We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Widgeon Paradise Cottage is a Winner!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Widgeon Cottage. canal view.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Widgeon Cottage. canal view.
Relax at Pool and Spa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Widgeon Cottage. canal view.
Relax at Pool and Spa
Plenty of Chairs
Deck leading to Dock
Backyard
Dock and Canal
Enjoy Dock Side Sun and Fishing 2014
Back of Home
Back of Home
Widgeon Cottage. Plenty of parking.
Living Room New Jan 2014
Living Area
Counter Bar
Bedroom 3 Queen
Master Bedroom and Bath
Master Bath
Queen Bedroom 2
Fully Stocked Kitchen
Second Bath
Dining for Six
Dining and Sitting Area
Counter Bar
Sitting Area
Dan's office
Dan's assistant in the canal
View from dock
View from dock at sunrise
Downtown Just 4 Miles
Just Two Blocks Away Largest and Best Beach On Island
Sunset At The Pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Paradise4...
2 reviews
“Widgeon Paradise Cottage is a Winner!!”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

I just returned from a week at the Widgeon Cottage with my brother and parents and we had an absolute blast! It truly has everything you need for an awesome beach vacation. The first day we had breakfast on the deck overlooking the canal, rode bikes (provided) on the beach, kayaked (provided) in the canal and bay, had drinks by the private pool and hot tub, walked down to the beach to watch the sunset at a tiki hut with a pina colada and dinner in the square. Dan and Colleen were there to offer advice and help with anything needed and made us feel like we were at a 5 star resort! So Cheers to them and our wonderful stay at Widgeon Paradise Cottage! Thanks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewS91...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic place”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic place Widgeon Cottage is. It's clean, spacious and everything you can think of is catered for. The owners are brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. The local wildlife is amazing. We fed Pebbles, the wild heron that comes to visit most days, saw a dolphin chasing fish up the canal and even a manatee made a very brief appearance. We made good use of the kayaks and one day were surrounded by a number of dolphins swimming around us. We used the pool every day, usually later in the afternoon when it was in shade. It was a very welcome relief from the August heat. The local restaurants are great, many of which overlook the bay or the gulf. All in all a fantastic holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kayaking
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful,relaxing,amazing cottage!!!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is just beautiful ,a real home from home but much better thankyou to dan and his lovely wife who made us feel so welcome in their lovely cottage , there was everything you could possibly need in this holiday home ,we had a fabulous few days the boys enjoyed the fishing,and kayaking while us girls enjoyed lounging around by the pool ,the beach is 5min walk and there was everything you could possibly need for time on the beach which we used a couple of days,the bikes were great too ,we had a couple of lovely meals at the beach grill restruant next to the pier watching the sunset with a cocktail AMAZING !!!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CrowtonPF
Stratford Upon Avon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a perfect week at Widgeon Cottage. Colleen and Dan were discreetly helpful, the place is clean and has everything you would need.
Dan taught us to fish from the back of the house and also lent us kayaks.
To top it all the weather was perfect.
Really great week.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina...
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned to Sweden after spending the last week of our vacation at Widgeon Cottage, Ft Myers Beach. And it was the hightlight of our trip! We enjoyed every second of it! The bicycle rides, kayaking alongside dolphins, relaxing in the pool, breakfast at the dock and much more!

The house was terrific, very clean and well equipped. And Dan what a host. Such an easy going, warm and welcoming person! Thank you for everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Med vänner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck D
Dade City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Supercalifragilisticexpealadosus”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A great home away from home.
We just returned from 2 weeks @ Widgeon Cottage and our stay could not have been better. Dan & Coleen are terrific hosts. They live on the property and help and serve all your needs. They even hosted a Superbowl party for us while we where there.
This is a home away from home and all you need to bring is clothes & food.
This condo has a heated pool & spa,a fully furnished home and kitchen including a dishwasher, microwave, blender, coffee pot, dishes , etc. 2 TVs,free WI-FI, barbecue grill, pool/beach toys & chairs, kyacks, fishing equipment, bikes, washer/dryers etc.
Located in a quiet residential area close to beach, restaurants,shopping,entertainment etc.
Great for seniors, family's, nature lovers, bird lovers (Ospreys,egrets, blue herons, pelicans, etc.)
This is our second year here and we are coming back next year.
We could not have found a better place and hosts to spend our vacation with .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts
Liked least: Traffic on the island
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing