We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Inn(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Harbor Suites(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Beach Resort(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Stay Vacations(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
Carousel Inn on the Beach(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tiki On The Beach(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gulfview Manor Resort(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Inn(Fort Myers Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveller rating
551
226
50
23
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
226
50
23
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadult poolfamily poolbeach frontsister propertyfull size refrigeratorbeach bagbeachfront roomno elevatorbeautiful beachfirst floorjet skimid islandfree coffeetwo double bedsgrocery storestove topdolphin tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 858 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We have been staying at the Sandpiper a couple times a year for some time now. We've stayed in all of the buildings. This time we stayed in the Tower because it was advertised as handicap accessible since I am now using a walker. This is a misnomer for several reasons--only a few handicap parking spaces (usually taken), no shower chair, no seat or vanity stool at the bathroom sink to name the more glaring ones. It is still a lovely place with a great view from our large balcony, but we'll have to look elsewhere next time. If you are healthy and mobile this fine--if not. well..... Also is there no ice machine in the Tower. Our freezer barely worked and this was very inconvenient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 196Gayel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The Sandpiper Gulf Resort is an excellent choice for a beach vacation! Its all about the location. The resort is directly on great strip of white soft sugar sandy beach (and the building is very near the water, so you are not walking 1/4 mile every time you go back to your room). When we were there in early December, we were treated to wild dolphins playing and feeding near shore every day, with pelicans swooping and diving for fish all around... very fun to watch. Beach umbrella and 2 chairs can be rented for $13/day, and jet skis are also on property for rent at $79/hr for resort guests. There are also jetski dolphin tours that run from there. Weather was in the 80s nearly every day, so we enjoyed the 2 pools as well as the gulf.

The property is a little older but nicely maintained and clean. Room was plenty for 2, and would be adequate for 4, crowded for 6. Full fridge was nice and 2 burner electric stove was fine, toaster and cooking/eating utensils provided. Nice balcony from which to view sunsets. BBQ and shuffleboard free for use, and refreshed pool/beach towels were available for the taking. Complimentary coffee was available every morning near the lobby.

The resort is 'mid-island' and quiet, though the hot spot section is only about 2 miles north up the strip if you want lots of restaurants and bars. There is a Publix grocery store only 1 mile away to stock up your fridge, and a CVS pharmacy 1 mile to the south. There is no restaurant or fitness center on site, but the resort partners with The Pink Shell resort on the very north end of the island for those things... a little inconvenient if you are used to using fitness machines for your workout. I chose to walk/run the beach instead.

Fort Myers Beach is great for relaxing, but keep in mind if you want mall shopping or a big theater you'll need to drive 30-40 minutes.

I would recommend this resort as a good value and will certainly consider returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pschonschack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Sandpiper Gulf Resort was a lovely hotel located directly on Fort Myers Beach with all of the amenities that I needed. We were greeted cordially and shown to our room with assistance. The room was spacious with two televisions, comfortable bed and separate living area. The view of the beach from the balcony was just wonderful and the walking on the beach was a great way to unwind. It was a quiet and romantic holiday getaway that was truly needed and I would recommend it highly. There were many restaurants and shops nearby with friendly and welcoming staff.

Room Tip: I took my French coffee press and own coffee. Coffee is served daily at the lobby and there was a 4 cup coffee maker in the room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLL1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was a return trip to the Sandpiper. We first stayed around the mid 90’s and liked the experience so much that we’ve since stayed at other places in the same area and various other gulf resorts on what must be seven or eight occasions.
An apartment overlooking the beach suits us perfectly. Miles of white sand, blue seas, watching the sun set with a glass or two of California’s finest. Pelicans skimming the surf and sandpipers escorting you along the beach on that morning stroll. Even having breakfast whilst watching the occasional dolphin or three just off the beach.
Well, all of that was present this time but time has not been good to the Sandpiper – at least not to our beachfront room. Perhaps we have got used to better things over the years but we were very disappointed. The decor was at best 80’s or early 90’s. It had that knocked about feel. Little things didn’t work or were temperamental. The cooker (not that we used it) looked dangerously past its best for example.
The staff were great and we’d give a special thanks to Sandy. I suppose I would sum it up by saying that we enjoyed our stay but not the Sandpiper accommodation. It destroyed some great memories.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trekker512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The family spent four days at this resort in july 2013. The staff were showed first class hospitality and the room - well, what can we say other than; fantastic! Top floor, large room for the four of us, a balcony with the best view in the Gulf....
The beach was excellent - with potential for water sports at location. We had a fun half day exploring the mangroves by jet skies - highly recommendable :-)
All in all a "must stay" resort. If possible - we will come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews