We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for nature nerds”
Review of Lovers Key Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lovers Key Resort
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2010

My sister and I travel to Ft Myers often and we found this place while staying at another hotel. We spent most of our time on or near the hotel looking at the wildlife, The hotel overlooks an area frequented by dolphins. We also enjoy a variety of birds and an occasional manatee swimming by. For wildlife nerds like us it is heaven, the kids love the pool we also spend a lot of time across the street shelling in the state park. Do need a car because it is secluded (hence the abundant wildlife) nice people rooms are fine but the view is outstanding.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
Thank circe1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2010

We stayed at LKR in suite 12XX. This floor was near the top of the building – only the penthouse floor was above us. Our view was to the west and we had sun most of the day. The view was absolutely fabulous!! We could see the south end of Estero Island (aka Ft Myers Beach) and the Key stretching to Ft Myers and the Gulf.
The resort is a top-notch, upscale vacation destination. LKR is operated as a hotel/condo rental. We leased our one bedroom suite from Distinctive Beach Rentals and would recommend you do the same. Attentive to details with lots of differing properties to choose from, they are customer orientated and a treat to do business with.
The resort has a huge pool and a nearby hot tub/spa. Lots of decking and deckchairs along with a rock fountain make for a pleasant sun experience. The resort is on the inland, key-side and doesn’t have much of a beach especially at high tide. But no matter because Lovers Key State Park is right across the road with miles of white sand beaches for walking, fishing, sunning, swimming and boating.
Also attached to LKR is Flippers Restaurant and Bar, a nice seafood-orientated eatery that is outdoors on a covered deck. Food was good and service was commendable. Expect to pay resort menu prices with most grouper entrees at market price. Can’t beat the view if waterfront dining is your desire.
Our suite was a one-bedroom, one-bath unit. The living/dining/kitchen area was combined into one. LARGE door walls opened onto a full-span balcony. The bedroom also had a full span door wall, and sported a king-size bed. The bath had a large combo whirlpool tub and shower that could easily accommodate a small crowd. Décor was tropical and the kitchen was well-stocked, albeit a bit small. Furnishings were up-to-date with no signs of wear and may have even been new.
LKR is a great choice for a Florida vacation. Close to Ft. Myers and Naples, there are tons of places to visit and sight-see. The condos are very comfortable and provide good value along with excellent location! Location! Location!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spyglasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

My wife and myself spent 8 days on the 11th floor for Christmas,The condo was booked with J E resorts. I cannot say enough about Jorge his wife & staff. They were extremely accommodating with all my requests.The condo was very clean and well decorated.The location was great,It overlooked the east side of Estero Bay.The Bay had alot to offer with daily views of dolphins playing and the Manatees swimming and feeding,Not to mention plenty of water fowl .The resort was very peaceful & quiet,The staff at the resort & Flippers(on property restaurant) were very freindly.GREAT PINA COLADAS,There was also plenty of great fishing right at the condo on the small but functional beach.The boat dock was a perfect place for the variety of Florida native fish to feed and hide by the pilings.Lovers Key state park,which by the way is one of Floridas Most Beautiful Beaches is within walking distance of the resort! The resorts pool was great, also the hot tub!! We enjoyed relaxing in the pool and the hot tub every evening.The location was perfect.,It was far enough away from the crowded Beach locations but close enough to enjoy everything FT Myers Beach has to offer,Great dining,Great Beaches ,Great people&,Great bars.It is a short drive to the lovely Sanibel Island/Captiva,also close to fine shopping locations in Bonita Springs,Naples & surrounding areas.It is also very close to the airport.We will enjoy this property again in the near future.There is also the possibility I will purchase a Condo of my own at this resort.To sum it all up .WE DEFINITELY ENJOYED THIS STAY !!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ponchogto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

Location is great, practicaly in the middle of a state park and Bonita Springs 15 easy minutes down the road for resturants and stores. Fantastic view of bay and gulf from our 6th floor. Big suite, comfy beds and great balcony. For the outdoor inthusiast this is a great location. Enjoyed the beaches, fished out the back of the hotel beach and knocked em dead. The building is getting a little old and the pool area is small but nice. Breakfast is so so but the local is picture perfect. Flippers is fun for a meal then hit BS for other choices. If you want to go fishing stop in at "Master bait and tackle" in BS (Im not kidding, thats their name) and get a cheap trout rod/real a package of #2 snelled hooks, some sliding sinkers and a 5$ bag of frozen shrimp and youve got some of the funnist/cheapest entertainment around. A three day non resident licence is only $17! Its like fishing in a giant salt water aquirum around there, you never know what your gonna pull up and everything fights like crazy. Any way the wife and I had a blast sunning (lord I love that 80deg March weather coming from cold wet Oregon), fishing, eating, sleeping, reading, eating, napping. Did I mention the fishing? Next time will add an extra 4 days just to explore the shorelines with rod and reel. Fort Meyes insn't too far away and it would be worth taking in a Major leage spring training game next time where there. Bman

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bman4523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We celebrated our 35th anniversary at Lover's Key. The hotel has seen better times and looks seedy. The pool is much smaller than online pictures suggest, and the waterfall was not working when we were there. The staff was not friendly at all. That said, the view from our balcony of the Gulf and the dolphins frolicking in the bay was breathtaking. All in all, I have to say I would look elsewhere for accommodations if I return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieCincinnatiOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

This is a lovely resort, however, be careful when reserving rooms through agencies besides the Lovers Key Resort. We had also stayed here two years ago and were VERY satisfied with our room, which we booked through Lovers Key Resort. This year we reserved the room through JE Hotels and Resorts -- upon checking in, we found the complimentary breakfast and pool towels were not included with our booking (these are amenities that were included in our first stay). Although we did have wireless internet, the hotel computer was not available to us to print our boarding passes.
When booking the room through JE Hotels, the person informed me that since we were getting such a "great rate" we would have to pick up our key at one of the other hotels in the area -- and we had to drop them off there as well to check out (about two miles away from Lovers Key).

Besides that, Lovers Key Resort is a great place to stay, however, not all the rooms are luxurious. There are two room layouts -- we ended up with a room with a galley kitchen and a very small bathroom ... not convenient with a family of four adults (parents with two college-age childen). The room we stayed in two years ago was larger, had a full kitchen, and a very nice bathroom with a larger vanity and separate jacuzzi tub and shower.

The pool is great, and the people are friendly. I would stay again, but would make sure that the room I was booking had the larger bath and kitchen.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michiganders09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Lovers Key is a functional resort, but there is not much special here. Maintenance is average. The rooms are not the cleanest (mold in the shower). The exercise room is very nice. The pool is in the shade most of the day and nothing special.

We did LOVE access to the Lovers Key State Park across the road and walked on beaches and trails there every day.

BUT... be aware that the resort adds an $8 resort fee daily which they do not disclose on their Web site. And the Internet access is $12.95/day. We were told by two different desk assistants that there would be a special discount on the internet access, but on checkout the guy at the desk said he knew nothing about that and that he had "no ability" to change the rate. HUH? That's what people at the desk are supposed to do in settling charges.

So make sure you ask every question about the charges and don't believe anything you don't get in writing. Personally, I think the place is overpriced and borderline dishonest.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FargoNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,685 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,114 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
410 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,666 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovers Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Key Resort

Address: 8771 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-5127
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: £126 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovers Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the islands of Southwest Florida is a tropical oasis known for its impeccable beauty and amazing wildlife. Escape to an intriguing island getaway where dreams become reality. •Situated on a small almost private island •Centrally located between Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach, Bonita Springs and Naples. •Breathtaking Views of Estero Bay, Lovers Key State Park, Gulf of Mexico •Adjacent to Lovers Key State Park with unspoiled beaches and secluded hideaways •Featured with Lovers Key State Park as number 4 on the Travel Channel's Top Ten Florida Beaches •Of course, we can't forget to mention our sensational SW Florida sunsets and star gazing in the evenings from your private balcony. See for yourself why our guests consider us their personal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lovers Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovers Key Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lovers Key Beach Hotel
Beach Key Lover
Hotel Lovers Key Beach
Lovers Key Beach Florida
Lover Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing