We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice get away. think again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lani Kai Island Resort
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice get away. think again”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

let's put it this way ,the place is a hole in the midst of the gold mine. security are not nice. the front desk and the housing staff are on point. but management is hmm.? not nice. and when we had a major issue in which my hand was caught in the elavator, no one other than those i was with cared. security handed me a trash bag and told me the ice machine was on the 2nd floor.. the next day i filed a incident report which they pushed aside, cause the manager said i wasn't in 313. i wasnt and never was. they had contact number and never followed up. i went to the local e.r and was xrayed with a broken hand. thanx lani kai

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    188
    147
    115
    308
See reviews for
201
318
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is an older hotel.. But... It is well worth to consider. All rooms have beach front balconies. A couple of restaurants for a gourmet meal or just for a burger is available. Beach is steps from the building, nice fine white sand. Would have given them an excellent rating if it wasn't for the fact of the difficulty in finding a place to park and unless you call first, you will have challenges figuring out where to go to check in. Other than that and the parking issues, excellent place. As mentioned it is an older hotel, but it Ina's clean, comfortable rooms. For the price... Can't really complain, give it a shot.

Room Tip: Recommend 2nd floor or higher to control some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H2498UXmikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

If you don't get a disease here you might bring home bed bugs or cock roaches. This hotel should be condemned. The floors are filthy. The furniture is cheap and nasty. And it is do hot in the restaurants the staff is soaked in sweat waiting on you. unless you are looking for a place to lay your drunkin head. Don't even consider it

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Virginia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Myers Beach hotels

Cape coral, FL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is disgusting. It is very sad, because it could totally have real potential. It's a great location, very central to everything on the disgusting strip that is fort myers beach.

I have stayed here a few times, and each time is worse than the last. The bedding is shabby, dirty, and disgusting to say the least. Same as the mattress. The bathroom door was broken, would not even shut. The floors. Oh Lordy, the floors. Do NOT walk barefoot. Three steps into it, your feet will be black and gross and sticky as hell.

We had major issues with the room, including the air conditioner not working. We called front desk to ask to change rooms, we were told there was no rooms available. We physically walked to the front desk person to speak to someone about it. While we were waiting for the staff member to get off the phone, we heard her end of the conversation, in which she said that they sure did have 4 rooms all next to eachother for tonight, because the hotel was not even close to full that night. She totally contradicted herself there, because less than 5mins before that we had called and asked to switch rooms and we were told they were totally booked for the night.
We politely called her out on it, She was rude as hell, condescending, and totally unhelpful, refused to actually answer the direct question of "do you have any rooms available for us to switch into" We actually wanted to leave and not stay the night after spending literally 10min or less in the room. We asked for our money to be refunded and she refused. We asked to see the manager and she said "you are lookin right at her".

So, we ended up just leaving, not spending the night, and not getting our $80something refunded. Screw that place. I will never go there again, and to anyone who asks I say hell no.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Heather1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I'm a 30 year local so I've not stayed there since the Offshore Powerboat races don't run here anymore but I know a lot has changed for the better. Will try the restaurants soon because they have been upgraded. The rooftop is the best sunset view around and the sliders along the rail make you think you're on a cruise ship.

The happy hour rooftop is really good and the appetizers are great. A lot of new staff from a local POS restaurant. How did they ever let them go but we're glad they're at the Lani Kai now. I'll have a lot more to say soon because we plan on eating their often.

Room Tip: Get a room on the South end of the building up high. There aren't any bad views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were spending a week in Cape Coral & decided to spend a couple of nights on the beach. Looked at the reviews & prices & chose the Lani Kai. Our stay was fine, I would not say that the hotel was lovely or really nice, but it was fine. I checked the room over when we checked in & it was clean. They are renovating, but our room was not done yet so it was the old floors & furniture, but still clean & good enough. The view is fantastic, the roof top bar is lovely & the breakfast up there was great! The pool was refreshing & the staff were very nice & accommidating. We had an air condditioner problem when we checked in & they fixed it right away. Not sure I would stay here during sring break, but our stay was perfectly fine & We would stay here again. Location & views from the rooms are fantastic. Can't beat the price!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lmiller_sbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The initial reaction will not be good. We had to park across the street, but didn't move the car for 2 days anyway. The ground floor is designed for high volume, Spring Break business and it's taken a beating over the years. All the open air halls face the street, elevators were slow, but the room makes this place worth it. Our room must have been one of the recent remodels because it had no issues: Large enough, decent bathroom, desk, couch & chairs plus the balcony facing the ocean. Promptly cleaned everyday to satisfaction. The weekend entertainment schedule continues Noon until 2am, pretty loud, and a crowd later you would expect at a party bar. Sunday was Funday. Dozens of boats anchor off the beautiful beach and everyone was enjoying the live Reggae band. Free use of beach towels, volleyballs, etc at the front desk & the inground pool was nice & clean. Two restaurants on the rooftop: Open air with gliders had $8-$20 entrees. Enclosed was more upscale $15-$35 entrees. Great deal inside with the BOGO coupon included with the welcome package. For $23 your choice of 3 fishes prepared 5 different ways. Get the Grouper with soy/ginger. Overall please remember THIS IS A PARTY HOTEL. We came for beach activity, pool, bars, bands, seafood and drinking. If that's why you're going to Fort Myers Beach, this is ground zero. A fun vacation at a reasonable price can be had here, just don't expect an upscale place.

Room Tip: Avoid the noise: Get on floor 4 or 5 with a low room number to the South side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ruzz2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#21 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Inn at the Lani Kai
Bay Inn at the Lani Kai
#45 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lani Kai Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lani Kai Island Resort

Property: Lani Kai Island Resort
Address: 1400 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2798
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lani Kai Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Lani Kai Island Resort* - Beachfront Resort on Fort Myers Beach This oceanfront, family-owned resort is located in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Features include 3 beach-view restaurants, 7 beach bars with specialty tropical cocktails, full resort amenities, live entertainment 365 and more! Our rooms are recently renovated and include bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, hair dryers, makeup removal towels and more! Each room has a beachfront balcony to enjoy the mornings and sunsets and include a coffee maker and fridge to keep your mug warm and drinks cold. Free high speed wi-fi, private beachfront balconies, flat-screen televisions with full cable broadcasting, an outdoor pool right by the Gulf of Mexico, beach chairs & umbrellas, Jet Skis, Dolphin Tours, Parasailing, and more! Experience excellent service from our 24-hour front desk staff, refresh your wardrobe in our laundry facilities, and keep values safe in the safe deposit box. *The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai* - Inn on the Fort Myers Beach Bay Situated on Fort Myers Beach bay, The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai includes access to all resort amenities at Lani Kai Island Resort, which includes 400 feet of beach access, a heated pool, and nightlife entertainment. The inn features a dock for fishing and wildlife viewing. A microwave, refrigerator, and coffee-making facilities are included in every guestroom, and a seating area with a sofa bed is provided. Guests can stay connected with our high speed WiFi for free, and can relax with beautiful views while enjoying our flat screen TVs with cable. Suites offer full kitchens and more space for extended stays and larger parties, or enjoy the extra room all for you! The 24-hour front desk is located at the Lani Kai Island Resort while The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai includes free parking for 1 vehicle. *Lani Kai Attractions* - Fun in the Sun! Beautiful white sand beaches and the soothing warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico on Fort Myers Beach, there is always something to keep you busy at the Lani Kai! The Fort Myers trolley stops directly at the Lani Kai Resort throughout the day. Using the local trolley service, guests can explore Fort Myers Beach’s Island, and Lover's Key State Park which is a 12 minute drive away. We have talented performers and entertainers to dance & sing along to. Limbo, water balloon toss, and dance offs daily with special prizes for winners! Public events for everyone, private events for parties/businesses and destination weddings means daily events and weekly specials all year! No visit to the Lani Kai is complete without some outdoor adventure. Try out a wave runner or fly high over the Gulf of Mexico with panoramic views behind a parasail boat. Glide through the water on a 2-hour guided jet-ski dolphin tour. Feel the wind through your hair or capture images of this beautiful tropical island. For the beach bunny in you that doesn’t want to move out of your chair while enjoying the beautiful sea breezes, we have a fantastic wait staff that brings your cocktails right to your chair! We won’t let you go thirsty at the Lani. Explore classic beach styles in quaint boutique gift stores lining the beach and have fun shopping for all your vacation souvenirs! We have a beach side playground area for kids to play as parents enjoy an amazing view of the Gulf. Beach games and the pool keep kids happy. *Beachfront Restaurants & Snacks* Food is Lani Kai’s forte with top rated restaurants ranging from casual beachside patio Sabal Palm Beach Bar & Grille, to our two rooftop restaurants including Sun Deck Restaurant with legendary “Glider Lounge” and Island View Restaurants infamous seafood and Italian fusion food fare. All restaurants have happy hour 7 days a week as well as unique daily specials to keep bringing both guests and local restaurant patrons back for more! With validated parking for every customer, you can park on the beach for FREE while enjoying your favorite plate overlooking Fort Myers Beach! *Live Entertainment 365 Days A Year* Fort Myers Beach’s best Entertainment on the island is found only at the Lani Kai. Keep jamming at our beach stage with island tunes and into the night at Club Ohana with live entertainment 7 days a week. From Dueling DJs, Live Bands and special guests appearances from national acts and celebrities through out 6 different bars and lounges, Lani Kai are always up to something! *Paradise Weddings and Private Events* Experience a magical Destination Wedding on Fort Myers Beach. Lani Kai provides all types of wedding services from rehearsals to full on ceremonies and wedding receptions. We have everything covered from rooms, food, decor and more! Our wonderful wedding planning staff is ready to assist your every need and is happy to assist brides and grooms with all the support they need so that their special day is perfect. Plan your next event at Lani Kai from birthdays through corporate events. Birthday parties, religious holidays, private parties, non-profit events, fundraisers, award ceremonies and more! Ranging from small gatherings to full restaurant's service, our event venue flexibility is what makes planning an event at Lani Kai fun! Choose your size, food selection, location and we will take care of the rest! *Convenient Location* Fort Myers Beach Times Square and Pier is 550 m from the property. Naples is 38 km from The Bay Inn at the Lani Kai, while Sanibel is 7 km away. Southwest Florida International Airport is only 13 Miles (22 km) from the property. Thanks for being here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lani Kai Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lani Kai Island Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lani Kai Island Motel
Lanai Kai
Lani Kai Island Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing