We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outrigger Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Carousel Inn on the Beach(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Stay Vacations(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
Flamingo Inn(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gulfview Manor Resort(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Inn(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Harbor Suites(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GullWing Beach Resort(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pointe Estero Beach Resort(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,766)
Filter reviews
1,766 results
Traveller rating
707
678
242
94
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
678
242
94
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeckside cafeacross the streetresort viewlive musiccharley's boathousenice tiki barguest servicesdeck areastandard roomlarge deckbreakfast buffeton site restaurantwhite sandground floorconch shellstiki hutbit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
659 - 664 of 1,766 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I just returned from 2 weeks at the Outrigger (March 2-16) and I am a convert! First of all, this is not a Four Seasons or a Ritz Carlton brand; nor do they claim to be. What they are is a friendly, clean, warm and wonderful place to stay just steps from the sand.

I booked a hidden gem of a room called the Elevator Room. It is perfect for one person. The room actually wraps around the elevator shaft - and no...you cannot hear the elevator AT ALL! It was cozy, clean and quiet and had a full sized bathroom. My comfort was not compromised one bit!

The Tiki Bar was THE BEST! It is a lovely combination of short-term and seasonal guests and locals. There was some complaining about the wait times, but once folks figured out the system there (a line - with a sign - not a typical walk-up to the bar and order) it was great! Every interaction I had with Patty, Phil, Jim and Debbie was like greeting an old friend. They made me feel like a regular! 10 STARS to the Bar Crew! Also, the nightly entertainment was top-notch!

I did eat at the restaurant on site and the food was exactly as expected. I had great service there as well!

The beach at that end of Estero Island is wide and not crowded. The sand is truly like powdered sugar: white and silky and the Gulf water was warm. They have cabana rentals as well, which I did take advantage of.

I am already planning on another trip next year and will be bringing my children and grandchildren.

I met so many wonderful people; both staff and guests. When the place is frequented by locals, you know you've found the right spot on the island!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barefootcontessa56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We just recently stayed 5 nights Feb. 28 to Mar 5/2014....we are age 51 yrs... SOOO...we were thrilled that the weather broke as we were north near Clearwater beach 2 nights prior and it was cool windy and no sun. Outrigger was kind of as expected...reading reviews, but we were happy with our room it was right above cafe, second one in, second floor...view was great no prob being above cafe. So with that, food was not bad at all for convenience sake...shrimp was good! Appetizers are always good! KUDOS to my MIMOSA maker! (cafe) you know who you are! Thanks! The beach is SUPREME! The sand is soooo sweet...(no i did not eat it ha) So our biggest complaint...really only complaint, is that the bar folks, tiki bar, were cold, rude, and unfriendly over all! We felt some Local preference going on...maybe seasonal regulars and local folks...but whatever the case we felt second best... Plus they made us one awesome blended drink...then they sucked there after. The smooth thick drink went to rough rocks you cant get thru the straw...too busy...not patient...inconsistent. we tried to NOT buy drinks there. We give a four star for relaxation (we didnt see many younger peeps/families until our last couple days...not a problem for us at all in that respect, wished our fam was with us! ) definitely an older crowd in fact the place shuts down pretty much by 10

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is our 3 rd year coming back to the outrigger. We have 3 children and it is a very safe and great place for them. We did have a mix up on our room but the manager tried very hard to make it up to us and gave us a discount. My in laws were also staying and my son forgot an ipad in the room that they had checked out of. Kudos to housekeeping they had the ipad waiting in lost and found! I think thats alot to be said about this place!! It is very laid back and is a mix of all ages. Great beach with alot of room to play! Melissa Oscarson

Room Tip: I like the beachfront rooms and there is a small kitchen and grill in the back for cooking. I would definately get a main floor with children
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We just returned from our trip to The Outrigger. We have two children (5 and 8) and based on their website, I thought it would be a nice place for a small family. Though quaint, just as we expected, it was not kid friendly. It was about 90% aged 65+ and 10% in their 30's, 40's, and even less with kids. Most appeared annoyed with kids around, even hearing some say "there are sure a lot of kids here (sounding aggravated). Lots of swearing by the Tiki bar, music catered to the older crowd, and lots of annoyed faces by the pool. Food was sub-par at the Deckside, though delivery to the deck was nice. Buffet was terrible, seldom stocked even though not busy, and eggs and potatoes were cold. Only 5 items on the buffet, not busy, not sure what the issue was. Staff forgot coffee several times (we were their daily), as well as other beverages. We were a bit too far off the beaten path, and we regretfully didn't rent a car. We did take the trolley to Times Square which was nice and had great food and service. The trolley was often late and can be tough to wait with two children. Workers didn't seem eager to please as suggested by being told that we could not have a ball in the pool, not engaging the kids, and being told we had to put our luggage in the back room because they just painted (and we were not allowed to walk through. If you are not over 65, I do not recommend the Outrigger. Some good things-The view was great-beautiful beach, Tiki bar drinks and service were wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rreimann24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is an old Florida property on a great part of the beach on the quiet southern end of Ft. Myers Beach. The room was basic, but clean with a somewhat soft bed and poor water pressure in the shower.

Positives: Great beach, restaurant serves is convenient and not too expensive (breakfast buffet is $9 and lunch of a sandwich, chips, cole slaw, and bottled water for $15), across the street from 7/11 which is even cheaper for coffee, breakfast, sandwiches, etc. The trolley stop is also across the street which is convenient for traveling to Times Square or to Lover's Key State park. The staff was friendly and helpful. The office sells postcards and stamps. They also have a computer and printer that one can use for free. Parking and wifi (not blaziingly fast, but not excruciatingly slow either) both free. Cabana was $15 for a full day with the $5 coupon that they give you upon check in. The room had a safe, hair dryer, refrigerator, and coffee maker with a packet of coffee and cream and sugar. The coupons that they give on check in also included a free drink at the Tiki Bar and buy 1, get 1 free drinks.

Negatives: public areas such as the pool deck and the deck seating are small and at peak times it was hard to find a seat. Maids clean the room very late in the day. Traffic to Times Square is terrible during Spring Break time.

This is not a luxury resort and it is not a "Spring Break Party" hotel either. However, if you are looking for a family-friendly resort on a quiet part of Ft. Myers Beach, this is a good choice. In an area where it is easy to pay over $300 per night, this is a less expensive choice. It was a good value at $170 per night when you consider the competition.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank azogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLBIGOS, General Manager at Outrigger Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for the lovely review, we appreciate the positive comments and agree with the areas of concern. Traffic during our peak season is a challenge if you are leaving the resort. Of course once a guest arrives we have everything they need right here! You don't need to get into that lovely traffic.
As for the housekeeping schedule, next time, let us know that you would prefer morning service.
Thanks again for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews