We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
GullWing Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2008

The gullwing is wonderful. It is very clean and spacious. The beach is absolutely gorgeous and the water was too most of the time. (when it wasn't stormy) I loved the Gullwing and I would definetly go back. It was worth the 9 hour drive. They have games and books you can borrow, a computer with internet, and pool toys to play with. The staff is very friendly and they do not bother you at all. The pool is a little small and it is salty water. They have grills to use, which is very nice. They have 5 grills but we could only get one to work the whole time we were there. But i am sure if we had called front desk, they would have had a guy to come check it out. They have chairs and umbrellas for rent on the beach and they were like $20 a day and that is very good. Most places are much more expensive! The hot tub was nice but it is extremely hot! They also provide you with beach towels. I do have one complaint though, i did not like the fact that they had Spanish music playing on the speakers outside of the pool!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank paige30442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2008

We just retuned today from the Gull Wing beach resort. We had a 3 bedroom, 2 bath condo. There were 6 adults and 1 child and we had plenty of room. The area was very nice, although the local Publix , though nice, was small and crowded.
The staff at the hotel was very friendly and accomodating. The room was VERY clean and had everything we could possibly need, down to dish soap and laundry detergent! The Bath and Body Works toiletries were wonderful, especially after a long day at the beach. We found TONS of sand dollars and shells. There is no live shelling, so we made sure to only take the "dead" ones that washed up on the shore. We saw dolphins, sharks, sting rays and we even saw a couple of crabs on the beach. The pool was small, but nice. We wished we could have stayed longer! We are planning another trip, possibly for Thanksgiving. We will definately be back to the Gull Wing!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disneymom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

From the minute we parked our car in the safe + secure covered parking area we knew " we had arrived " We quickly grabbed a cart from an ample supply , loaded it up with everyones luggage and took the elevator up to our 3 bedroom , 2 bath , 1700 sq ft suite on the 12th floor that sleeps 8 . Upon opening the door we were greeted by a million dollar view as the sun painted a beautiful sunset over the gulf of Mexico . This condo was so huge that I dont recall seeing the teenagers except when we strolled the beach with gorgeous collectable shells rolling in with each wave and watched dolphins play in the surf . The pool area is very nice , however should it get a little noisy all you need to do is walk next door to their other property and use that awesome resort area that sports waterfalls + many weber bar b que grills to fire up some great tasting hotdogs . They provide designer coffee , complimentary USA today and even every possible beach toy for the kids . The staff is excellent and very business like . They even give you room key cards to check out different apts for future vacations . There is a .25 cent shuttle right outside the door to wisk you to wherever you desire to go on Estero beach . For great eating experience and live entertainment try the Beached Whale and for awesome breakfasts you must try the Island pancake house near the library , just a few blocks away . At 6 AM i witnessed a professional cleaning crew cleaning the pool area and washing down the grills . One of the gentlemen told me he enjoyed keeping the place the way he himself would expect it . All this for less than $ 200 per night , pinch me I must be dreaming !

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gmbuylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

The Gullwing rooms are beautiful and spacious, but be aware the walls are thin and it is loud in the early morning. You can hear everyone who walks down the hall and any people or vehicles outside. What shocked me was the cleaning staff vacuuming the halls at 7:50AM. Not only was that loud, but they were yelling at the top of their lungs over the sound of the vaccuum to talk to each other. It wouldn't have been so bad if it were brief, but it continued even after the vacuuming stopped. They kept yelling just as loud after the vacuuming stopped. They weren't angry, just yelling down the hall having a conversation---extremely annoying that early. Another morning there was someone mowing outside my window at 8am....even though the windows were closed & the air on, it was still really loud. The next moring it was workers outside being loud. I can understand the outside noises, but come on Gullwing staff---how can you be so inconsiderate to not talk in a normal voice that early in the am.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank WowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

My husband and I just returned from 7 days at the Gullwing Beach Resort. We were married on the beach during our stay at the DiamondHead Beach Resort just up the street but chose to have our attending guests stay at the Gullwing due to the multiroom condos. This worked out great for our 35+ guests and was more cost efficient than many of our other choices. The condos are beautiful and clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Everything was just as expected. The condos are well equipped in the kitchen, laundry and bathroom when you arrive including paper goods, soaps and detergents, towels, cookware, etc. All you need is food! The beach is extremely wide...I've never seen anything like it! Don't forget your room key if you plan to be out of the hotel later than 10pm as the exterior doors lock and there is not overnight staff available to let you back in! Also don't forget to bring bug spray. We were getting eaten up when the sun went down! Balconies are screened in luckily. The pool area and hot tub are nice too. It wasn't incredibly busy during our stay. The hot tub faded my brand new bathing suit badly. Just be sure to rinse them well when you get out!
Otherwise, we (and all of our 35+ group) really enjoyed our stay and were very impressed with the Gullwing. I'd certainly recomment it to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2008

Just got back with my family from Fort Myers Beach. We had the good luck to stay at the Gullwing (2 Bedroom Suite) and loved it! This is a first-rate resort that lives up to its website and more. The rooms: spacious, clean, bright, comfortable. Loved the HUGE jacuzzi bathtub, the DVD player, nice kitchen, great screened lanai. Perfect. The complimentary internet was excellent also. And the start-up supplies of soap, detergent, coffee, tea etc. was wonderful in a condo rental. Lasted us all week. Found the beds really comfy too.
The staff: kind, helpful, knowledgable. Lent me an ethernet cable and gave us directions, and all the info we needed.
The pool: Fantastic! My three-year-old son, who cannot yet swim on his own, used the pool's long, shallow steps as a kiddie pool - so it was like two pools in one. There's also a poolside grill serving delicious dogs, burgs, brats, for a good deal. Perfect for hanging out at the pool all day. The Gullwing also provides plenty of toys for the kids already down at the pool and beach toys are available too.
The beach: Right out the back door off the pool deck. A lovely, long, soft white, clean, sandy beach, down to the calm azure water - perfect for kids and adults alike. Cabanas & table/chairs for a reasonable rate are right out back on the beach.
Location: the Gullwing is central to everything - the Publix supermarket is five minutes down Estero Blvd, 7/11 a one minute drive, restaurants are close by too (Charley's Boathouse, Loggerheads, the Fish House, Munch Box Plus). We liked the location on the South End of FMB; it was low-key, relaxed and perfect for families and couples. Easy-going and fun. Driving down to the North End of the island to the 'Times Square' area is a short drive but busy from 4pm to 6pm, but just relax and enjoy the scenery. (note: parking right on the beach at Times Square is free after 6pm, but you have to pay during the day).
We also took a side trip to Sanibel Island, which was only 35 minutes away and a beautiful drive. The Darling Wildlife Refuge is a must see.

All in all, the Gullwing is an upscale resort with top-of-the-line amenities, a great location, and a wonderful atmosphere. We couldn't have been happier!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dillydallying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

We stayed at Gull wing from 4/4 to 4/9/2008. We can say nothing but good things about it. As we arrived we where plesantly suprised about our room ( expected a 1 bedroom and had a 2).
We took our son with us whos 17 for his grad. The condos are very clean and have plenty of room. We liked the layout. We found its easy to get arround at the islamd with the trolly ( we don't like driving down there) for just 25Cents a person. We got everywhere we wanted. The staff went out of there way to make our stay great. We had a coffee maker that broke and within 10 min it was replaced.We found many good places to eat within walking distance of the Resort. One we recomend is Loggerheads we went there a couple of times and had excellent food. For people who like fishing Cap Tony's is a cheap way to go all day fishing with a great crew and captain. We went 2 times and had a blast. ( just $ 60 per person from 8 am to 5 pm).
The beach is just beautiful there so white and clean. This family will be back next year for sure .

The Geis Family
Minneapolis MN

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank happyinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,703 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,873 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tiki On The Beach
Tiki On The Beach
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
563 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,678 reviews
1 mi away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GullWing Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GullWing Beach Resort

Address: 6620 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4512
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: £136 - £479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GullWing Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the charming south end of Fort Myers Beach on the widest stretch of sand, GullWing offers 66 condominium 1-, 2- & 3-bedroom suites with complete home amenities, including in-room laundry and a full kitchen. Enjoy a beachfront pool, elevated tennis court, fitness room, guest bicycles, barbecue grilling deck, poolside snack bar, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your GullWing Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gullwing Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Gullwing Beach Fort Myers
Gullwing Fort Myers
GullWing Beach Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Gullwing Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing