We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Original Grub and Pub - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Original Grub and Pub
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was in town on business and an associate told me this was a new restaurant and he wanted to try it. We both had the Grilled Mahi Salad, blackened with the house balsamic dressing and it was excellent. It was a very good filet of Mahi with a perfect blackening, unlike the places that give you something that "looks" blackened but has no flavor. This had a nice tang, without being hot. The greens were fresh and the balsamic vinaigrette had a great flavor. The salad wasn't that large, but was a good light lunch for a hot day. Price was just under $9. The place didn't have many people in it, but it was a Monday about 1 pm and it was in a little strip mall as so many good Ft. Myers restaurants are, but some people find them hard to find.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cuda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We went there expecting to have dinner this evening. A friend recommended to us as a warm, friendly place with great food. So disappointed! First of all, this restaurant is difficult to find. That being said, not a big deal if the food is good. We were greeted by our waiter who seated us promptly...you can sit anywhere. Lots of open seating tonight - the place was virtually empty. We ordered two draft specialty beers to start. I was informed they were out of the one I ordered. I chose a second beer. When the server returned, he said that they were able to "find"the beer I originally ordered. Beer was flat and warm. In the meantime, I had ordered wings as an appetizer. We hadn't made entree choices at that point. Server was not happy with just the wing order and said that we needed to order because it would take at least 10 minutes for the wings to cook. It was at that point that we decided to cut our losses. It took more like 15 minutes for 8 wings...the server was so distant and cold when we didn't immediately order entrees that all we wanted to do was get out of there...no, we didn't complain about the beer, but we should have. Wings were ok. Just ok. We ended up going to another establishment. Sad experience. We prefer to frequent locally owned restaurants and do so on a regular basis. Wish that I could have added this one to our list

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Signe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
223 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Cute little place with a small bar and small dining area. We just had appetizers at the bar. Everything was tasty and service was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooklynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the hidden places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Great laid back atmosphere, excellent menu and prices, and the customer service is on point. Think i will make this my new local watering hole.

Helpful?
Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

friendly staff and great food by owner / chef
Will be back for a taste of original pub food and craft beer.....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandsandNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Original Grub and Pub also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing