We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay at the Lani Kai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lani Kai Island Resort
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Lani Kai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stay here every time we go to Fort Myers Beach. It's the "place to be" on Fort Myers Beach (as is attested to by the many many boats that park on the sandbar here daily). The beach is a great beach-front hotel, every room faces the gulf, the staff is wonderful, and the party never ends here. The beach is groomed every day here, and the shelling is excellent if you are into that as well. If you are looking for an entertaining trip filled with fun, fun, fun, then be sure to stay here. The food in the restaurants is great and they have excellent happy hour specials, too. The hotel is within walking distance of tons of shopping and other restaurants, making this hotel in the perfect location. If you are looking for rest and relaxation, or if you have small children, this may not be the ideal hotel for you.

Room Tip: If you wish to have a quieter room, ask for the rooms on the playground/pool side of the building ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulaKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    182
    142
    111
    303
See reviews for
197
309
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altamonte Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay this past weekend! There was only one negative about our trip...We arrived on the 4th of July, and they were selling parking places to beach goers and didn't have parking available for actual hotel guests. That doesn't seem like the right thing to do! On the flipside, the activities going on for the 4th of July were amazing... I want to book another trip next year :) Thanks Lani Kai and specifically Kayla at the front desk. Seems she works all the time, because every time I went to the desk, she was there!

Room Tip: This is not the place if you're looking for a quiet, boring hotel. If you're looking to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyk105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Once again, the Lani Kai has proven it is the anti- Naples-esque scene for southwest Florida. Yes, people party here. Yes, the music is loud, the beer is cold, and the view a great. But thing thing that people in other reviews on here miss is that if you don't want that atmosphere, you don't have to do everything through the hotel. Lani is about 20 feet from the beach, and some other great restaurants and entertainment are just across the road.

The service has always been great at this place. Hallways, stairwells, and doorways are always a bit dirty, but it is what it is. We have never had problems with appliances or the rooms. No matter what room you get, you are going to get noise from foot travel or the party downstairs. The food at the Lani restaurant is worth skipping, but there is great food elsewhere on the island.

This place is a great quick getaway from the faux-fancy Florida, and is really good reprieve back into the carefree life.

Room Tip: If you don't want music blaring, don't get a room over the bar downstairs. Rooms are cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robo261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is the worst place we have ever stayed! We wanted a nice restful beach vacation and found ourselves on the Florida version of Jersey Shore. There is a live band every night until 2am at the outside bar accompanied by yelling screaming party goers. We couldn't sleep it was so loud!! The bed was horrible and the room was so old and outdated. The management clearly does not cater to families or people looking for a restful stay. They could have cared less that we were bothered by the noise. Afternoon naps are also out of the question as they have music and a guy on a microphone running beach games 12-5pm everyday! The hotel also rents parking spots to non guests so us paying guest end up parking in a not so safe lot across the street from this hotel. This hotel ruined our vacation. If we could have afforded to leave and check into a different hotel we would have. We will never stay here again and highly suggest you don't either!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Auntdeb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Myers Beach hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you party to the point of puking, you will want to stay here. It has vomit-proof vinyl furniture which I have NEVER seen in any hotel, motel or party dive I have ever stayed in. I was already disturbed by the "entryway" into our hotel room which was a plywood cubbyhole that was dimly lighted. It looked like an area that should have an advertisement for MuggersRUs. The floor was dirty but the sheets and towels smelled of bleach and the bathroom looked clean. We used the furniture as luggage stands because we did not want our luggage on the floor. There were no bugs in evidence and we did check the mattresses. The ceiling was patched from one side of the room to the other side in two places but no effort was made to actually paint the ceiling. What "resort" puts a guest in a room like that? Your maintenance staff can not even paint the ceiling?
The balcony was over the entryway to the beach. It had a beautiful view of the ocean that was wasted because we were distracted by the drugdealer that was selling dope in the beach entryway. They even sampled the product right there in plain view of five floors of balconies. Apparently Hellroom 110 is not rented often because our presence on the balcony sent the dealer on his way and he did not return during our stay.
I thought the crowd that hung out at the bar was rough. I used to party. The crowd was a 50/50 mixture of harmless partiers and probable felons. Please differentiate between the two crowds and run out rough crowd or move the beach bar away from the main entryway to the beach. The sad part is the crowd actually got scarier during the weekend. It was the first beach hotel where I felt it would be unsafe to walk the beach at night. I have never felt that way about any hotel I have ever stayed in. One night one of the bar patrons passed out on a picnic table. Classy. On the weekend the beach is converted into a giant ashtray for the bar patrons. Saturday morning showed a stunning display of cigarette butts. Some of the bar patrons just littered the beach with empty drink cups and beer cans. I felt sorry for the employee that was scurrying around trying to clean up the mess. The sad part is the hotel caters to these cretins.
The staff is very polite but ineffective.
The man at the front desk did not know where the icemakers were. I would hope that all front desk clerks would be kept informed of where to send guests for simple services. I had to inform the young hostess on the rooftop when it started to rain that we were moving to a glider with an actual cover over the top of it. She told me I had to ask permission from my waiter. No, I don't. It is common sense that people do not want to be rained on while they eat. She actually said I had to ask my waiter's permission. Wow. Customer service definitely needs some work.
After we moved to the glider right next to us, they seated another couple at that glider. The customer said, "This is the only glider without a cover." The girl said, "I know." and walked off without offering to move them to a covered table or glider of which plenty were available. The hotel lost two dinners that night because the couple left when they realized that the hostess was not coming back to reseat them. MY FAVORITE CUSTOMER SERVICE STORY INVOLVES THE DAY OUR ROOM FLOODED. We went to the shell museum on Sanibel Island and got caught in a horrible thunderstorm. When we got back to the hotel there was over and inch of water on the floor near the bathroom. My sister went to the front desk to alert them to our leak which they tried to tell her that water that came in the balcony doors. They shoved some towels at her and said that someone would be there shortly. I went searching for the source of the leak and it was coming from the ceiling tiles in the bathroom. Two or three inches of water in the bathtub. We waited a half hour and no help came, so this time I went to the front desk. They acted like it was the first time they heard that room 110 had a leak. We waited an additional forty minutes for someone to clean up and decided to go to dinner. We went to dinner down the road at Pincher's. When we came back the mess had still not been cleaned up. At this point it had been three hours since the front desk had been notified. I call the front desk. We wait. WE CLEAN UP THE MESS OURSELVES. FORTY FIVE MINUTES AFTER I CALL SOMEONE SHOWS UP AND CLAIMS HE HAD BEEN THERE EARLIER AND DID NOT SEE THE LEAK. ARE YOU SERIOUS?????? YOUR GUESTS HAVE TO CLEAN UP MESSES FROM STRUCTURAL ISSUES??????
This is the saddest excuse for a hotel. It has the makings of a great resort but no follow through by anyone. It has a great location. The beach was awesome the hotel was not.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Reaally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place has not been touched since it was opened. They have the best location and view on the beach. Such a same that the owners only care about bringing in the money. This place is as dirty as you have heard and as noisy. It is the only place on the beach that has its own security and it is the only place on the island that needs it. You don't hear about gun shots at the Best Western. Trouble hangs around the Lani Kai.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FMBGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Room Dirty, Music To loud, Service in the restaurant POOR,I had to eat with my hands, the guy never care for utensils and Napkins, I call front desk 5 times and JUSTIN (which, I later find out was a manager)Hang up on me 5 glorious times, and I just want it to ask, how long was the music on, I was NOT able to rest, my room felt like I was in a middle of an Storm, Really that UNACCEPTABLE, and the owners of that place need to know by now, they have the best location, but is time for RENOVATIONS, in the meantime I will not be back or recommended the place to anybody.

Room Tip: Go Someplace else...!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maritta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#21 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Inn at the Lani Kai
Bay Inn at the Lani Kai
#45 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lani Kai Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lani Kai Island Resort

Property: Lani Kai Island Resort
Address: 1400 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lani Kai Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Lani Kai Island Resort* - Beachfront Resort on Fort Myers Beach This oceanfront, family-owned resort is located in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Features include 3 beach-view restaurants, 7 beach bars with specialty tropical cocktails, full resort amenities, live entertainment 365 and more! Our rooms are recently renovated and include bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, hair dryers, makeup removal towels and more! Each room has a beachfront balcony to enjoy the mornings and sunsets and include a coffee maker and fridge to keep your mug warm and drinks cold. Free high speed wi-fi, private beachfront balconies, flat-screen televisions with full cable broadcasting, an outdoor pool right by the Gulf of Mexico, beach chairs & umbrellas, Jet Skis, Dolphin Tours, Parasailing, and more! Experience excellent service from our 24-hour front desk staff, refresh your wardrobe in our laundry facilities, and keep values safe in the safe deposit box. *The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai* - Inn on the Fort Myers Beach Bay Situated on Fort Myers Beach bay, The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai includes access to all resort amenities at Lani Kai Island Resort, which includes 400 feet of beach access, a heated pool, and nightlife entertainment. The inn features a dock for fishing and wildlife viewing. A microwave, refrigerator, and coffee-making facilities are included in every guestroom, and a seating area with a sofa bed is provided. Guests can stay connected with our high speed WiFi for free, and can relax with beautiful views while enjoying our flat screen TVs with cable. Suites offer full kitchens and more space for extended stays and larger parties, or enjoy the extra room all for you! The 24-hour front desk is located at the Lani Kai Island Resort while The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai includes free parking for 1 vehicle. *Lani Kai Attractions* - Fun in the Sun! Beautiful white sand beaches and the soothing warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico on Fort Myers Beach, there is always something to keep you busy at the Lani Kai! The Fort Myers trolley stops directly at the Lani Kai Resort throughout the day. Using the local trolley service, guests can explore Fort Myers Beach’s Island, and Lover's Key State Park which is a 12 minute drive away. We have talented performers and entertainers to dance & sing along to. Limbo, water balloon toss, and dance offs daily with special prizes for winners! Public events for everyone, private events for parties/businesses and destination weddings means daily events and weekly specials all year! No visit to the Lani Kai is complete without some outdoor adventure. Try out a wave runner or fly high over the Gulf of Mexico with panoramic views behind a parasail boat. Glide through the water on a 2-hour guided jet-ski dolphin tour. Feel the wind through your hair or capture images of this beautiful tropical island. For the beach bunny in you that doesn’t want to move out of your chair while enjoying the beautiful sea breezes, we have a fantastic wait staff that brings your cocktails right to your chair! We won’t let you go thirsty at the Lani. Explore classic beach styles in quaint boutique gift stores lining the beach and have fun shopping for all your vacation souvenirs! We have a beach side playground area for kids to play as parents enjoy an amazing view of the Gulf. Beach games and the pool keep kids happy. *Beachfront Restaurants & Snacks* Food is Lani Kai’s forte with top rated restaurants ranging from casual beachside patio Sabal Palm Beach Bar & Grille, to our two rooftop restaurants including Sun Deck Restaurant with legendary “Glider Lounge” and Island View Restaurants infamous seafood and Italian fusion food fare. All restaurants have happy hour 7 days a week as well as unique daily specials to keep bringing both guests and local restaurant patrons back for more! With validated parking for every customer, you can park on the beach for FREE while enjoying your favorite plate overlooking Fort Myers Beach! *Live Entertainment 365 Days A Year* Fort Myers Beach’s best Entertainment on the island is found only at the Lani Kai. Keep jamming at our beach stage with island tunes and into the night at Club Ohana with live entertainment 7 days a week. From Dueling DJs, Live Bands and special guests appearances from national acts and celebrities through out 6 different bars and lounges, Lani Kai are always up to something! *Paradise Weddings and Private Events* Experience a magical Destination Wedding on Fort Myers Beach. Lani Kai provides all types of wedding services from rehearsals to full on ceremonies and wedding receptions. We have everything covered from rooms, food, decor and more! Our wonderful wedding planning staff is ready to assist your every need and is happy to assist brides and grooms with all the support they need so that their special day is perfect. Plan your next event at Lani Kai from birthdays through corporate events. Birthday parties, religious holidays, private parties, non-profit events, fundraisers, award ceremonies and more! Ranging from small gatherings to full restaurant's service, our event venue flexibility is what makes planning an event at Lani Kai fun! Choose your size, food selection, location and we will take care of the rest! *Convenient Location* Fort Myers Beach Times Square and Pier is 550 m from the property. Naples is 38 km from The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai, while Sanibel is 7 km away. Southwest Florida International Airport is only 13 Miles (22 km) from the property. Thanks for being here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lani Kai Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lani Kai Island Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lani Kai Island Motel
Lanai Kai
Lani Kai Island Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing