We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off season at the Gullwing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GullWing Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2007

Returned 2 weeks ago from a relaxing stay at the Gullwing (10/13-10/20/07 ). We stayed in unit 905, 3 bdrm beachfront room, incredible sunsets right out your master bedroom wall of windows, Units ending in 05-06 , ie: 905 (floors 1-12) are beachfront. 03-04 in middle of building, 01-02 facing island.

We had the place to ourselves during week as the "season" had not started. Beach is wide, but sand was not hot (92 degrees all week), pool small and shallow 5' max depth but still nice. The salty taste was in the water but managment again indicated it is not by design, suggest you bring goggles. While walking on sand bar just off beach sand dollars a plenty, especially south of the complex.

As has been noted before this resort is on the south end (quiet) part of the island and if you are staying for any length of time you should rent a car. Rt 41 Tamaimi Trail has large malls with many dining options both south toward Naples and North toward Fort Myers.

I also wanted to add our family to the list of people who have enjoyed the jet ski dolphin tours, $100.00 per machine (you drive if over 16) $10.00 per passenger for 2 hours. I think we saw at least 20 dolphins including one which jumped out of the water in front of us while stopped and a mom and baby. Many locations to rent from, but we used the one behind the Hooters on Estero Blvd (2000 block) Island Tours? Darren was our guide and Eric took our reservation and was putting the machines in the water when we arrived. Photos to follow, enjoy Jeff

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jefferyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2007

We stayed here on two occasions this year, once for 4 days in August and once for 3 days in Sept. On both occasions had a lovely time. The rooms are HUGE and lovely. Some areas may be a little tired, but the overall room well makes up for it. The rooms have absolutely everything you could possibly want...and more!! the beach is also stunning. You do have to rent beach lounger’s, which are fairly pricey - $20 for two per day - but worth it for total relaxation! This resort is not for those who want amazing nightlife or anything like that - although I would recommended Loggerheads for food and drinks! Further into Fort Myers is a little tacky (not like it used to be) so best sticking to the beach areas really. The pool is OK - not amazing compared to the lovely beach but great if you have kids with you. The staff here are totally amazing and I would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sarah6969pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights after being in Orlando for 3 nights before. We stayed in the 3 bedroomed apartment with sea view. It was well worth the money having the sea views for the sunsets. This tuned out to be a very special place for us as we saw dolphines 3 -4 times every day from the beach here. On our last night the dolphine was swimming around us while we were upto our wast in the sea during the sunset...amazing.The accomodation was good and as we were 2 adults and 2 older teenagers the 3 bedrooms worked well.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peggymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

Four of us stayed in the 2 bedroom suite for 1 night before getting on the Key West Express. We booked online through the hotel website and got a great price for a 2 bedroom suite. The room had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, living room area and screened in balcony. My only regret is that we did not stay here longer. The room was beyond our expectations and we will definitely be back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank smokey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

We just stayed at the Gull Wing this past weekend. Even though the hotel was nice and VERY clean, i don't think we will be returning.to us, the Fort Meyers beach area is a little "seedy" except where the Gull Wing and a few other hotels are. we found ourselves driving to Sanibel & Captiva (both lovely) everyday. sometimes twice, in the morning for the beach, in the evening for dinner. next time we will stay in Captiva even though everyone tells us how expensive it is (probably worth every penny!) our condo was huge and the staff was very nice but other than that, we see no reason to return to Fort Meyers beaches. we didn't even use the beach outside the hotel. We couldn't even find a place to eat, and when you drive around the area, you see how bad it is. anyone from Jersey will understand this, it's much like Seaside Heights.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationgirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2007

My family of 5 stayed here for our first family vacation. The resort was great. I have 3 girls and having almost as much space as they do at home was just what we needed for a great vacation experience. We had a 3-bedroom beachfront suite. The view was amazing. When we first walked in and looked out towards the beach, I knew I had done a great job in booking the resort. Having the kitchen and 4 different spots to eat (including the screened porch) was perfect. We could buy groceries and eat whenever we wanted and wherever we wanted. This was more economical than eating a lot of meals out. The resort is on the south end of town, definitely the nicer end. The beach was spacious and never crowded. Beach chair rental was convenient and affordable. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendylynn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

We just got back from a weekend visit to Fort Myers Beach, FL. We stayed at the Gullwing Resort and found it to be a nice property and worth the visit. We were in room 606, a 3 BR 2 BA beachfront unit. We had five adults and one toddler staying in our unit, including one person who has a motorized wheel chair.

PROS:
Beautiful, large white sand beach
Gorgeous sunset views right off the balcony
Roomy condo with a decent sized kitchen, eating area, separate bar area and family room
Spacious screened porch with seating for six and a ceiling fan
A lot of comfortable seating in the unit -- sectional sofa, 2 side chairs, a lot of bar stools (maybe 8?), 6 kitchen table chairs
Available crib and high chair on request
Washer & dryer in the condo
Jacuzzi tub in the master BR
Overall, well kept unit -- fridge had some issues but worked
Plenty of covered parking so your car stays cool
Beach area had chairs/umbrellas available for rent, and we saw jet skis too

CONS:
Pillows not very comfy (too hard/firm for my taste)
Pool was nice but a bit on the small side
Kitchen counters were laminate
Bath counters were inexpensive cultured marble instead of real granite or other upgraded solid surface material

TIP
The resort provides enough of the kitchen basics (1 garbage bag, 1 dishwashing detergent, 1 roll paper towels, etc) to get you started, but you'll want to buy more if you're planning an extended stay. There is a Publix grocery store located nearby so you can stock up.

THINGS TO DO
What we enjoyed most was relaxing on the beach or by the pool, and walking along the beach. It really was beautiful. We went to Charleys Boathouse (just a few doors down from the resort) for dinner and it was just OK. We liked the salad bar, bread and beverages. We found the filet cuts to be tasty but on the small side (ie, petite fillet was about 5 oz, regular was only about 7 oz...we're used to 6-7 oz for a small and 10-12 oz for large), and one of our party's fish wasn't good (she couldn't eat it). The next night we drove about 5-10 minutes north west to the pier/shops/restaurants area (by the north entrance to the island). It was nice to walk around and check out the shops. That area of the beach was very crowded with a lot of younger folks having fun. There were bars with live music in the area, and also ice cream and fudge shops. We walked a couple of blocks to have dinner Manzanis (sp?) Inn. The food was pretty good, and the view of the marina was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,893 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tiki On The Beach
Tiki On The Beach
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
568 reviews
4.1 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
627 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GullWing Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GullWing Beach Resort

Address: 6620 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4512
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: £153 - £683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GullWing Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the charming south end of Fort Myers Beach on the widest stretch of sand, GullWing offers 66 condominium 1-, 2- & 3-bedroom suites with complete home amenities, including in-room laundry and a full kitchen. Enjoy a beachfront pool, elevated tennis court, fitness room, guest bicycles, barbecue grilling deck, poolside snack bar, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your GullWing Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gullwing Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Gullwing Beach Fort Myers
Gullwing Fort Myers
GullWing Beach Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Gullwing Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing