We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING RESORT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING RESORT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

I recently spent a girls weekend at the Sandpiper. I have absolutely nothing but praise for this resort. When you have a group of ladies together, I'm sure you can imagine that we could be a bit needy. The staff was unbelievable and accomodated all our requests. The rooms were fantastic - very clean and so comfortable. Both our rooms had a great kitchenette with a full size fridge so that was an added plus. It really fit all our needs perfectly. The resort is right on the beach. The beach is spectacular with white sand that was so nice to walk on. The Sandpiper is coveniently located on the strip, close to grocery and restaurants. The staff recommended Junkaroos for dinner and it was AMAZING. I will most definitely stay here again and soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoniLynn333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    210
    40
    20
    7
See reviews for
317
301
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

From beginning to end, everything about the Sandpiper perfectly suited our trip. We will be back - hopefully soon! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbbaker00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

We recently stayed at the Sandpiper Gulf Resort this weekend for a mini Girls get-a-way. Not only was the Hotel stay there beautiful but the staff was extremly accomodating in so many ways which made our trip a lifetime of memories to share! I highly recommend your stay here at the Sandpiper, the beaches are amazing, soft white sand and the accomodations and recommended resturaunts were wonderful! Did I say the Sunsets were "Priceless" too! I plan to bring my family here in the Summer, what a great place to go for some R and R and fun in the Sun!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABozgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redbourn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

We have recently returned after spending 15 days at the "Sandpiper Gulf Resort" and I can not believe that we stayed at the same place as "junezeln" (17 Feb 2011) !! Our experience was the same as that enjoyed by the majority of people who stay at the Sandpiper .... and was nothing like that enjoyed by "junezeln" !!

We found the place to be extremely clean and well maintained ... but, of course, you will always have the odd minor problem !! In our case it was the fridge which woke us in the middle of the night making a noise like an alarm clock, but a call to Reception next mormning and it was fixed within the hour !

The other thing that pleased us about the place was the friendliness and assistance received from the staff. They advised us on the local restaurants and those which they recommended and I must say that the ones we tried lived up to their recommendations!

The Sandpiper is ideally located on the beach and is about three miles from downtown Fort Myers Beach and we found that the higher the number in the address on Estero Boulevard the better was the quality of property. In our humble opinion we though that the downtown area was a bit "naff" !

The biggest problem of staying at a high number on Estero Blvd is the three mile drive to get off the island at the north end of the island. The traffic can be horrendous around 9.00 am and again at 3.oo pm when it can take as long as 45 minutes to do the 3 miles!! To overcome this problem we always drove south and over the southern bridge into Bonita Springs and then over to Interstate 75 freeway and drive north on I 75. It is more miles but it is easier on the stress and frustration!!

One thing we were not pleased about during our stay at the Sandpiper was the U.S. Postal Service collection practice ! They collect the mail from a small metal mail box which stands on a pole ..... you open the door to the box and insert your mail into it and then close the door. Then you raise a small "flag" on the side of the box which the postman sees when he passes and he stops to collect the mail ... in theory !! Not one of our postcards has been received by our friends and family !! So my advice is - "If you want your mail to stand the best chance of arriving at the destination, then drive the odd mile up the road to the Post Office and hand it in !!

All in all, the Sandpiper was extremely good and already we are planning to make a return trip there next February !!

Eric Ditchfield
Redbourn, U.K.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ditchy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

We arrived at 10am to check in knowing they would probably not be ready early and were told nothing is available before 4pm. We convinced them to take our phone number "in-case". We asked if we could at least put food in the fridge - no the staff doesn't like it. At 4pm we were told nothing was ready yet and it would be at least another hour. Explaining we had a dinner meeting to attend and really needed to clean up first, we were told by the staff was working as fast as they could. We commiserated with 4 other guests also waiting to check in. We were allowed into our room just after 5pm (before the others waiting) and reminded that check out was promptly at 11am (your electronic key is turned off). Not sure why promptly at 11am as the staff did not enter the room to clean it for us until after 4:15pm - we were watching! The people we were meeting for dinner had checked in the night before and their room was not cleaned until after 6pm that day. The next morning we were woken just before 8 as the staff was setting up the sales products on the beach with a tractor followed by the power washing of the pool area so don't plan to sleep in here. We called the front desk to check on the best way to print out boarding pass for departure and were told to hurry down as they could help us right now but they were going to get very busy and it wouldn't be convenient later. Loading our car by 11am to depart as instructed was challenging because we had to work around the staff vehicles as they loaded and unloaded work. We had to ask multiple people to find the correct staff person to move their vehicle so that we could depart as instructed.
This is not the way this place used to be operated and we are very sorry to these changes. The location is terrific, the views wonderful, the rooms ok however the kitchenette is lacking. But premium rates with poor staff is not a bargain when there are so many other options available on the same beach for better prices.
We will not be returning after 4 years of being here and watching the service and details go downhill dramatically.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwithp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regionalmanager, VP Resort Division at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2011
Dear CWITHP

It is unfortunate that you didn't feel you received the exceptional service that so many before and after your stay reported.

I questioned the front desk staff and GM to see if they remembered a guest that had reported having issues as you mentioned on your Trip Advisor review and they were not familiar with your myriad of issues reported.

I certainly would have preferred if you had reported your issue to Mr. Montoya the GM and we might have been able to resolve your dilemma before we tainted a 4 year relationship with a repeat guest.

I have overseen the Sandpiper as part of my Florida Resort division since Feb of 2005 and although I don't spend a great deal of time at the front desk I would have been more than happy to discuss your issues as would have my GM.

My concern is that many issues you mentioned are services we provide routinely for our guests without being prompted for example early check in (if the room is ready), taking your cell phone number to contact you when the room is ready, use of the facilities while you wait and even the storage of refrigerated items in one of our two common refrigerators.

I see to it that formal ongoing training is done with our various resort staff and by reviewing the other more favorable reviews we receive it seems to be working.

You mentioned about staff vehicles being in the way or cleaning of pool desks at 8am being an annoyance. Unfortunately we have to have the two pools open by 9am each morning and as you were well aware we had upwards of 300 people using our facility during this peak time of year so keeping it clean is a necessary task. We wait until 8am even though the city ordinance allows for this type of work as early as 7am so that our guests are not disturbed. Also the units have hurricane rated doors and windows so the noise should have been minimal had you slept with the sliders closed. Our check in time is as soon as the unit is ready or by 4pm. Sometimes there are issues with a unit, or a volume of cleaning that prevents us from getting everyone in by that time. In those cases we would have offered to compensate you in a reasonable fashion for the delay.

My e-mail is Plandis@tcgr.com if you would like to discuss your issues further or you feel I need to address specific employees that will make the vacation experience better for all.


Perry Landis
VP Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxxxx
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Excellent value and location. Clean and friendly staff. We loved the pools and the white sandy beach at your toes. Stayed in room 240, big, full kitchen and all updated. Comfortable beds too! Publix and CVS are close by and you are away from the crazy downtown noise.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddavis1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

My sisters and I wanted to book a quick 4 night 5 day trip to our favorite beach. I searched online and found Sandpiper. It fit all of our needs. It was conveniently located on the strip, close to grocery and restaurants. It offered everything we needed, kitchenette, pool and it's right on the beach. We aren't high maintenance and just wanted to get away for a few days. We enjoyed it very much.The staff was very friendly! The rooms were a little outdates (carpet and window treatments, but who stays in the room when they're on vacation?! I will stay here again! Our favorite part was having the resort right on the beach!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SISTERACT_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Property: Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4196
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf
Sandpiper Gulf Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing