We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a balcony room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed at the Sandpiper unexpectedly because they very nicely could accommodate us when our booked hotel lost our reservation... (yea, it happens). Sandpiper was PERFECT and there was a beautiful sunset that night, so all ended well. Best part: we were in room 404, in the side building, facing the Gulf, with large balcony. If you are counting on seeing the Ft. Myers sunsets on a trip, I feel it would be worth it to make sure you reserve (and pay for!) one of the beach facing rooms or suites. Only odd feature in our room was the window to the hallway, very close to the bed, and the louvered shades do not keep out the hall light.

Room Tip: 404 - 4th floor on the side building, facing ocean with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanmassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

Due to a weather delay in Minneapolis (shocking for winter, I know!) we did not arrive at the Sandpiper until a bit after 2a. However, we were happily greeted by their security who helped find us a parking spot, and asked if we wanted to know anything about the hotel. We were wide awake and willing to check things out so he gave us a run down of the place and our room - wonderful!

The hotel has everything you need for a short or long stay. Full size fridge, microwave, stove top and all the cooking tools you could need. There is a grocery store within .5-1mi away. The beds were comfy and we had plenty of room for our things and for moving around. We had a courtyard room overlooking the pool, but the balcony is huge and you can easily see the ocean/watch the sunset from there.

The beachfront area is fabulous with opportunity to rent lounge chairs, umbrellas, and mini tables for a low cost. The gentlemen running this were great and helped us out with dining suggestions as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This time, though, we got a sea-view room with a huge balcony.. The room is large, clean, with well equiped kitchenette. The "private" beach is not crowded. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Good wifi reception.

There is no dining facility and the pool is a bit small.

Room Tip: To get a good price and a seaview room, you must book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praguercz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Booked this property from the reviews on tripadvisor.com and they were correct! The views from the beachfront rooms are amazing. Great sunsets, the property is clean and well taken care of. Love, love the wristbands you wear to enter/exit the property and your rooms. No keycards to mess with!

The rooms were well equipped with coffee maker, toaster, dishes and utensils. We chose to take a quick ride down the street to a Publix and buy our breakfast and a few snacks. It was lovely to just wake up and enjoy coffee on the deck! This is not a 5 star property and the decor a little dated, yet the cleanliness and efficiency of the property make up for the age. The beachfront rooms only have two double beds, so for a couple the sleeping is not the best (if you are used to a bigger bed). The beds were very comfortable though!

The front desk was able to accommodate a later check out on Sunday, which was really appreciated.

We would definitely stay here again and really enjoyed our weekend filled with great memories ... we got engaged right on the beach on Saturday morning! Thanks Sandpiper. Keep up the great resort!

Room Tip: Definitely spend the extra per night and stay beachfront. The beachview was very nice too but on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fernsandflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Congratulations on your engagement! We are so honored that you chose to stay at our resort for your special weekend. Enjoy the planning of your wedding and we will see you again at the Sandpiper!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We booked The Sandpiper Gulf Resort online for a week's getaway. This place went
way beyond our expectations. I can't think of a better place to be on that gorgeous
Ft. Myers Beach. It is right ON the Beach. Our room was beautiful and clean and
accommodating. It had a mini-kitchen with a full refrigerator so we could make some
meals to cut down costs. Publix Grocery Store close along with more noisy party center down the road for night activity. There is a trolley right in front of the place that will take you
there and back. Also a Dog Racing Track about 20 min. down the road in Bonita
Springs.
The staff was so friendly and helpful about everything. The resort is
beautiful with excellent pools (one adult) and the landscaping is out of this world.
It is truly a little piece of paradise. It does not have a bar or restaurant but if it
did you'd never leave the place. This way you get out and about. We did find
a Green Bay Packer bar quite close by and we did have an awesome afternoon
there.
Some nice things about the place: They make coffee in the Lobby every morning
and you can bring your coffee pot down and fill it up. There is a computer in the
lobby to check your emails or print off Boarding Passes. There are grills in the
courtyard for your use. They have restaurant coupons at the front desk.
Also, a shuffleboard game in the courtyard.
We highly recommend this place and we will definitely be back.
Thank you Sandpiper Gulf Resort .

Room Tip: The front rooms facing the beach cost a bit more but may definitely be worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Our family of 4, including two young children, stayed at this resort for four nights. Our room included two double beds, a TV, a comfortable sofa sleeper, table and chairs, as well as a full size fridge, microwave and 2 burner stove. Our room was very clean and housekeeping came each day midday to do basic cleaning and give us fresh towels. The bathrooms have been redone since we were here couple years ago. There is a well kept pool for everyone to enjoy and another adult only pool. We had a pool side room, on first floor. We walked out our door and could see the ocean and the pool. We were VERY close to the Gulf of Mexico and a beautiful beach. This was our second time here and we will return again. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Pool side first floor is GREAT if you have kids. If you want ocean side rooms, request a second or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superschoolteacher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

as a Sr. Class Sponcer we went to the resort...they were VERY WELCOMEING!! even with H.S. Seniors they gave us the respect that we deserved during Spring BReak :-) and we ALL had a BLAST!! GORGIOUs resort~beaches are the best I have ever seen! went Parasailing~Jet Skiing which was right next to resort and easy to do...walking distance to TONS of activies~stores and dineing FuN!~ even had BBQs in court yard for all to enjoy and use.court yard was GORGIOUS and had shuffle boards.

Room Tip: the outside top floor ~corner suites... the BEST!!! you could see court year and beach all the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,701 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,120 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,867 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Outrigger Beach Resort
Outrigger Beach Resort
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4196
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: £110 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf
Sandpiper Gulf Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing