We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We loved it! It was clean! staff were friendly. Not a party resort! Beach was perfect and beautiful. Our first time here and won't be our last! Rooms have a little kitchen and that's great to be able to grocery shop and save money! quiet location! loved it!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for this nice review of our resort. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time and that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our resort and the friendliness of our associates. We hope to have you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    205
    39
    20
    7
See reviews for
312
298
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Sandpiper Resort for two nights and throughly enjoyed the visit. The hotel is of the old architectual design with exterior door leading directly to outside walkway. This works well in beach places because of the sand issues but is not the most secure design. They used RFID loaded plastic bracelets for keys and I did wonder how they would change lock code between visitors. Room was great with two very comfortable queen beds. It has kitchen area with stove top, microwave, sink, and full size frig. Nice closet with security safe. Bathroom was nice with separate toliet/shower room. A night light in toliet area would be nice addition. Our balcony overlooked the courtyard which was fine with us. We spent almost the whole day on the beach using $13 per day unbrella and chairs. That is a bargain! Beach and surf are wonderful and not crowded at all. Dolphins came right up to waters edge feeding on small fish. I wonder what other animals could come that close? We had a wonderful short visit and highly reccommend Sandpiper.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenC_Knoxville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your highest recommendations of the Sandpiper. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and the time spent on the beach. The wristbands are programmed in the same way as other resort card keys. Reprogrammed for each guest and very safe. We look forward to your next visit to Fort Myers Beach.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I booked my stay through Expedia, and after reading some of the reviews here I decided to call the resort directly. I spoke with Joanna, who seems to be the person who handles the bookings through these travel sites. She checked my reservation and assured me that the room I booked with Expedia is indeed the room I will be getting. Also asked about the "no elevator" issue, as I am in my 60's and have COPD, which makes it very difficult if not impossible for me to be climbing staircases in the Florida heat and humidity. Again, she assured me she would be putting in a request for my reservation, for a room on the ground floor. All you need to do is call, and be pleasant, it's amazing how responsive people can be when you start out with a smile in your voice!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachGranny53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I am so happy that we were able to meet your requests. Thank you for mentioning Joanna, she is a wonderful part of our team. Thank you and we will see you again on your next vacation.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

When we booked, which was well in advance, we had put in a request for an upper floor room. Although the request was their computer it wasn't taken into consideration. We accually got a lecture from the desk clerk on how booking should be made directly through the hotel and not a third party like Hotels.com, travelosity, Orbitz etc.. While at the desk another couple was checking in and although they had varificatio of booking they didn't get the room classification they had booked and paid for.They received the same lecture on "you shouldn't book through third party sites, book directly with us". The clerk made it clear he wasn't happy with bookings not made directly through their hotel. However after check-in everyhing else went reasonably well. The hotel room was clean with a kitchen area which really was helpful. We were told that they just upgraded from double to queen size beds with new mattresses. Have to say they were comfortable. The hotel has two pools, family and adult only. The best was the beach! Great location, hotel is right on the beach. Beach was wide, not crowed, clean and had a concession with beach umbrella's and two chairs for $13.00/day. The hotel provided nice beach/pool towels whenever needed. It also had coffee, tea and cold lemon water outside all day for the guests. Overall we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: Do a double check to be sure you are getting the room you are booking and paying for. Upper floors h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hanshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I am very sorry for your disappointment upon arrival. We do our best to accommodate specific requests, such as room location. We want nothing more than to provide an exceptional experience and to take care of our guests like family. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We rolled in to Ft Myers Beach for a first time visit on a weekend and no reservations. Sandpiper was a very pleasant surprise. Right on the beach, free beachbag and water upon arrival and more than ample beach towels. Decorated beautifully in the old British West Indies style with every room having a kitchen and sitting area with good cable tv. One kiddie pool and one adult quiet pool, with a nice wide white sand beach. Paid concession $13 for 2 chairs and an umbrella til 5pm and watch the Gulf waters lap the shore. Good restaurants and friendly locals all around town if you venture out. So glad we stumbled upon this gem and would come back again!

Room Tip: Water front or garden view each have an ocean view. Good value no matter where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davermags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I am delighted to know you had a wonderful first time experience at our resort. As you discovered, our mission is to provide exceptional value and a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akarp, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The staff was very frendly and helpful, especielly in the reception. We had a great wiew from our balcony. The beach location is so near.

The resort has a great location, some miles from Times Square/the centre of Fort Myers Beach. But you can go by the Trolley to Times Square.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lars L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I am so delighted to know that you had a great vacation at the Sandpiper. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feasterville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I was skeptical picking a non chain smaller hotel but was looking for a good price and beach front was a must. The hotel was quiet, rooms were newly renovated, and clean. The beach here is beautiful, white sands and shorter beach so very convenient from room. There is no restaurant or bar but Pubix grocery store is literally 1 minute away, we bought groceries for lunch and packed a lunch for the beach everyday and ate out for breakfast and dinner. There are grills by the pool so many were grilling but we did not. With the $400.00 I saved from staying at a chain hotel we spent on renting a pontoon boat for a day at Snookbite which is 1 minute away... That was our best day here... Boat was 240.00 + 18.00 gas for the day... All you need is a drivers license. This location is 7 minute drive from all the stores, restaurants and shopping. I highly recommend Coconut Jacks grill for delicious seafood, outside on water meal, great prices, live music- it's in Bonita Springs about 10 minutes away. This is a great choice!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackieBosw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sandpiper for your recent Fort Myers Beach vacation. I am pleased that we provided everything you were hoping for. We hope to have you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#19 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Property: Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4196
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf
Sandpiper Gulf Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing