We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Summer Vacation ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Coconut RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Summer Vacation ”
Reviewed 1 June 2006

Red Coconut Campground is a great place for familes to relax and enjoy the beach and everthing else Ft Myers has to offer. I have read all the other reviews from people complaining about things falling on their campers to cramped camp sites. We have been coming to Red Coconut for 5 years, we go the same two weeks every year. We went from the third row to the second row. Now we are lucky enough to have front row site and we wont give it up. The same people go the same time every year so our children have grown up around the same campers every year and its fun to see them its like a family reunion. The way the campground does things is a little different than other campgrounds but it seems to work for them. We love stepping out of our camper on to the beach. The kids love playing in the surf, making friends and playing with little or no worries as to where they are and are they safe. The sites are cramped but they are precious beach sites and they make the best out of the little room they have. Look around Florida and try to find a beach campground that is right on the beach. They are few and far between if any in this area. We always bring new friends and family that reserve campsites and now they return year after year. We go over to Junkaroo and have a drink play pool or at night dance. You can go to one of the many tourist or local restaurants that are very good. You can shop in the campy beach stores or go to the library. There is even a movie theatre that is quite nice in Bonita Beach. There is just so many things to love that is over shadows all these petty things people love to complain about. So if your looking for a beautiful beach campgound Red Coconut RV Resort is it.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PANAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    61
    12
    11
    10
See reviews for
78
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fergus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2006

Our family of seven booked a 5 night stay but only stayed for 2 nights. We didn't like the extremely small sites; the noise of the adjacent firehall; the traffic on the access road (it was painful to go out for a day trip because you could literally walk faster than drive) or the general ambiance of the site. Very difficult to sleep in a pop up trailer because of the bright security lights. The day we checked in we politely said it wasn't our cup of tea and asked to leave after two days. This left adequate time to find another occupant for our site. The staff refused to give us any refund whatsoever for the final three days. So we just left and found a much nicer park for the next three days. All of our children thanked us for leaving. I would have rated the Red Coconut "Terrible" based on our family's experience, but obviously some people like it.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank GF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 October 2003

Our family spent 8 days at Red Coconut. Great town, nice beach and the folks in town were very nice. If you have a big rig, be careful! Our beach front site was very small. I have a Pace Arrow 36B with three slides. It took twenty minutes to get the rig on the site and we had to park the front end ten feet off the concrete pad in the sand. The left slides almost touched the power box and the right slide was almost against a tree. The trees drop hard "nuts" on your coach and the trees leave stains all over the roof and awning. Took me all day to clean the coach when I got home.

Better sites up in Destin and a lot closer to SC. Water was not very clear (web site shows clear ocean water). No pool for the kids but they had a blast in the ocean. Don't think we will be back. Myrtle Beach is only three hours away and the weekly rate at the Red Coconut is rather high.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 October 2003

I stayed there back in 2000. It was ok.
The beach was nice in itself. But the sites were too close together. I had to park my RV almost sideways to fit in. They told me I could have only one car. This was not mentioned when I made the reservation.
When I went in the office, there was nowhere else to put me.
The showers were ok.
The rates were overpriced, but what do you expect when on the beach?
The office staff was very nice and friendly. They did everything they could to help me. The customer service there was above and beyond.
The maintenance staff left alot to be desired. They seemed more interested in ogling the young girls then doing their jobs.
This park could be first rate, but I think the owner's have to rethink things a little.

Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 March 2003

We've been visiting Ft. Myers for years and love it. In fact, we just
returned last Sunday. My parents relocated to Ft Myers and lived in
their RV at the Red Coconut for a couple years until recently buying a
house inland at N.Ft.Myers. They continue to keep their RV at the Red
Coconut during the "winter" months. I'm not an RV'er but I cannot
imagine a more beautiful location to camp. You are parked in the sand
and literally step out you door to the beach. Located mid-island, the
beach is always quiet with room for volleyball (net is always up) or
tossing footballs, hitting sand wedges, etc. Bathhouse on the gulf side
is OK ... nothing to brage about but they keep it clean. The bayside
bathhouse is nicer. We also rented the Red Coconut apartment a year ago
(it's above the main office on the bayside). It's very nice and had
been recently remodeled. The only downside were the stairs to get up
there ... OK for us but my parents were a little nervous. They're
actually more steady than they looked. Also, hot water runs cold very
quickly so you'd better get your shower before the wife! The Campground
and the Apartment are great places and, we think, a great value for
that part of Ft. Myers Beach. If you've been to RV parks anywhere and
enjoyed them, I'd be shocked if you didn't absolutely love the Red
Coconut. Activities are all around you ... kayaks, jet skis, parasails,
etc. We love Fernando's Italian (south of Red Coconut behind the
Publix) .. on the water and great food. We also like Doc's down at
Bonita Beach for casual on the water eats. Don't miss the Edison/Ford
Estate tour, Imaginarium (if you have kids) and Baseball (Ft.Myers is
home of both the Red Sox and Minn Twins spring training). Ride the
Trolley ($0.25) to Times Square if for no reason than to people-watch.
If you have time, take the Key West Express over to Key West (3.5
hours) ... we stayed overnight and returned the following day. If you
need some out-of-sun time, get in the car and drive over to Sanibel for
a day ... a great place just to wander. After hours, walk next door to
the Junkanoo and get some Rum Runners ... watch the water, play some
pool .. what a life!Been many times now and we always enjoy the stay.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 February 2003

We have stayed at the Red Coconut twice during spring break and are booked to return this year. The staff is fantastic and really goes out of there way to help you with whatever you need. We come to Florida from the frozen north each spring to thaw for awhile and after spending a week at Disney with the kids, I really look forward to several days at the Red Coconut for relaxing peace and quiet. Sure there are things to do if you want to. But the kicker is that you choose what you want to do and if that means a lawn chair on the beach, then the Red Coconut is the place to be. I recommend bicycles if you want to wander, but if you don't mind walking, there are restaurants, stores and a deli all within a couple of miles.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 September 2002

We had looked over the Red Coconut RV Resort on previous spring break visits to a condo on Fort Myers Beach. We retired recently and decided to spend at least 2 months at the Red Coconut. We chose the Red Coconut because of its close proximity to the Gulf of Mexico and because of the convenience of having grocery stores, a library, banks, restaurants, hair salons, etc. within walking distance. The staff at the Red Coconut was very pleasant and the people staying there were all so friendly. We made many friends in the short time that we were there and enjoyed planned activities such as euchre, dances and potlucks. We liked it so much that we extended our stay 2 weeks and plan to stay even longer this winter.

Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
383 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,633 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#23 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
244 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Coconut RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Coconut RV Park

Property: Red Coconut RV Park
Address: 3001 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3618
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Coconut RV Park 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where you can be in the middle of everything or secluded away in your own private paradise. Red Coconut is located on Fort Myers Beach directly on the Gulf of Mexico and just 1 ½ miles from the Times Square area, we are within walking, biking, or trolley distance to everything the island has to offer. Bordering our park is the Matanzas Pass Preserve, which is a popular bird watching area and where the canoe/kayak launch onto the Estero Bay Blueway Trail is located. Take a quiet walk through the Preserve and launch your canoe/kayak in the morning then spend your evening watching the sun sink into the horizon while lounging on your beach chair on our 450’ of sugar sand beachfront. Bring your RV, tent, or rent one of our fully furnished mobile units. We offer full hook-ups including basic cable, laundry facilities & recently remodeled bathhouses. WiFi is now available for free to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Red Coconut RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Coconut Rv Park Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Red Coconut Rv Resort
Red Coconut RV Park Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing