We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El cubano”
Review of City Tavern

City Tavern
Ranked #197 of 880 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Price range: US$9 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: City Tavern has been a downtown Ft. Myers happy hour and nightlife hot spot since 1998. City Tavern offers a unique bar food menu inspired by Chef Brian Duffy from the hit Spike TV show, Bar Rescue. The kitchen is open daily, 11am-10pm and the bar remains open until 2am with live music every Thursday, Friday, & Saturday nights. Drink specials all week.
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Great place...fresh ingredient food...Great atomosphere. In and out at lunch time. I had El cubano it was amazing. Pull pork was so tender. Difinitely be back again.

Thank Lillie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin O, Owner at City Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of City Tavern! Thanks for visiting and we hope to serve you again real soon;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We recently visited this location because of the rumor of a good Cuban sandwich. Well, the sandwich was good, not great but a "high" good. But we also ordered a draft of Angry Orchard hard cider and a Pear hard cider. The first round was $5.75 (on happy hour) and the second round was $6.75 (after happy hour). We were slightly shocked to see this when we received the bill. Shame on us for not asking but $5.75 and $6.75 for a draft of anything is a bit much! We were told it was considered "craft beer" but really???

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lmartin626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin O, Owner at City Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for coming to City Tavern and for taking the time to post a review. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed the Cuban sandwich and the Magners Irish Pear Cider as well as the Angry Orchard Hard Cider Crisp Apple. We agree with you 100% that these craft brews are outstanding, though pricey. The cost to pour one of these 16oz drafts is actually greater than Grey Goose, for example. Thanks again for visiting and we hope you return soon;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband & I have been wanting to try the food at the City Tavern for a while and finally did. We were not disappointed.....we both had sandwiches .....I had the Vegetable Panini (it was delicous!). The atmosphere is so much better than it had been in the past-I did not smell any cigarette smoke. Happy Hour Wine is also great and the bloody marys are also great! Our bartender/waitress (Heather) was very pleasant and treated us like she very much appreciated us being there. We will definately be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Czep13309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin O, Owner at City Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

We are so glad you came in to try our food! We have made many changes to City Tavern over the past year and it's always great to hear folks are enjoying the new experience. Heather is a sweetheart and we are lucky to have her. Thank you for the visit and the review!! We hope to see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Average selection of beer and service was pretty average too, but the atmosphere was great, the people were awesome and the live music perfect. Great for a late night out with friends!

Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin O, Owner at City Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for City Tavern! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again real soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The place used to be a dive bar but now it is awesome! The small menu is adequate and I did have a great sandwich. They now have a good selection of beer on draft. The wait staff is very friendly and helpfully.

Thank Okigolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin O, Owner at City Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you very much for stopping by City Tavern and trying our new Chef Brian Duffy inspired menu. We've been working very hard to improve in all areas and it's always great to hear we are on the right track! Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Tavern also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to City Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing