We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort with personality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great resort with personality!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This place was amazing. We came late at night and still the desk staff was so kind and helpful. The room was clean and spacious, and the indoor plaza with mini golf was such a treat!! I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syn_Pluvences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Social Media Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    215
    44
    22
    7
See reviews for
326
308
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville TN
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We were sent here from another full hotel but what a great find! We were in a suite with views of a very close gulf front! We watched the sun set both nights! We grilled out on there gas grills & it was like home ! Very clean!! Nice king size bed with great bedding! Great beach! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjhardy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your unexpected stay at our resort and that you found your accommodation to be clean with a spectacular view of the sunset. We hope to have you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Social Media Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We only stayed here for one night but were sad we had not scheduled more. The hotel is a fantastic place for families and has the facility to cook and eat near the pools in the evening. The rooms are big and have full kitchens and dinning areas. But the best is the location, right on a beautiful huge beach with white sand.. We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stop here when next in Florida

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for recommending the Sandpiper to our future travelers. We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful time. We look forward to your return!

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Social Media Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I chose this hotel for a break from Orlando and it was located on the beach with a good price. It is located a good bit down from the "centre" on estero boulevard, which is fine if you are driving, if not, there is a trolley which is very frequent. The only downside to this is there is only one road in and out and there can be a build up of traffic at peak times. The actual hotel location is great, right on the beach. We didnt opt for a beach front view as after reading reviews a lot of the pool views had beach views. We could see the ocean right from out terrace which was great. Check in was effortless,there were two complimentary bottles of water in our room along with a "sandpiper" beach bag, nice touches. The room was fine, two queen sized beds, full bathroom, bath and shower, seating area, small kitchen with utensils. I couldn't find a safe in the room, but then I didnt actually check if there was meant to be one - just presumed! To access our room we never went through reception or the hotel, it was like a motel set up in that regard. They have dedicated pools for adults and children, we never used as we were too busy on the beach. They also have a barbeque area and tea and coffee on tap. We also received a newspaper each day. If you want to stay by your hotel and have a relaxing time then this is the one for you. It was peaceful with a lovely beach location. It could also be used as a great base for exploring Fort Myers Beach, Sanibel and Captiva (which is what we did). Also this has to be one of the most comfortable hotel beds (and pillows) I have ever slept in!!!!

Room Tip: If you want an uninterrupted ocean view then go for ocean view, if you just want a partial ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for this lovely review of the Sandpiper. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Fort Myers Beach.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Social Media Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I purchased a staycation through a local radio station last June. We had a year to use it and it was for 3 days, 2 nights at the Sandpiper. Check-in was at 4 pm, so much for day 1. Checkout was at 11 am, day 3!! The room was okay - sitting area, full kitchen, balcony which over looked the pool with screaming kids, and a few small roaches in the dressing area. It had a coffee pot but no coffee. There was no continental breakfast, and no elevator. I asked the desk lady what the usual rate is and was told with tax - $310 per night. REALLY? It is on the beach but you have to pay for chairs and an umbrella on the sand. Parking is limited and tight. There are no restaurants within walking. There is a grocery store about a mile away. Afternoon traffic heading off the island is stop and go, so plan accordingly. It was an experience for us and fortunately our staycation was $170 total. Would have been livid had we paid full price

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Konasmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
I'm sorry to read that your experience was not quite what you were expecting. Like many resorts, our rates vary depending on the time of year. The months of February, March, and April are when the Fort Myers Beach area receives the most visitors. The Sandpiper is a quaint and family friendly resort that is loved by many. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Social Media Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel was very nice. Our room was situated beachfront with lovely views. I do not think I would have felt the same way if we were located next to the pool area. Front desk staff were very helpful and informative. One thing to note is that the property is situated a bit out of the downtown/central ("Times Sq.") area of Ft. Myers Beach and you may need to rely on the Trolley for meals and shopping. There is no food available at this resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Fort Myers Beach. Your advice and tips are great for future travelers to our resort. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Social Media Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a great stay at the Sandpiper. It's very low key, no drunk maniacs running around. Family friendly and a good value. No complaints whatsoever, we recommend it. Clean place, great beach access, feels very safe, and well kept.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Penthouse" suite above the office and it was absolutely awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Great choice on the Penthouse suite, we love it too! We are so glad you found our resort to be clean, well kept, family friendly, and of great value. Thank you for your recommending the Sandpiper and we hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Social Media Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,612 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,781 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
368 reviews
3.2 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
591 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Property: Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4196
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf
Sandpiper Gulf Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing