We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms look like boats”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariner Boathouse Beach Resort
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
wilmington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“rooms look like boats”
Reviewed 30 September 2008

My wife, sister-in-law and mysely just spent 7 nights at this resort. The rooms look just like you are on a boat, with bunk beds in the kitchen built right into the wall, the kitchen table is attached to the wall with slide in cushion's.Both bathrooms are decorated with boat fixtures and the window's are port holes.My wife and i had a very cozy bedroom with plenty of space and my sister-in-law slept on a pull out couch on the other end of this condo. We had a full kitchen, and good size living room. The thing that we all liked was the good size screened in porch over looking the ocean, we spent many long nights sitting out there.
During the day after taking long walks on the beach collecting shells, we would just relax and sit out at the pool, for supper the resort had 4 gas grills that we used about 4 of the nights we were there, we would cook our food and just eat out on the screened in porch.They also offer a room with 6 washing machines, you supply the detergent, and 6 dryers, makes going home with dirty clothes, a breeze. Plenty of things to do away from the resort, grocery store right down the street, and plenty of other stores nearby. Over all we really enjoyed our stay here and would definetly go back.

  • Liked — the location and it was very quiet, and a great view from each place
  • Disliked — the lagoon in front of the ocean
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank oneeyeWilmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    9
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

My husband and I, daughter and her children stayed here for a week. Unfortunately, Tropical Storm Fay was on its way and we had to evacuate for a day and stay inland in Fort Myers. It rained for several days. Many of the other guests checked out and never came back. They were told to make their own arrangements when the resort suggested they evacuate. There were at most 3 families present during our stay so it was rather quiet. Flooding in the streets was relatively minor.

RCI was wonderful and offered to relocate us to another resort or give us back our deposit and use the week at another time. They were unable to relocate us to another resort since the storm covered most of Florida.

The bunk bed situation is suitable for those families with small children. Our 9 year old found the bottom bunk too closed in as there is not much space between the top of the mattress and the bottom of the upper bed.

The children enjoyed the pool and the beach when the weather was nice. The beach is a little walk from the resort and across a lagoon. They did not recommend walking across the lagoon that is right in front of the resort. There is a small playground area on the property as well as six cabanas. The Gulf of Mexico was not as tranquil as usual.

We ate at two good restaurants in Fort Myers: Lee Roy Selmons and Stir Crazy. Lee Roy Selmons has a wonderful family style special on Sundays - adults pay around $9 and children pay $6. You get to select two entrees, two sides, and a dessert to share. At Stir Crazy, you fill up a little wok with selected vegetables, seasonings, and sauces, and watch the cooks make your dish in front of you. There are also the usual chain restaurants - Red Lobster and Cracker Barrel, Hooters among others nearby.

Two outlet malls are within a half hour drive. There are several churches, miniature golf courses, and a Publix Supermarket nearby.

If you have a laptop, the resort now offers internet access. Otherwise, as one of the other reviewers mentioned, the library 4 miles away is the closest place to get online. The gameroom has a sitting area, small library, puzzles, and a ping pong table.

We would not come back to this resort because of the sleeping arrangements. We usually book a two bedroom resort but this resort was the only one available during the week we wanted. If you're looking for a quiet place, this may be the one for you. It has a nice view of the Gulf and sunsets.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The bunk beds
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Trinitytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We stayed at the Mariner Boathouse for a week through an exchange with Interval International. Its a small resort with one small pool and hot-tub. Plus things are the great view from each unit with a large balcony outside your living room. You walk out of the back gate and you are on a stretch of sand. If you then wade across the water - about ankle-knee high, you'll get to the main beach which is lovely with very clean sand. Lots of birds to watch out for and its on the quieter end of the island, so very peaceful. Ok now for the minus bits. We've stayed in some really nice places since buying our timeshare, but this wasn't one of them. This is very quirky (you're supposed to feel you're staying on a boat) with tiny shower (my husband had trouble standing up in the shower) and one tiny sink, with no storage, and small pokey bedroom, but we much prefer quality to quirky. There are two bathrooms but both are extremely small. The living room is a nice size but the furniture is really beginning to show its age and the towels are very poor quality. No safe that we could find or hair dryer though you could hire one if you went to the office. No internet access anywhere, you are told to go to the library if you need to use a computer. Only one lounger on the balcony, why not have two - there's plenty of room. No restaurant, just a pool bar which never seemed to be open. Had two good meals at Charlie's which isn't far from the resort and enjoyed walking on the beach. All in all a good vacation but would have been so much better with better quality accommodation. Would I go back, yes definately to the same area, but not to this resort I'm afraid.

  • Liked — On the beach with a great view from your balcony
  • Disliked — Very old furnishings, they've gone for quirky and not quality. Small pokey bathroom & shower
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PamandRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

First like to give high points to the staff (Debbie I think?), for coordinating daily crafts and activities for children (4-10 range). My 6 year old really looked forward to these activities, and they helped make his vacation memorable.

Pool area is very nice, equipped with several gas grills, shuffleboard, volleyball net, and hot tub. Took advantage of the outstanding view and sunset to prepare a grilled dinner in the pool area most evenings.

If you are looking for family oriented accomodations on a quiet beach, including a private pool with hot tub - would highly recommend the Mariner.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank tedstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2007

We stayed here for a week and I am planning on going back in Oct. 2007. Rooms were great, with two baths, 1 bedroom and large screened in terrace(they may call it something else) and full kitchen. Directly on the beach, beautiful shells and the people were top knotch friendly. Great family place or alone wth that special someone. I can't wait to return. This place is a keeper.

  • Liked — The staff, room & beach
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dormaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, Herts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2005

We stayed at the Mariners` Boathouse from 5th - 12th August. Due to some travel delays, we did not pitch up until midnight. There is not a 24 hour reception, but fortunately the resort had an effective system for room key collection out of hours.

The rooms follow a nautical theme complete with cabin bunks and bench seats in the dining room similar to those you could find on an old, ocean going liner. The kitchen is fairly compact by US standards but contained everything that we needed - oven, hob, microwave, double sink, dishwasher and coffee maker.

The master bedroom unusually did not have an en-suite bathroom. Instead, a small shower room/toilet was located opposite (this in addition to a separate family bathroom).

The lounge was a fair size and contained the obligatory double sofa bed and large TV complete with cable.

All the rooms face the Gulf and have a screened lanai from which we often watched the sun go down. Our apt (room 102) was on the first floor but still enabled viewing of the pool area, lagoon (containing egrets and spoonbills) and the Gulf.

Our big disappointment was that the pool bar was closed for refurbishment the week we stayed. As a result, and perhaps understandably the resort used this as an opportunity to give the entertainment rep, Debbie a week off as she based her activities from the bar. Speaking with some of the owner-guests, the activities seem most suitable for young children and involve arts and crafts, treasure hunts and make-your-own-smoothie sessions. These would have really appealed to our 6 year old daughter, Lily but didn`t stop her having fun in the pool with her new found american friends. This being said, we had booked the Mariners` partly because of the promise of an extensive activities programme. My dificulty is that we were told none of this prior to departure and I will be taking this up with the holiday company separately.

The pool was small and L-shaped with steps in the shallow end for the toddlers. On one day the pool was closed due to chlorine inbalance but fortunately we had already made plans to go out for that day.

The resort has a laundry room which is free to guests, adequate parking and limited leisure facilities such as shuffle board (whatever that is) a basic games room, rowing boats for the lagoon($5 hire) and a small playground.

The resort scores on two fronts. Firstly its location - at the quiet end of the island and right on the beach. This also brought nearby Bonita Springs with its better beaches a ltltle closer. We did rise early on a couple of mornings in order to go shelling. A walk through the pool area, through the gateand on to the beach, brief wade across the lagoon (knee high when the tide is out) and you are there.

The second plus is that it fosters an intimate atmosphere due to its size. We did make friends with most of the other guests and enjoyed an impromptu barbeque and drinks session one barmy evening.

I was a little disappointed with the seemingly uninterested receptionist (I think her name was Heather). She didn`t seem to have much knowledge of where to go locally either for recreation or a bite to eat. I felt as though I had more knowledge of the local area from my research on the Internet back in England prior to the trip.

This resort is currently being painted and the pool bar will now be open. We really enjoyed our week in Fort Myers Beach and would return to both the area and the resort.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
43 Thank dmhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers Beach
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,587 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bonita Resort & Club
Bonita Resort & Club
#1 of 1 in Survey Creek
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caribbean Beach
Caribbean Beach
#31 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bonita Beach Resort Motel
Bonita Beach Resort Motel
#10 of 15 in Bonita Springs
47 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pointe Estero Beach Resort
Pointe Estero Beach Resort
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
572 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carousel Inn on the Beach
Carousel Inn on the Beach
#26 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Boathouse Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Boathouse Beach Resort

Property: Mariner Boathouse Beach Resort
Address: 7630 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4916
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariner Boathouse Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boat Themed timeshare resort located on the gulf. All rooms are one bedroom, that will sleep six. All rooms experienced a renovation of kitchens and baths in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Mariner Boathouse Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner Boathouse Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Mariner Boathouse Beach Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing