We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, convenient, clean and fun!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, convenient, clean and fun!!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Quaint resort, clean rooms, family friendly, beach access- great place to stay!! Can't wait to come back!! Beach has umbrella and chair rentals for $13 per day. They also have jet ski and SUP board rentals too!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for this nice review of the Sandpiper Gulf Resort. I am happy to know that you had a relaxing vacation at our resort. We are devoted to providing our guests with all the elements to create a memorable stay. Cleanliness and helpfulness of staff is all very important to us and a continuous effort to maintain and enrich. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    212
    40
    20
    7
See reviews for
320
305
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a ground floor courtyard view unit for a week with our family if four.
Room was very clean and was cleaned every day. Beds were comfortable. Room had a hair dryer, flat screen TV with HBO, safe, microwave, full fridge, and two burner range. There was plenty of closet and drawer space for our stuff as well as ample space to eat and relax. High quality toiletries were provided too. Towel service was available for beach towels.

The family pool is fun to hang around and has a great view. The resort is right in the beach and about 100 feet from the Gulf. We saw several Dolphin during our stay, and the beach is great for shelling and finding various sea critters.

So many nice restaurants on and around the island. We spent a day at the sister resort at the other end if the island, definitely worth a visit.

I have been visiting Ft. Myers Beach for 30 years. The Sandpiper is a high quality, affordable resort that is great for a family. And I can't stress how clean they kept the units and the grounds. I highly recommend this resort.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your highest recommendations of our resort. We do aim to have something for everyone to enjoy here at the Sandpiper and we are delighted to have left a positive impression. We look forward to the occasion to serve you again.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a very good adress for a nice visit of Fort Myers Beach. It isn't noisy and it is very clean. Many families were there and enjoyed the fantastic beach and the pool. In the kitch you have enough items.It is enough space for five person in the room. We found only one little problem: the air conditioning smelled a little bit muddy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uwe68Hagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are so pleased to read that you experienced a great time at the Sandpiper. We would be so happy for you to consider staying with us again on your next visit to Fort Myers Beach.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and my two youngest kids (8 and 11) found this hotel to be a fantastic place to relax and enjoy the wonderful gulf beach.

We spent 4 days here. The hotel is nicely kept, clean, and very comfortable. The rooms are like small apartments with a mini kitchen so we where able to buy essentials for breakfast, lunch and night snacks. You have all thats needed to cook full meals (even though we didn't), and if you want to grill meats, there are two grills in the courtyard where you can barbecue like you would at home.

We got a beach front room with a spectacular view of the gulf. We sat in the balcony every morning and enjoyed our breakfast from the comfort of our room. In fact, I'm writing this review from there right now! We also watched the sunset our first night from our balcony, and it was spectacular!

This property is for those of you who want to relax away from the crowds. The hotel is located in the middle part of the island, about 3 miles south from the Ft Myers beach pier, where most of of the bars, restaurants and beach shopping lies. The property is right on the beach, so you're able to step out of your room and walk to the beach in less than a minute or two. From our room balcony we were able to watch our kids play in the sand. There are a couple of small pools (an adult and a family pool), but they can get crowded. There is also shuffle board for the kids.

If you're looking for room service, big pools, and pampering, this is not the right hotel.

However, this hotel also has a sister property - The Pink Shell - which is in the north end of the island, and as guests here we were able to go to that property which is more like your traditional hotel with a restaurant, pool service for meals, a spa, etc., all of which is also available to us a guests of the Sandpiper.

If you don't have a car, you can take the trolley into the heart of the action in the north end, but during the off-season it only runs until 9pm. However, a cab ride will cost you only about $8-$10 if you get stuck in town after the trolley service ends.

If you like to walk, I highly recommend what we did. After spending the day at the beach, we showered and walked as a family along the beach all the way to the North Pier. We left at around 6:30pm and enjoyed the sunset as a family while taking pictures, looking for shells, and just enjoying the view. It took us about 90 minutes to walk the 3 miles, enjoyed a lovely dinner in town, and took a cab back to our hotel afterwards.

If you like water activities and you can afford it, take the dolphin tour in jet skis. You can pretty much do this from anywhere on the beach. Our hotel had a company that did it, although we did it with the company at the sister property - the Pink Shell. The tour will set you back about $140 per jet ski (we had to take two), but it's definitely worth it. There were dolphins everywhere!!

We also rented a jet ski for an hour on another day, and saw dolphins right in front of our hotel.

We loved this place, and will likely come back to this hotel!!!!!

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alfre1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We thoroughly enjoy reading reviews from our guests. Thank you for the time you spent to write about the details of your stay. Your compliments of our spectacular accommodations, beautiful beachfront views, and nice staff are much appreciated. We hope to have you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxahatchee, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just got back from 4 days vacation , stayed in beach front room amazing , first floor , huge balcony , clean , nice room .nice staff , can't complain really nice place .just maybe some tiki bar would be nice or game room for kids .

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the best for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mada7393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for the excellent review of our resort. We are delighted to read that you found great value in our staff and accommodations. We hope to see you again and we will continue to provide you with the great service you expect to receive at the Sandpiper Gulf Resort.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We just spent 7 days at the Sandpiper Gulf Resort, and hope to come back next year! The room was clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the beach was only steps away! I was surprised how quiet it was after 10:00, no kids running around or loud music blaring. They have two nice, clean gas grills for the guests to use, and we used them many times.
They have very large, soft beach towels for guests, and you turn them in anytime for clean ones. They also have onsite beach chair rentals for $13 a day, but we purchased two down the street at Publix for $10 each. The Publix was just down the street, and we bought all our groceries there.
They also rent waverunners (discounted price for guests) and parasailing trips. We rented wave runners on our last full day, and wished we had done it sooner!The proximity to local restaurants and stores was great. It was a perfect, relaxing, set your own pace vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are happy to read you had such a great time and are planning a return trip. Thank you for submitting a review of our property and for sharing your great experience with others. We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, MO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We recently stayed 4 days here and honestly can't wait to go back. In fact, we hope go to again next summer.

Pros: Smaller resort so it wasn't crowded, pool side rooms are excellent for kids (my daughter loved running out the sliding glass door & jumping in the pool), just steps away from the beautiful white sand, comfortable beds, and friendly/helpful staff.

Cons: I wish the bathrooms were larger & the stove needs updated. No elevator so request a ground floor if you can't do stairs.

Room Tip: If you have kids, pool side rooms are great! No elevator - request ground floor if you can't do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I am so pleased you had an incredible time at our beachfront resort. It is wonderful to read that you found our resort to be of good value. We look forward to your return for another lovely family vacation.

Warm regards,

Bonni Davis-Delizia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Property: Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4196
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf
Sandpiper Gulf Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing