We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great experience at the Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We checked in Friday afternoon and when we left for dinner we told the desk clerk that there was a ticking/ dripping noise in our air conditioner. She said she would have it taken care of. We returned late that evening to the same noise . A dripping "chinese torture" kind of noise. Needless to say it was almost a sleepless night.

The next morning the same desk clerk said it had been checked out that the noise was coming from the air conditioner above leaking condensate onto our ledge and all the rooms were like that. I find this hard to believe. This was my first and last stay at the Crowne Plazq

Room Tip: check on the a/c noise. be aware that the "continental" breakfast that may come with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Elliottk60,
Thank you for letting us know about you recent stay and please accept our apologies for the less than restful night you had with us. I have already reviewed you remarks with our guest registration team and maintenance department to identify and fully correct the problem you experienced. We know that a good night's sleep is essential for an enjoyable stay and this is not a common problem. I deeply regret you were told otherwise. We do wish you might afford us another chance as I am confident we can make things right. If you would like to try us again, please feel free to contact my office directly so we can make your reservation. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

We flew into Fort Meyers and wanted to spend a night there before heading to a house rental in Naples. Picked this place because its rates were great compared to others in the area, it had a good rating, and was close enoough to an Enterprise where we could save money by renting a car there rather than through the airport. We were not disappointed. This place was great. Happy hour started at 11:00 am! The staff was beyond helpful and courteous. Shopping right there if that's to your liking and a great little Mexian restaurant you could just walk to that had great Marguaritas! We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear bwo80,
Thank you for taking time to let us know that you enjoyed you overnight stay here at the Crowne Plaza Fort Myers. It was nice to hear that we could get you off to a good start on your vacation stay in Naples. And yes, happy hours starts every weekday at 11am in Shoeless Joe's Sports Cafe! It was also nice to hear you had an opportunity to walk across the street and enjoy the Bell Tower Shops. We hope to see you again soon and enjoy your time in SWFL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had an unplanned stay at the Crowne Plaza in Fort Myers recently while traveling around Florida. What a fabulous hotel! We had a clerk (in training) at the front desk who was friendly, helpful and welcoming. The outdoor heated pool was just what we needed after driving for hours as was the large comfortable bed. And what a treat to discover that my membership with IHG allowed us to use the Executive Floor to enjoy appetizers in the evening and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Wish I didn't live so far away as I'd love to return for another visit!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acadia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Acadia80,
We love it when an unplanned stop turns out so good and on behalf the the entire team here at the Crowne Plaza Ft. Myers, thank you for the very nice review. We were happy to hear that our staff and amenities surpassed your expectations. It especially great hearing that from our valued IHG Rewards Club members. Hopefully the next time you have an unplanned stop you will be nearby and if not, just plan on coming back for a little get-a-way! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel has always been the hotel I stay in when I come to Ft. Myers. I can joyously say, nothing has changed. The staff is and remains friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The location is perfect. Despite my recent poor dining experience at Blue Pointe, I will return to the Crowne Plaza. It is nice to come in and smell the popcorn in the lobby, the club lounge in the morning before a round of golf. I can count on these things despite being disappointed by other places, the Crowne Plaza remains as good as it always has been. Thank you for this.

Room Tip: This time we were in room 325, which is a connecting double bed room, but the view is over the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julietp37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Julietp37,
On behalf of the entire team here at the Crowne Plaza Ft. Myers, thank you for the nice review regarding your most recent stay with us. It is always rewarding to hear from our long time returning guests that they enjoy our property and location here at the Bell Tower Shops. I regret that the Blue Point restaurant at the Shops let you down this time, but I am happy to hear our staff made your stay the enjoyable experience we work to deliver to all our guests. We will keep the popcorn cooking for you too. Until the next time we wish you safe and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Top notch service. Extremely friendly staff, always welcome me back. Comfortable bedding and great location. Hot breakfast and happy hour. I go out of my way to stay here. Best property for them money in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Mike B,
WOW! We care delighted to hear how much you enjoy staying here at the Crowne Plaza Fort Myers and we thank you for the very kind remarks about your recent stays with us. Our staff works hard to respond quickly and affirmatively to all requests and we are glad to know you found that to be the case. We hope to continue to be your place to stay when in Ft. Myers and just let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stays more comfortable. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We've stayed here a number of times as part of the MN Twins Fantasy Baseball Camp. It is close to the ballpark and comfortable. We did have two problems: The mirror in the bathroom crashed while we were out (fortunately). It was quickly cleaned up. The frig was too cold and froze our fruit and soft drinks. I could find no control to adjust it. I could have asked for help, but were almost ready to check out, so I let it go. Everything else was very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Joan S,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Fort Myers. We love our MN Twins fans and fantasy campers! It is always a fun week when you folks come to visit. Our sincere apologies for the mishap with the mirror in your room and I am glad we were able to attend to that quickly. We will also follow-up on that colder than needed fridge. We thank you and all the campers for having been our guests and look forward to your return soon. Stay warm up there in MN and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed at The Crowne Plaza as they were one of the host hotels for a baseball tournament I was playing in, and they were offering a discounted rate of $105/nt. I don't need much - a clean, QUIET room, a comfortable bed, and a decent place to eat. The room and bed were great. Even though I was on the first floor, I heard absolutely no noise from the lobby or the attached sports bar. The sports bar, "Shoeless Joe's" was an ok place to grab a beer, but not recommended for good food. Fortunately, there are a multitude of really good restaurants within walking distance at the adjacent outdoor mall. So all of my needs were met. I also spent some time at pool side enjoying the sunshine (it was below zero at home). The sun disappears from the pool area in the afternoon, but mornings were great.

Room Tip: First floor worked for me. Should be fine as long as you're far enough away from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Gary P,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza this past week. It was also good to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and quiet of your room. While I wish our sports cafe could have won you over, we were happy that you found our location with over a dozen restaurants with in easy walking distance was convenient. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again. We love our ball teams and wish you safe and enjoyable travels.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers hotels
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fort Myers
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Myers
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Myers
#23 of 59 in Fort Myers
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fort Myers Airport / FGCU
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Myers at The Forum
4.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops

Address: 13051 Bell Tower Dr, Fort Myers, FL 33907-5927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Fort Myers
#6 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range: £82 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Fort Myers Hotel is adjacent to the Bell Tower Shops where you are at the heart of Fort Myers with upscale shopping, dining and entertainment within close walking distance. The hotel offers free WI-FI, updated fitness center featuring Precor equipment, free business center with remote from room printing capability, female traveler rooms and upgraded Club Floor. Guest rooms now feature 4 power outlets bedside for charging and 8 oulets on the desktop for charging phones, laptops and electronics. Female traveler rooms feature ultra high power hair dryers, flat irons, make up remover, yoga mat and yoga DVD as well as added bath amenities. The Crowne Plaza location is central to Fort Myers, Cape Coral (5 mi), Naples (15 mi)and the beaches of Fort Myers, Sanibel and Captiva Islands (9 mi). The Bell Tower shops offer numerous upscale shopping experiences including such stores as Chico s, Talbots, Jared's Jewelry, Victoria s Secret, Bath and Body Works and Jos A Banks and The Fresh Market. Enjoy dining at one of the many unique flavors that the Bell Tower Shops offers such as Cru, Bistro 41, World of Beer, Blue Pointe Oyster Bar, T.G.I Fridays and Cantina Laredo. The Fresh Market features the finest gourmet foods, wines and beers. While in Fort Myers, visit the Thomas Edison/Henry Ford Winter Estates. The Crowne Plaza Fort Myers Hotel is located near the Boston Red Sox(JetBlue Park) & Minnesota Twins (Lee County Sports Complex) Spring Training facilities. Shoeless Joe's Sports bar located in the hotel is the best place to watch a game, and enjoy family fun and great food. The hotel Club level offers extra privacy and comfort. With over 10,000 square feet of meeting space our meeting planners and culinary team can handle all your meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Fort Myers At Bell Tower Shops Hotel Fort Myers
Fort Myers Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Fort Myers At Bell Tower Shops Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing