We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandpiper Gulf Front spectacular beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I stayed Feb. 2014. Rooms had full kitchens and sitting area plus a patio. Only steps to a gorgeous beach with watersports rentals on the property. Two nice pools, one for adults only which was peaceful. Excellent experience and highly recommend. The only criticism I have is the traffic along Ft. Meyers beach is horrible in February.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebWiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

After reading all the wonderful reviews we booked three nights for late January. We had a beach front room with a wonderful view of the beach which is the only nice thing I can say about our room. The place is outdated and badly in need of new carpet and drapes and beds. Both double beds were uncomfortable the mattress pad was old and would not stay on the bed. The front of the cupboards in the little kitchen area were sticky and dirty. The dishes in the cupboard were the same I rewashed the ones we used. The second night we were there we saw a rat in the pool. When there is one rat I am sure there are more. we asked for a refund for our last night, the staff were very nice about it and promptly granted our request. Ft Meyers beach is crowded and the traffic is horrible. Overall poor experience. Save your money and go up to Punta Gorda and stay in one of the beautiful hotels on the Charlotte Harbor we did and it was wonderful.

Room Tip: Just keep driving
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jilly618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We booked 4 nights at the Sandpiper on fairly short notice. Our unit was a ground floor beachfront room. There were 2 double beds, which in future we will avoid as it was just too small for comfort. The kitchen area is small, there were 2 burners, a microwave and a full size fridge. It is better equipped for snack preparation rather than full meal preparation.

The best feature was large patio with 2 loungers, 2 chairs and 2 side tables. (Upper units had only 2 chairs and one table.) Though, during most of the day there would be little shade on the patio.

We found that the drapes could do with a good washing and that the area under the beds are infrequently vacuumed.

The beach is wonderful, great for walking and shell collecting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Sandpiper is like a home away from home. The staff is always friendly and the rooms are keep clean.
Hot coffee and tea is always available by the pool area.
The beach and the pool area are clean and never to crowded even in the high season.
The Staff at the Sandpiper are all professional people. Kelly, Angel, Eric, Tim & Mike always make us feel welcome and at home.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jtejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was our 2nd stay here and we hope to return again next year. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially Tim. The beach is wonderful and the resort is very nice and relaxing. Happy hour at The Beached Whale has great Mussels and flatbreads, SOB (Smoked Oyster Bar) is another great place to eat. The trolley service to Times Square was the only disappointment as it was late.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We drove over to Ft Myers Beach, with no reservations for New Year's Eve, figuring we'd find something. We usually stay closer to the pier, but, nothing available. We had seen some vacancies coming in from the South, so, we started back down. One of the extended rental properties, sorry, can't remember which one, recommended that we check out the Sandpiper. So friendly and inviting! We lucked out, got the last room, which was on the second floor with two double beds, and VERY well-priced for anytime but especially for a holiday. They have two pools, one adult-only and a very nice coffee/tea bar, open almost all the time, and grills for your own cookouts, and shuffleboard. We did walk to the pier, about three miles, for the fireworks. Good exercise, but, bicycles would have been perfect. Bring your own, or, rentals available close by. Actually, if we stayed at the hotel, we would have had a perfect view for multiple fireworks displays. It ended up being great that our usual spots were full, found a wonderful option. Some updating would be nice, but, I love the islandy feel. We visit Ft Myers Beach almost every month. We will be sure to return to the Sandpiper.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saj1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is a great resort with all the amenities you could want for a beach vacation, loved the beachfront ocean view 1st floor room. Angel at the front desk was so nice and friendly. The pool and courtyard area are perfectly clean and maintained it reminded us of a Disney resort! Would love to return for a quiet peaceful beach vacation. Thank you Sandpiper!

Room Tip: Beachfront, ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,664 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#17 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
398 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,099 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Outrigger Beach Resort
Outrigger Beach Resort
#15 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4196
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: £108 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf
Sandpiper Gulf Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing