We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable”
Review of Edison Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edison Beach House
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Edison this past week and enjoyed our stay. Here are the pros and cons from my families point of view.

The property is very clean and well run. It is very close to Times Square which has plenty of restaurants but we never to chose to eat any of them because we chose higher rated ones that we enjoyed very much but also had to drive to.

Housekeeping was very accommodating. We did not have to worry about towels, paper towels, coffee etc.

Parking is very convenient directly in front of the building.

The beds were very comfortable.

There is a public beach access right next to the property.

My highest priority on the beach is to have a chair and umbrella which the hotel provides but the chairs were useless. No one could sit on them they were of such poor quality and had a bar which dug into your back. Most of the umbrellas were broken. I went to the CVS to buy a few good quality chairs and an umbrella.

The pool is kept very clean but it is very, very small.

The room had the air conditioners that are just below the windows. We put the suitcase lid up to deflect the air from hitting us directly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lovetotravel2034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdisonBeachHouse, General Manager at Edison Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your great comments. We work hard to ensure that the hotel is the cleanest hotel in our area. We are sorry that you didn't find good chairs in our beach chair closet. The beach chair closet is filled with chairs and umbrellas that previous guests have left behind. We do not supply the chairs or umbrellas. They are also on a first come first serve basis. We do go through the closet once a week and throw away all the bad or broken chairs and umbrellas. Our pool is not the biggest pool on the beach but it is the right size for the size hotel we are. Our air conditioners do blow out nice cold air. We service them every 3 months to ensure that they run correctly and that they do not grow mold. The covers on them are adjustable so you can point the air up or down so it does not blow directly at you. Again we appreciate the nice comments and hope you choose to stay with us if you are ever in the Ft Myers Beach area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The location of Edison Beach House is great if you want to lounge or walk on beach. It also sits next to plenty of shops and restaurants. We stayed 3 nights in the 1 bedroom king apartment and enjoyed the beautiful beach view from our 3rd floor balcony. The king bed was comfortable. The pull out sofa bed not so comfy for our son (the mattress was very thin and too small for the frame). The air conditioning wall units were loud at times, especially noticeable at night while we tried to sleep. The kitchen was nicely equipped for us to prepare dinner. We even used the BBQ pit downstairs one night to grill steaks. The staff at Edison is very helpful, even giving us a complimentary bag at check-in filled with information of things to do in the area. After walking the beach for several miles each direction from Edison we felt we made the right choice. If we travel to Ft Myers in the future we will look into staying at Edison Beach House again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kiki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdisonBeachHouse, General Manager at Edison Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your great comments. We love getting comments on how nice and helpful the staff is. Those comments make all of the staff at the Edison Beach House work extra hard to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant and relaxing vacation. We are glad that you will stay with us again when you are in the Ft Myers area. Repeat customers and word of mouth is the best advertising a business could ask for. We are sorry for the uncomfortable pullout coach. We are replacing our pullout mattresses this summer so they should be more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent 2 nights in a B suite in May. Check-in was easy, tho' the Lady on reception (who had English as her first language) had problems with my Scottish accent - at one point I had to question what language I was actually speaking!!The room was nice and big and the balcony had a great view that took in the bridge, Times Square, the pier and the beach - fantastic! Plenty of space and good facilities, tho' the water pressure in the shower could have been better. A short walk took us to the pier and Times Square where there were lots of bars and restaurants. The pool was small but steps from the well kept beach. There was a convenience store across the road from the hotel, but if you can - stock up in a large supermarket before you get there as the small store wasn't great and a bit pricey! You can't fault the Edison Beach House for location, value and facilities - a great stay! Ooh! and you get fluffy dolphins in your starter bag!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritzf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdisonBeachHouse, General Manager at Edison Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your great comments. We all work hard to ensure that the Edison Beach House is the cleanest hotel around. We apologize for not being able to understand your Scottish accent. We will work harder to better understand our guests. Our location is one of the best on Ft Myers Beach. Our location and cleanliness help make us the best hotel on Ft Myers Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having vacationed many times in Fort Myers, we have never managed to find availability at the Edison, now we know why! Fantastic service right from the booking to check out. Ideally placed just a little stroll from Times Square and right on the beach. Rooms beautifully appointed and maintained. Everyone enjoys the gorgeous Gulf view - open views from from all units/balconies. Staff always friendly and helpful to a fault. Having washer and dryer in the suite was a god send as we were mid way through a multi centre holiday - even Tide was provided free of charge! The welcome pack was a lovely surprise - all in a handy beach bag. Although the hotel was full it seemed relaxed and uncrowded around the pool and no shortage of loungers. Can't wait to return - we love you Edison Beach House!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T&J46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdisonBeachHouse, General Manager at Edison Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your great comments. We are glad that you were finally able to stay with us. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Room was very clean. We really enjoyed having a full size kitchen, washer and dryer in the room. How convenient! Views from balcony were awesome, and just steps away from the beach. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location is quiet, yet just a stones throw away to all the shopping and restuarants. This place is a gem! We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdisonBeachHouse, General Manager at Edison Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for the great review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it as well as it helps future guests make their decision on where to stay on Ft Myers Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Wonderful location, stunning views of the beach, ocean and pier. The staff we gracious, polite and extremely helpful even providing us with a welcome pack that even included a soft toy :) No issue with allowing us to check out later, yet stay on the premises in order to make use of the WiFi. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views, but some offer balconies right at the front ofthe hotel and therefore have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHIVA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdisonBeachHouse, General Manager at Edison Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for the great review and the great comments. The word of mouth recommendations that we get from our guests are priceless and we appreciate all that our guests have said about us over the years. Again thank you for the great comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just returned from Edison Beach House and can't wait to go back. The location to Times Square is perfect. 7-Eleven right across the street for essentials. Pool location right at the beach made it so convenient to run down to the water, but return to the pool and lounge chairs for more comfortable seating than on the sand. Room was clean and well stocked with kitchen essentials. Super friendly staff that was very accommodating and even kept an eye on our bags in the lobby after checkout while we went for lunch before being picked up for the airport. Our new favorite place!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mel_Mo_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdisonBeachHouse, General Manager at Edison Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your great comments. The staff at the Edison Beach House work very hard to ensure that our guests have the best possible vacation they can have. We look forward to your return visit to our hotel and we guarantee that the Edison Beach House will be as perfect as it was during your first visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,907 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,757 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tiki On The Beach
Tiki On The Beach
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#16 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
474 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edison Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison Beach House

Address: 830 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: £150 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edison Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Edison Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Beach House Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Edison Beach Hotel
Edison Beach Fort Myers
Edison Beach House Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing