We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Eats”

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family-friendly waterfront dining with affordable pricing. Featuring fresh seafood daily and full bar with our famous Island Mojitos. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Sports Bar and Live Entertainment. Arrive by car or boat. Doc Ford’s Rum Bar and Grille may have originated on Sanibel Island, but be sure to check out this newest location on Fort Myers Beach!
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is a huge place, very crowded if you don't time it right you might wait as long as an hour for a table. But the food is worth the wait. We were a party of 4 that ordered 4 different entrees and one was more delectable than the next. The sauce on my shrimp with creamy grits was so good I would have drank it by the glass full if it was available. No too expensive and definitely worth the price. Try to get a reservation if possible and if you don't go downstairs where you can snag a table on a "whoever grabs it has got it" basis.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rossscovotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Fort Myers Beach and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!! Also remember to check out our other two locations on Sanibel & Captiva Island!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,776 - 2,780 of 3,646 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

We went on a Saturday night for dinner and sat outside on the upper deck overlooking the bay and the entertainment on the deck below. We ordered their black bean dip with tortilla chips to share and we each had the chicken chimichurri for dinner and a dessert each. As well we each had two cocktails and the bill came in just under $100 not counting tip. The service was excellent, good timing bringing out the food. The food was delicious as well as the rum cocktails! Afterwards we went down to the lower deck to watch the band and dance! Most fun we had in Fort Myers Beach out for a dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank monique62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Fort Myers Beach and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!! Also remember to check out our other two locations on Sanibel & Captiva Island!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had a great meal with a fabulous view of the bay. A good crowd comes through the doors at this fine eatery. The Grouper was moist and flakey; I suggest ordering it as an entrée as the sandwich seemed to get greasy as it was eaten...but it was yummy. We shared an appetizer which was just right before a filling meal. The clam chowder seemed a bit thick but was well received. We'll definitely return to Doc Ford's...a good meal with excellent atmosphere. It's located under the bridge on the north side of the beach but rather easy to find.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Fort Myers Beach and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!! Also remember to check out our other two locations on Sanibel & Captiva Island!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Lots of options for eating indoors or out with a nice view of the water. Great selection of drinks. Food had hits & misses. Clam Chowder was more like stew (without many clams). Tuna appetizer is worth a try. The hit of the evening was definitely the Key Lime pie! One of the best I've ever had. Worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bkirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Fort Myers Beach and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!! Also remember to check out our other two locations on Sanibel & Captiva Island!!

Doc Fords Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Dark, a little dirty/dingy and dated. The food was decent, not special, with good, informal service. We tried the bucket of shrimp, which was pretty greasy despite not being deep fried, and three kinds of fish all of which were good, not great. The Margaritas were from a mix, which was disappointing. Overall, just an OK experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Ft. Myers Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing