We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool makes it worthwhile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while waiting for our vacation rental on Sanibel Island. It's a great location - convenient both to the Fort Myers Beach area and to Sanibel. Close to a supermarket and Super Target to stock on supplies for the condo. It also has a large, sunny heated pool, which is why we chose to stay her last year and to return this year.

On the downside, the rooms are rather small, although they do contain a fridge and microwave (I would have loved to have had a safe, though). The sink stopper was broken and the shower control did not work properly. The complementary toiletries consisted of a single bottle of shampoo/conditioner and a bar of soap. The walls are quite thin and we were disturbed the first night of our stay by the guests two doors down, who stood outside smoking and talking until the wee hours of the morning. Also, the maid did not arrive to clean out room until 5 p.m. when were trying to clean up for dinner.

That being said, we will probably return again next year just because of the great pool, good free breakfast and friendly staff. For the price, I can put up with the problems I've outlined above.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

I travel wit two papillions. La Quinta is the answers for the people who travel with dog (s). The employes are super nice and helpful. Very nice and clean pool. Good breakfast. Room are specious and clean. Close to everything you want to see and experience. Thank you La Quinta.

Room Tip: I have very good room facing the pool on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I have to agree with the other reviewers, the employees of this hotel were super nice. I think the free breakfast they provide has everything you would want to get your day started with out the expense of going out to eat. The make your own waffles was fun for my son. They had healthy options of oatmeal and hardboiled eggs , some fruit. I have to say it worked out really well for us. We went during spring break and it was crazytown down there in the morning. The staff did great keeping up on the demand and maneuvering and keeping there cool getting through all the hotel guests. My only complaint would be the RUDE guests of the hotel who have no regard for personal space. One woman was hovering over my 10 year old waiting on the waffle iron (because she had to use 2 at the same time) ....then there are those wandering like they were lost. Frustrating when everyone is trying to get something to eat and get on with there day. Pay attention and take a step back no need to be up the next persons butt! OK I feel better now. Pool was very nice. The room was clean they could stand to update bathroom fixtures. Oh and room 431 needs a new mattress on the bed closest to bathroom (back breaker) the other bed was fine. The beds are fulls and not queens too....all in all served its purpose for a place to crash and take a shower. Bonus was the breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pmazz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Easy access to hotel and to causeway to Sanibel and Captiva. Nice pool and outdoor area for relaxing. There is a Publix nearby, so if you want a snack or light dinner, you can do take out and enjoy it outdoors. Rooms were well maintained, and the bathroom was spacious. Two people could easily get ready without bumping into each other.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryAnn6336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Stayed 3 nights here in March 2013 while visiting area for spring break. Overall the hotel was what I expected for the chain, area and price. We experienced record cold temps for the season.

My rating reflects price and proximity to things we wanted to do. I would recommend it as a good inexpensive option if you take it for what it is.

Pros:
- It is a good place to sleep for relatively inexpensive hotel. I would not consider it a super posh or comfortable place, but it fits the price. Our room was generally clean but like many rooms I have seen in Florida, you can tell it has seen a lot of travelers. There were some rough edges. The bathroom was nice and roomy. The beds were fine. Linens were clean.

- Very close to Sanibel causeway. When traffic was light, we could get to the island in 20 minutes. One note: the traffic on Sanibel, particularly downtown area was heavy. My suggestion, go early, stay late. Avoid main area of town if possible to avoid traffic. We spent the day on the island and did not try to go back and forth between mainland and island.

- Nice pool. We did not get to use it because it was too cool out for us when we were at the hotel (evenings). But it was popular for others staying at there.

Cons -
- Some noisy guests and rooms that are not too soundproofed. The noisy guests were just circumstance. But, we could hear them outside in pool area really well unless we turned on room AC fan.

- Breakfast was very "meh". They offer cereal, make your own waffles, fruit and hard boiled eggs. We chose other options (Biscotti's was good, so were restaurants on island). Also there could be a big line at breakfast. The one morning we ended up eating at the hotel, there was a big line and it took a while. Then, because of the cold, there wasn't enough seats in the dining area. Nobody wanted to eat outside. We ate back at our room. Just mention this in case you visit when weather isn't the best. Some of the seating for breakfast is in a screened porch area which would have been nice with good weather. But in cold or rainy weather dining room could get crowded.

- On our second day we returned late afternoon and room had not been cleaned yet. The maid came by around 5pm. I don't know why she was so late, maybe shorthanded. But it was unusual that we did not have fresh towels etc. so late in day. When the maid did come to the room she did make an effort to get us what we needed. This was not too big a deal for us but wanted to mention it.

Room Tip: I suggest a first floor room facing pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A La Quinta traveler
Waterville, Ohio, USA
1
Reviewed 26 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed at this 3-story hotel with its large open atrium pool area in the middle for 4 nights in March 2013. Location is excellent: Summerlin road, 2 miles from Sanibel Causeway, and 5 miles to Fort Myers Beach (10-15 minutes depending on traffic). The hotel has a very large pool, so large swim lanes are painted on the pool. Hot tub seats 6 comfortably. Extra towels kept by pool. Both were heated to a very comfortable 78-81 degrees. Pools were very clean. Free parking, stairs and elevators. Breakfast area is somewhat small, but you can move into the lobby, and there are tables and chairs in the outdoor atrium as well. Bar was open until 10:00 pm each night. Breakfast was fine with no extra charge. Room (2 beds), LCD TV with cable, spacious bathroom, with tub shower, and plenty of extra counter space. We had no bugs. Maid service was fine, but was a bit inconsistent. Exercise room worked well, could bench press, etc. The hotel is also two blocks from a small county park (Bunche Beach Preserve), with a gulf beach, kayaking, bird watching etc. You can walk to that park. Publix, Subway and a good restaurant are about one block away (walking distance). The only problem was at check in: It only took 2-3 minutes, but we were given keys to a room that was already occupied. We went back down to front desk and a new room was immediately given to us, BUT no apology for the inconvenience. Would easily stay there again, especially at $119.00 a night plus tax, during the height of Spring Break and spring MLB baseball. I am posting pics. Tim S., Minneapolis, MN

Room Tip: Rooms on back ( south ) side are quieter, rooms on the 2-3 floor southside overlooking pool have a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
3.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Myers Airport
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
11.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fort Myers Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway

Address: 20091 Summerlin Rd, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3763
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range: £65 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway offers spacious rooms, quality accommodations, and friendly service all in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. We are located minutes from the beaches of Ft Myers Beach, Sanibel and Captiva Island. There are lots of activities to kee...see morep you busy here, from deep sea fishing charters to boat rentals, many of your favorite water activities are within easy reach. There's plenty of shopping nearby for those moments you're away from the beach. Head on back to The La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway and take a dip in our olympic-size heated outdoor pool, relax in the outdoor whirlpool, pump it up in our new fitness center; or how about a game of ping pong. Enjoy a spacious guest room with free high-speed Internet access, mini kitchen, micro refrigerator, and free cable TV. Enjoy our Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning featuring make-your-own waffles and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Ft. Myers Hotel Fort Myers
La Quinta Ft Myers
La Quinta Fort Myers
Fort Myers La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway Fort Myers, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing