We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, most efficient service, but the food was delish!”

Heidi's Island Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$22
Cuisines: American, European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: After over 30 years of experience in the restaurant business in Europe and Canada, we have made our dream come true and opened July 2012 our restaurant Heidi's Island Bistro in Florida, Fort Myers Beach. We want you to feel comfortable & that you enjoy our great German and local dishes under the Sun in Florida. Heidi's serving Breakfast from 7 am - 11:30 am, Lunch from 11:30 am - 4 pm & Dinner from 4 pm - 9 pm. In our small attached bakery you will find some nice selections of sweets, Bread, German Rolls and Cakes & of course the famous Black Forest Cake. The team of Heidi's Island Bistro will do their best so that you have an unforgettable dining experience.
North Port, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the best, most efficient service, but the food was delish!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The service was not bad, but it was veerryyy slow. It took a long time to get our drinks and food.for a couple's dinner, I wouldnt have minded the slow paced evening. However, we had 3 exhausted and hungry children with us which made minutes waiting seem like hours and even the adults were getting a little antsy waiting so long for our drinks and food. BUT when the food came, it was sooo worth it! The lobster bisque was homemade and exceptional. The garlic shrimp with rice is the best I've ever had-absolutely mouth watering. My husband's steak was cooked well and was tender. The garlic butter for his baked potatoe was very good as well. My son got the boneles wings-which were literally that, wings with the bones taken out- tossed in teriyaki sauce. They were tender and flavorful. Unfortunately, we were not aware that this was a mainly German cuisine restaurant when we visited, so the others at the table had chicken ceasar salads- which were good. They may have had the grilled chicken dinner, but felt it was very over priced at just under 20$. I felt the menu for more American geared food was very slim, however, as I said, we were unaware that we were going to a German restaurant. We went there because it was rated #1 in fort myers. Overall, I would say this is a great restaurant, but would not highly recommend it for a family coming in to eat after a day at the beach. This setting and menu is more for a couple looking for a slow paced, quiet dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,010
    182
    66
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, avg. service”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Like other reviews the food is great. Waitress/hostess was the only person in the front. She was nice enough but just not very warm. We were there for dinner. Potato pancakes, sausage plate, schnitzel, sauerbraten, red cabbage (nice clove? flavor), German potato salad (unique mustard base for me) all were great. Great break from the seafood heavy restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank Ptblvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, probably more interesting for lunch or dinner”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

There are a lot of really cool things on the menu for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was pretty typical, but very good none the less. A highlight was the apple strudel. Offered to share but somehow managed to eat it all myself. Service was very good. Place was immaculate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Try something different!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a small, Mid-Island German Restaurant that did not disappoint. Donna who was our waitress is pleasant and so eager to help make your experience a good one. The food was delicious and plentiful. One of our party had decided against the coffee she was going to order as a fresh pot would have to be brewed just for her....Donna said not to worry, she wanted a cup too.....how sweet. Were not there for the Sunday brunch, but bet it's great! Is a bit pricey, but again, comparable to most anywhere and lunch prices of course are much cheaper.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oh jeez - that was good!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I didn't believe it when someone in a review said that they "didn't need syrup on the french toast" ...and then I took a bite. Yup, no syrup is needed; especially if you drag a piece through the hollandaise sauce from your co-diners eggs Benedict. Seriously, the french toast was perfect, and not just because it's covered in cinnamon sugar; it was very moist and really not too heavy. Another dining partner said his eggs were perfect and that's a rarity; he orders them "over medium." We also had pan fried potatoes - yummy - and really great coffee.

One last thing (and I can say this proudly because I'm of german decent), the place was "german clean" ... I mean immaculate and orderly.

We're going back for at least dinner, if not another breakfast before we leave town four days from now.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heidi's Island Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Heidi's Island Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing