We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for at this place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
Edgewater Fl
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for at this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

The place is bellow standard. Everything was barely ok. I was alone in my way south to the Keys. My wife would refuse to stay here. "Not that bad " i said to myself.Early in AM I had the feeling that something was crawling on my leg. I was too sleepy and thought it was my imagination.
In the morning I got out of bad and quickly pulled the sheets on the side, There was a small roach trying to escape. I killed it and left it on the sheets in plain site. My appetite for breakfast in that place was gone and chose to get just a coffee while checking out. The place was messy with the garbage can overfilled. The same girl working the desk was trying to clean it up. By mistake she spilled a coffee on the floor. I felt sorry for her so I didnt mention the roach.

Room Tip: Im not to demanding but i would leave this place alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Goldwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judycoleman1, Revenue Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a response regarding your stay at our hotel. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay here. I would like to address the issue with the bugs we do have the hotel serviced on a regular basis and I will make sure that that room get extra attention. As for the breakfast, I am sorry you did not feel like eating due to unforeseen circumstances. Sometimes during the breakfast they get busier than expected and get a little backed up for the most part the worker has it under control. We try very hard to make sure our customers have a pleasant stay here at our hotel but sometimes there are thing's that happen that we don't know about until after the fact. The Howard Johnson has many good things to offer the location to shopping and many fine dining areas. I do hope in the future you will give us another opportunity to make your next visit a more pleasant one for you.

Respectfully

Howard Johnson Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    89
    91
    98
    156
See reviews for
160
122
71
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lehigh Acres, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Me and my friends stayed at the hotel in different rooms. When I sat down to eat pizza there was roaches in the wall and in the table. I gave my son a shower and with in 5 minutes his feet were black underneath guess carpets has never been washed. Wen I went to lay down there was roaches in the nightstand and in the walls. Drawers were broken from both rooms. No conditioner only shampoos. Coffee packs were opened. My friend have to switch rooms at 1am after kids were sleeping because a/c was broken. There were weird girls walking around the halls and to many cops around the building. At checkout I had to wait about 30 mins. to get my deposit back because wen I checked in the girl messed up and they were sayin I had no cash deposit on file. This was a waist of money I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anamary1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judycoleman1, Revenue Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson Hotel. I am sorry you did not have a good experience during your stay. We do have the hotel treated on a monthly basis to make sure we do not have some of the issues you spoke of. As for the carpet being dirty I will bring that to the attention of the maintenance department so it can be cleaned immediately. Unfortunately sometimes we do not get any notice when an a/c goes out but I do apologize for the inconvenience. As for the shampoo many of the new shampoo's are shampoo and conditioners in one, if that was not the case I do apologize. I am sorry for the mix up you had during your check out but am glad to hear it was finally straightened out. Sometimes mix ups like that happen and it just takes a minute to get them straightened out. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to make your next stay a better experience for you. Again thank you for staying at our hotel. We do have many good things to offer we are located close to many shopping areas as well as fine dining areas.

Respectfully,

Judy Coleman
Howard Johnson Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Room was on the backside which was very dark.Needs additional night lighting.could use painting.Overall a good value for the price.Located on busy road & easy to find.Restruants within short driving distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judycoleman1, Revenue Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson Hotel. I am glad you were pleased with your room and the location of the hotel. As you stated the location is easy access to mall shopping as well as many fine food restaurants. We do hope on your next visit you will stay with us again.

Respectfully,

Howard Johnson Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort Myers
Travelodge Fort Myers
#48 of 58 in Fort Myers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Fort Myers
Super 8 Fort Myers
#47 of 58 in Fort Myers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#32 of 58 in Fort Myers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Fort Myers
4.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
#38 of 58 in Fort Myers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Fort Myers near JetBlue Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL
Address: 4811 S Cleveland Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33907-1319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Fort Myers Hotel Fort Myers
Howard Johnson Fort Myers
Fort Myers Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn - FT. Myers FL Fort Myers, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing