We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of The Fish Monger - CLOSED

The Fish Monger
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Full service casual dining experience. Full Liquor License. Early Bird Menu, Tavern Menu, Dinner Menu. We own our own boats so you will not find fresher fish in Ft. Myers. We also have many Beef-Chicken and Pasta dishes as well as a children's menu. Large parties welcome. Dive In and Dine Fresh!!
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Okay, so it looks like a bowling alley from the outside. The seafood is as fresh as it gets (they have their own fleet and the specials are caught that day). The food and the prices make up for the lack of ambiance. For example. the stone crab appetizer (1 lb. of crab) was the same price as the fish market and $10 less than Doc Ford's). The wait staff is super friendly. Please give this place a try if you're in the mood for really fresh, really good seafood. You won't be disappointed!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank mary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    88
    43
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very friendly service”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We went to at least 7 restaurants in the Tripadvisor top 15 while visiting FM Beach and everyone of them was delicious but lacked 1 important thing........a genuine friendly smile! Shelly our server was a total pro! What a hard working woman she was and so friendly as well. Definitely not like all the "just -get -through -your -shift" robots that we came across all week. Btw the food was amazing ( loved the oysters ) and the drinks were strong and yum

Helpful?
1 Thank Vmoe222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood and friendly service”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Okay, so this restaurant looks a bit dated inside and out (not that there's anything wrong with that), but the food is fresh and good.

On a Good Friday, it was a slow night so we found ourselves in a relaxing atmosphere, having been seated next to huge fish aquariums. We found ourselves pausing now and then to watch the small fish in the pristine waters. Shelly, our waitress, livened things up and even gave us a background of the restaurant's history.

We started off with roasted oysters on the half shell, that were topped with crunchy bits of cheese, garlic and other seasonings. We don't often see this offering on most menus locally, so we were pleasantly surprised. They were yummy as were the Caesar salads that arrived next. My guy was especially happy because his was topped with his coveted anchovies. He ordered the lightly dusted fried seafood plate. And, indeed, it was lightly dusted and he loved every bite. Shelly spoiled him by bringing out so many sauces. They were all outstanding, especially the remoulade that had a nice bite.

I opted for the stuffed shrimp special that arrived in a slim silver dish. There were five ample sized shrimp and the blue crab stuffing sitting atop was delicious and filling. The sides for both entrees were smashed garlic potatoes and julienned colorful squash (our choices) and fit the bill! Many restaurants nowadays don't include rolls or bread anymore, but Shelly brought out a nice small loaf of warm crusty white bread.

Their menu also features red snapper, another item I don't see as much. We'll have to go back and try it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
673 reviews
409 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Funky decor, good food, off the beaten path”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Best grouper I had during 2-weeks in Florida. restaurant is away from the busy part of Ft Myers and you may find coupons to go here. The veggies and potato were average, but the grouper was the best I had all vacation? The decor is aged, but funky. Beautiful aquariums also.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always delicious”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We go to this very friendly restaurant every year when in Ft Myers Beach. Never disappointed. Fresh seafood wonderfully prepared. Fresh baked loaves of bread and fantastic key lime pie. I love to see so many families enjoying themselves. The hosts and serves are always friendly. I have never been disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish Monger also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing