We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Key Lime Colada”
Review of Lovers Key Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lovers Key Resort
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

While at Lover's Key Resort, make sure you try the Key Lime Colada at Flippers. The "Bucket of Fun" is a must as well!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank UpNorth2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Lovers Key Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband wanted a nice room for our anniversary weekend we did get a big suite which for one day was not necessary. It was very quiet and had a view but since we love the water the BEACH was a strip of sand in the bay! The bed was not comfortable and no coffee! The office to check in and out was down the road! The restaurant next door had a wait of 1 1/2 hrs so we drove into town! This place has a nice view and if someone doesn't care about the cost and the uppity atmosphere then this is the place for you- if they want to make an improvement start with the BED and Coffee!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff615, General Manager at Lovers Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for your review. Please know that all of our direct resort bookings will in fact check in with us at our front desk here on site. Our guests also enjoy all of the resorts' amenities including a complimentary continental breakfast, in room coffee, pool towels, and daily housekeeping service.

We are not involved in reservations made through an agency or private party. We also do not oversee the accommodations or amenties provided in non resort units.

We look forward to hopefully having you return as our guest here at Lovers Key Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have stayed at Lovers Key Resort for the past five years during the month of March. There is a reason we stayed here for so many years in a row, but after this year, we will look for another place to stay. Yes, the location is great and yes, the views are spectacular, but there have been quite a few changes that cause concern. First, when we checked in, they only gave us one key card, stating that the key locks are broken and having a second key will disengage the locks. That is difficult for us as one gets out early for sunrise photos over the bay. The next day, they delivered a second key and both worked fine, well... until our last day. We got out early for a before sunrise walk on the beach across the street, but forgot something in the room. Neither of our keys worked. Went to the front desk, it was closed until 7:00 am. I waited. They finally showed up but asked if I could wait until she made the coffee. No, I cannot wait. She blamed the keys not working on us. "They must have been next to your cell phones, she said". No, we don't store the key cards next to cell phones for that reason, and each was stored in a different location. When she finally checked them, they showed expired. They were turned off before check out time. Quite an inconvenience! In addition, one elevator was broken the first two days. This made for some very long waits. Also, breakfast has been reduced to bagels and cereal. Only fruit available was bananas and say good-bye to the waffles. They are no longer available. When we inquired about the changes, we were told that breakfast is being eliminated all together. They want you to eat next door in Flippers. If you see this place, it is no bigger than a postage stamp. There are seriously long wait times for mediocre food. There is no way they can accommodate breakfast for the number of guests at Lovers Key. And it is not exclusive to the resort guests. There were problems finding parking spots every day and now that Flippers offers valet parking, that caused a worse problem since a lot of parking spaces were blocked for valet only. They ran out of towels at the pool every day. The cleanliness factor was the worse we have seen in 5 years. The room was not kept clean and if the cleaning service took your extra towels, you never got them back. The Wi-Fi service was down. Don’t let the name fool you. This is no resort. Although the prices are resort like, other than the incredible views, it is not worth the money they charge to stay here. Sorry to report this less than stellar rating, but we were very disappointed with our visit this year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ga_travel_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Unit #1205 is on the 12th floor, with direct views of Estero Bay and across the road from the Lovers Key state park and Gulf of Mexico. Very quiet, pretty, nice balcony and views. As others have noted, this is a condo building, so services are not like a hotel's, but there is an office and they are helpful. Very hotel firm king-size bed, which I liked but my wife found a bit too firm. You'll see dolphins and manatees from your room. Very nice pool area with many loungers. No sun until about noon at pool in March. Nice sunset views from the balcony. Pleasant, comfortable fold-out couch and furnishings in room. Like a hotel in that not much beyond linens and towels are provided. The Lovers Key state park across the street (about a 3 minute walk) is marvelous: much wildlife (pelicans, egrets, isis and many other birds), very clean beach areas, great shells. There's a tram that will take you through the park from one area to another, though if you have a few hours you could walk the beach and interior portions. Park and Estero Bay offer kayak rentals, as well as other boating options. Other than the restaurant right by the pool, no dining or store options you can walk to, although there are newspaper boxes on the grounds if you still like your news old school, as I do. Fort Myers Beach is 5 minutes away walking; the wilder end of Fort Myers Beach a 15 minute drive. You would need a rental car here, though there is bus service. Very good area for runners who like to run on beach, as both the state park and Fort Myers beach are accessible by foot in a few minutes. State Park requires a $2 fee whenever you enter. All in all a very good location and experience: scenic, great natural beauty and recreational activities nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chucketal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was our second visit to lovers key we stayed 6 nights from the beginning of march 2012. Stayed in room 705 on the 7th floor which was out of this world I was so happy with our room that I almost burst into tears! The Views were stunning we saw many Dolphins swim past from our room and the balcony. The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable we couldn't have been happier. The staff were lovely and very accommodating. Pool clean and great. Hot tub fab! Didn't use Flippers this time as it was very busy and there was an hours wait to get a table! Only dissapointment was the breakfast but that certainly wouldn't stop us going again. The hotel is in a perfect location just slightly out of Fort Myers away from all the hussle and bustle which suits us down to the ground. if your into birds and wildlife It,s really not going to get much better than this. Only been home a day and can't wait to go back! I really can't recommend Lovers key highly enough!

Room Tip: Good all round views from the hotel. But I would highly recommend the bayside for extra special view...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Double check your reservation before you arrive! I made reservations through their website six weeks before our arrival. Somehow they had the wrong dates for my arrival even though I had a copy of my reservation and confirmation number. The people were extremely rude and not helpful. We had to drive into Fort Myers Beach and find a place when the Island was very busy. I have no interest in staying here!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We had considered getting a room in one of the hotels closer to the Fort Myers Beach pier but, having had our days at Fort Lauderdale during spring break long past, wanted something more sedate. This place fit the bill. I should note, this is NOT a hotel per se, rather a rental condo building so there are few services that one would expect from a hotel. In short, you should expect to get your own food or go out. The pool is unsupervised and there are no real kid friendly activities that we could see (thank god). The place is definitely populated by the retired crowd. As well, there is no real beach worth considering attached to the property so if beachfront is your wish, don't go here.

The sunsets from our room (west facing obviously) were spectacular and the place was quiet for sleeping, even though not far from the road and bridge. It was a short walk to the Lover's Key state park north beach - nice but no amenities. $2 per person entry fee. We then went to the main park entrance and trolleyed to the main beach where there were washrooms, food services and umbrella/chair rentals. Enjoyed the day.

It is a fair drive into the main town of Fort Myers beach - but that was not really a problem except at rush hour when the traffic seemed to be lined up for miles. But you can go the other way to Bonita Beach just as easily as the other. We also went to the Edison/Ford winter house estate museum. A little pricey for what it is but enjoyed the grounds and the history. Not much else to do besides that - and go to the beach.

We went for a dinner at the on-property - but publicly accessible - restaurant - Flippers. It was quite good and the food was more than fine. I have done a separate review of it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigsterToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,656 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,823 reviews
6.1 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#17 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
393 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,599 reviews
5.3 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovers Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Key Resort

Address: 8771 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-5127
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: £115 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovers Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the islands of Southwest Florida is a tropical oasis known for its impeccable beauty and amazing wildlife. Escape to an intriguing island getaway where dreams become reality. •Situated on a small almost private island •Centrally located between Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach, Bonita Springs and Naples. •Breathtaking Views of Estero Bay, Lovers Key State Park, Gulf of Mexico •Adjacent to Lovers Key State Park with unspoiled beaches and secluded hideaways •Featured with Lovers Key State Park as number 4 on the Travel Channel's Top Ten Florida Beaches •Of course, we can't forget to mention our sensational SW Florida sunsets and star gazing in the evenings from your private balcony. See for yourself why our guests consider us their personal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lovers Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovers Key Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lovers Key Beach Hotel
Beach Key Lover
Hotel Lovers Key Beach
Lovers Key Beach Florida
Lover Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing