the food. My only issue is that the interior seating is not as clean as it could be.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j9rose60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    7
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Norman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not up to Pollo Standards”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I love Pollo Tropical. After 3 visits to this new location I have to say that it is way below the Pollo standards. I noticed that they stack precooked chickens and then briefly throw them back on the grill leaving them Luke warm to cold on the inside. Rice and beans are also not as fresh. Even though this is much closer I will go to the Cape Coral location where they get it right.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bear3412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Pollo tropical sells Cuban or tropical style foods. Guava bbq ribs, mojo pork, beans and rice, fried plantains, etc. In this location you place your order and get a number to take to your table and the bring the food to your table. Other locations I've been to have counter service like a typical fast food restaurant. We had we had chicken wings that where well cooked and seasoned, mojo pork that was flavorful and moist with a nice citrus flavor from the slice of lime served on top and the guava riblets. I tried the black beans and yellow rice. The beans where also well seasoned and very good but I was disappointed with the yellow rice. It seamed to have an artificial bright yellow color and tasted like peppers. It also had small over cooked bits of other vegetables mixed in. My favorite part of the meal was the fried sweet plantains. Theses where among the best that I have had from a fast food type place, well cooked slightly crispy on the outside and soft but not overly mushy on the inside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Management”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Store MAnagegers Cursing at emoployess. VERY DISGUSTED BY THIS ACTION..... Shawn should be fired!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
268 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nice Fast Food Option - Recommend”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Never been to a Pollo Tropical (Chicken On The Grill) before today ... what a nice surprise! This is a new recently opened restaurant in the very popular Gulf Coast Mall location (many shops, movie theater, Costco, Bass Pro, other traditional restaurants, etc) in south Fort Myers.

You have the option to eat inside or use the drive-up to go ... we chose the inside option and found a nice decor, wifi , pleasant helpful staff, quality food that is inexpensive (e.g. 1/4 chicken with two sides only $5.49 ), food came out fast and was very tasty. We will return again - if you like chicken recommend you give it a try ... nice fast food option vs the tradition burger joints.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMelq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pollo Tropical also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pollo Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing