We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of golf in the city”

Fort Myers Country Club
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“An oasis of golf in the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Well designed Donald Ross course with plenty of find landscaping and animals. Back before people drove the ball 300 yards (circa 1917 when this was built), people walked the courses and experienced the challenges with woods made of wood. That is FMCC. Voted one of the top public courses in the US by Golf Digest, you will discover an escape from the city and into nature here. I thoroughly enjoyed my round and will be back. The Edison restaurant and bar is a great way to relax after a round--- great outdoor porch as well as indoor service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    22
    8
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ft Myers CC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I have been here many times, both for drinks and dinner and have never been disappointed. Service is good and the food is very good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guttenberg, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fort Myers Golf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Golfing at Fort Myers is an enjoyable course, plenty of water and sand but not extremely difficult. Reasonably priced for golfing in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sal426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
262 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good Deal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Had the clubs in the trunk and decided to play 18 after breakfast. Didn't have a tee time but were close to Fort Myers CC, so drove over to see if we could get out on a Sunday afternoon.

It was $30 for 18 and a cart per player (we teed off around 12:30, but they gave us the 1PM rate). It's a very typical municipal course, though a Donald Ross design. Very much what you'd expect from a public course. Not in resort conditions, but overall, the course seemed well maintained, and pace of play wasn't bad.

For the price, worth playing again. It would be a course I'd go to if I needed some practice, or maybe a first day round on a guy's trip, but wouldn't be somewhere I'd go out of my way to play.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level Contributor
197 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The Giant Tee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We grew up in the Ft. Myers CC and went to swim club as soon as we could walk. The location is perfect and the grounds are very nice. We always have enjoyed the golf course which is challenging but very playable. The Royal Palms lining McGregor are beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JRockTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Myers Country Club also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fort Myers Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing