We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ossipee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We found this hotel from Tripadvisor and stayed here because it had good reviews and it is located right on the beach. The room was clean and he staff was friendly. We swam in the pool, cooked out on the grill and walked down to the beach every day, it was perfect. The location is great if you want to be located directly on the beach. We will definitely stay here again when we back to Fort Meyers.

Room Tip: We liked our first floor room facing to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    212
    40
    20
    7
See reviews for
319
305
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My wife and I were in Ft. Myers for business / weekend away. Our stay at the Sandpiper was wonderful. Had a 2nd floor poolside room and could still see the gulf. Loved sleeping with the patio doors open and hearing the surf. Very nice staff. Super clean. Beach is very clean and wide - great for taking a long walk. Love the layout of the hotel with its pool and courtyard surrounded by the building on three sides and the beach on the fourth. Very quiet and relaxing. We enjoyed staying on the southern part of the island. Bed was not super comfortable, but not horrible. You have to drive to eat or grocery, but not far. Will definitely stay here again if given the chance to come back to Ft. Myers Beach. Note that they charge your credit card for the whole rest of your stay at check-in time - would have been nice to know that ahead of time.

Room Tip: Next time I would spend extra $ to get beach front and be able to watch sunset from balcony. But poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Spent 5 nights at the Sandpiper Resort on October 16-21, 2012. Was a great place!
Decided to upgrade to oceanfront room. We were on the northside, 3rd floor. Great view.
However, since the sun comes directly in every day, the room tends to heat up quickly. Good room-darkening curtains they have had to be pulled closed daily to keep the room adequately cool. I was hot during the night, since the bed was furthest away from the AC unit in the kitchen.
Sheets on the bed were heavy and hot. Kitchen was great. Large microwave oven over the cooktop. Full-sized refrigerator for families. Bathroom shower was excellent. There is no elevator for the third floor, but stairs were safe to up barefoot.
All in all, my husband and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Next time I would choose the ground floor, oceanfront and on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dorlerrauh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We had such a relaxing and enjoyable week in FMB (except the pesty noseeums) and the Sandpiper Resort was a very good choice. We had never been to FMB before so picked the Sandpiper randomly. We asked for a room overlooking the ocean and the Sandpiper delivered. It was quiet at this end of the beach which was heavenly. The only complaint I have was the noise, the hotel was doing off-season maintenance so every day there were maintenance men working with a noisy machine someplace. But it didn't deter me from sitting by the pool and reading. The hotel room is big with a kitchenette - the room was clean and nicely decorated and very comfortable. The balcony overlooking the ocean was a wonderful PLUS and we watched a beautiful sunset every night. We had early check-in and late check-out with NO problems.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My parents always stayed at the Sandpiper when were children so I was excited to be there with my own family. We stayed in a court side room next to the pool, which was perfect with a little one who has a fondness for swimming. It was also nice to be so close to the beach. The staff was wonderful, even mailing an item to us that got left behind.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennE34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

we stayed at the Sandpiper on advice from others and Expedia review. Beachfront room w/great view and wonderful weather. We will be going back next year. Near family but had time for ourselves. We were told that September is a very quiet month there, we will probably go end of Sept for more peace and quiet. The beaches are beautiful and clean and great for walking or even bike riding and there are many birds to watch from thr beach or room balcony.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eam1417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Arrived a bit early for check-in and this wasn't a problem. The room and equipement were very clean and in working order. The bathroom and its fixtures were very clean and was equipped with all the appropriate amenities. Entire staff was friendly and helpful. Excellent value for the dollar. Am looking forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Property: Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4196
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf
Sandpiper Gulf Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing