We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Ruff! If you can go here, GO! Relaxing & Quiet w/Great People!”
Review of Lahaina Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lahaina Inn Resort
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This was a last minute trip for us through an RCI exchange. We wanted to be on the Gulf and as far south as possible. This is the place.

It is small place of only 40+ units. 3 of them are across the street and are all 2 bedrooms. There are 2 pools. One on the beach side and one behind the 3 units across the street. The pools are heated at about 80 or so degrees. Very nice. We were in unit 28 (a 1 bedroom) which directly faces the beach. Amazing views like Jamaica. The unit is small, but it has a full kitchen/fridge. Nice king size bed but little storage room except for the closet (no dresser-but, a couple pull out drawers). There is no safe in the units, but, after we were there a day or so, no need.

We saw dolphins almost every morning from our 1st floor deck. All rooms are non-smoking, so you head to the deck/outside to smoke. No problem.

You will meet great people at this resort that have coming here for years and/or decades. It is mostly retirees that come here and/or rent/own here. We were the youngest group in the pack that week. Which is ok because everyone was extremely nice and friendly. Great people!

The staff was excellent! If you need unit items, just go to the office during business hours and ask for them. Towel exchange is on Wed from 9am till noon and you can pick up other supplies you may need. They have a free breakfast on Mondays (Eggs, bacon, and toast) and free lunch on Wednesdays (Hot Dogs & baked beans). Nice gathering times for all.

You are about 3.3 miles from the hot spot of the stretch and what is known as the pier. The trolley runs daily and has many stops during that trek. It is 50 cents per person for each ride (doesn't matter where you get off).

You have to go to the Heavenly Biscuit for breakfast as least once. It is on Mango and Estero Blvd. Little place and really crowded. Great breakfast sandwiches but I would shy away from the gravy (bland). Open from 7:30am till 1pm 7days/week.

The only reason we didn't rate this as a 5 are threefold:
1) No hot tub (Big deal for me)
2) No screens on the sliding glass doors to the deck/balcony (especially on the first floor)
3) No safe in units. Even though I did say no worries about this. I would still like a safe for things.

We would go back in a heartbeat, but it is a tough resort to trade into during the peak times. We got last minute lucky.

GREAT PLACE!!!!

Merry Christmas to all,

Dave and Missy

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveandMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

We are staying here now for the next two weeks. The previous reviewer has got his resorts mixed up, what he describes is not the lahaina I am in!!! We have exchanged through timeshare and the apartment is fabulous. Spotless carpets and furnishings I think previous reviewers must be hard to please! The beach is great , location perfect, in my opinion the resort is in the better end of Fort Myers beach. Great Publix supermarket just down a few blocks. We are in an apartment across the street from the beach but this is no problem. Already we have met loads of friendly people but then we always find people in the US very friendly

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank SuzyW1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed for the Xmas period 2011, and had a good relaxing experience. The resort is low key, no husstle bustle, no happy hour drinks with hotdogs and booze. Only quiet and beach. The location is superb, due to the fact that any further towards the restaurant/pier area and you have to queue for ever in the car to go further down. This was straight in straight out. Step out your room, and on the sand. My Fiance loves power walking the beach, so this made her very happy, that means I get to fish more, and the fishing was first rate for the time of year. Rooms were clean, tidy and had all we wanted. A first rate resort to recommend. Checkin/out a breeze. Thanks for a memorable stay. If there was a negative, the sand from the car park reached the rooms each time we came in. A quick sweep all done.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I exchanged for this timeshare condo in Fort Myers Beach and I gotta tell ya...it was a pleasant surprise! The property is not gold crown, or even silver, but it meets the needs and is walk- across- the- street- to- the- beach easy. The beach was beautifully maintained and I enjoyed walking the beach every morning to see the birds and the sting rays! An occasional dolphin too.
The staff is FABULOUS. The maintenance guys, the laundry ladies, the front desk staff......all stellar and attentive. We attended a free breakfast one morning and a free lunch on another day and it was great to talk to the other visitors.
If you have any disability that would make stairs an issue, this isn't the place for you. The condo was well-stocked and clean and met our needs to a T. The pool was terrific and we made friends with the other visitors in our "pod" of condos. A washer and dryer were at the pool area and free to use, just take your own soap.
The town is a typical beach resort town but friendly and fun. I will definitely think about going back to FMB.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travljunkie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed for two weeks in a one BR/one bath unit (one week was a RCI trade and one week was a rental – both in the unit 29). The resort is an “old Florida” resort that is kept well maintained. The staff does a nice job. Parking seemed sufficient. There is free wifi but it often dropped us! The unit was very clean but small. Four people could sleep there but I have no idea where they would store their luggage or clothing. Storage was a little tight for two! We would recommend a second floor, if possible, just to avoid the noise from above. Our first week the couple above us created no noise, but the second week we heard more noise, again only adults were in it but imagine the sound of little feet running about would be very noticeable. Warning- some units require quite a bit of stairs! However, there are several floor plans so just verify what you are getting if more than two plan to use a unit or steps are an issue. Their website provides a plan of the resort that allows you to see exactly where a unit is located.

In our unit, you entered through the BR area with a small bath to your left. The bath was clean with a nice size walk-in shower (good water pressure) and a one sink vanity. The BR had a king bed (very comfortable), a small closet, but the only drawers were in the night stand. There are only some small ceiling height louvered windows on this side of the unit. There is a ceiling fan and overhead lights. There is no solid wall between the BR and living area but rather two louvered panels and one sliding louvered panel resting on a partial wall. You pass through a set of full louvered doors to the living area.

The living area had a sofa bed and two barrel type chairs, end tables and coffee table, and ceiling fan. The smaller flat screen TV sits on the partial wall and can be adjusted so it can be seen in the BR also. There is a full kitchen with newer appliances (no auto ice maker on fridge) and separate eating area for 4, and an additional two bar stools. There is a large sliding door with side window panels that leads out to the deck. The deck had 4 chairs and a small table. Three steps down and you are on the sand. You can’t lock the sliding doors from the outside so if you want to lock the unit while on the beach you have to enter through the main door in the BR. There also was no screen on the sliding doors. This wasn’t an issue for us because the weather demanded the use of AC but might be an issue if the weather was cool enough to keep the windows open. The only other negative about the deck was it‘s close proximity to the AC units which could be quite loud as they cycled.

There are mostly 1 BR units, a few 2BRs and one 3 BR unit. Most are gulf side with a few 2BR units located across Estero Blvd. There are 2 pools – one on each side of the road, and several grills available for use. The resort provides beach lounge chairs for your use and some “cheaper” umbrellas for complementary use, as well as some pool toys and noodles available for use. We bought a sturdy umbrella at Costco to use. There are ample towels but a towel exchange takes place on Wednesday morning. Bring your own beach towels. The resort provides paper towels and toilet paper, as needed.

The planned activities are a breakfast on Mondays (ham, scrambled eggs, pastries, juice) and a picnic on Wednesdays (grilled hot dogs, very good baked beans, chips, pretzels and beverage). Most staff was very accommodating and friendly. No “sell” tactics took place. There is a beach vendor next door that provides umbrellas, parasailing, jet ski rentals etc.

There is a Publix grocery road about a mile up the road, lots of restaurants in close proximity and two Costcos within about a 20 minute drive. Sanibel, Captiva, Marco Island, Naples are within easy driving distance. We saw lots of ads for Everglades activities also. There are also several large shopping centers and outlet malls within driving distance.

The main pro for this resort is location, location, location! It is set on a large expanse of powdery beach, with some palm trees and other greenery/flowers. The beach is very nice and great for walking as it is flat and hard packed near the water line. We saw dolphins, a manatee, lots of fish and birds.

If you come to the beach to enjoy the beach, and will be satisfied with a clean “not fancy” well maintained place, this is a nice place to consider. It kind of reminded us of the beach places we visited as kids. We would return.

Room Tip: Gulf side units and second floor as long as steps are not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank travelkidPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed here as a timeshare exchange. The unit was two floors 2 bedrooms upstairs, 2 full baths one upstairs and one downstairs. Decor was a little dated and could use some updating. Grounds were well kept used the Swimming pool one day but spent most of the time at the beach or sighseeing. Ocean Front Views were not to be missed. Beach was beautiful and not crowded when we visited in October. Had a great time and the staff was helpful. Would stay there again if the resort was abailable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LovestoFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This is a nice resort if you plan to be outdoors all the time. The resort is clean and the rooms spacious. The linen, kitchen, beds, and living room were very clean. The 2 pools at the resort ar ok but nothing to brag about. The staff are very polite.
I would stay here again if I couldn't find a better place.
There aren't any activities. I was very lucky I rented a car. That was the only way to get around. The beach isn't so great. I've been to much cleaner beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nancy465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,893 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tiki On The Beach
Tiki On The Beach
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
627 reviews
0 mi away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
834 reviews
2.4 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Inn Resort

Address: 5580 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4195
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Fort Myers Beach
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lahaina Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lahaina Inn Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing