We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the cost, but we learned we'd rather pay a little more”
Review of Hideaway Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hideaway Village
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for the cost, but we learned we'd rather pay a little more”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I came for our first vacation together (aside from our honeymoon last year), and I had done extensive research prior to our trip to find a good, clean, well-rated hotel near FM Beach. I read the great reviews for Hideaway Village, and was impressed with the pictures, so we decided to give it a shot. While we didn't have a horrible experience, he and I simply learned that we would rather fork out just a little more in order to have a nicer "hotel-like" experience. To be fair, the owner Patti, did explain to us (& I knew this from reading the reviews) that this is more of an extended stay hotel. I knew that housekeeping didn't make the rounds daily and that you had to request additional towels or change of sheets. For the price, I definitely feel like those kinds of things are fine.

We stayed in Room #36 in the main building (Estero Bldg, I believe), and it was right next to the main office, across from the pool, and right near the front parking lot. The room WAS very neat and clean. The updated kitchen looks great and we enjoyed using some of those amenities. The bathroom was nice - although the shower was teeeeeny-tiny! It was great being right across the street from the beach for that price, and we LOVED the fact that they let us take beach chairs, towels, and even a wagon to carry everything in - at no additional cost! Those are great little extras to offer your customers! We didn't take advantage of them, but we could have even borrowed bikes to ride around the beach on! In the main office, they also had a rack of DVD's we could borrow to watch in our rooms! Patti was always super-friendly, and even though they don't keep someone in the main office 24/7, if you need something, you can buzz or call her and she will be right there. They are dedicated workers, for sure!

When we first walked in the room, we were absolutely overtaken by this "clean/fresh" smell, and for a while, we thought "well, you'd rather smell something clean and fresh than something moldy or smoky," but this smell was ridiculously strong. We tried opening the windows, even bought some Febreeze de-odorizer spray, which helped, but not completely. My husband finally found the source of it, which appeared to be a scented A/C filter. So he took it out and hid it so we wouldn't smell it anymore. Annoying, but it worked. One of the first things we noticed after the smell, was that the TV was all the way across the room from the couch. The bed was kind-of in between. One of the reasons we paid for the larger room was so that we could sit on the couch and watch TV. But with this set-up, that would have been pretty impractical. Also, the couch didn't look the freshest, either. It wasn't dingy by any means, but I am pretty slack about those things, and even I wasn't super comfortable sitting on it. As it turns out, it didn't matter that the TV was located across the room, because it didn't work properly anyway! The remote didn't work, nor did the TV pick up any other stations besides Comedy Central. Even when we did get the one channel to work, the picture was blurry and messed up. Very frustrating, when you just want to relax in the evenings and watch a movie after the sun's gone down. We did have a tablet, so we tried to watch some things on Netflix, but the volume on his tablet only went up so high, and it was hard to hear it above the sound of the A/C. We let them know about the TV and every day they said they would fix it, but they never did. Nor did they offer to take any off of our final price when we checked out - even though the website states that there is Cable/TV in each room. I feel that this was the greatest annoyance in our stay.

Another thing we noticed was that the toilet ran constantly. We let them know about that as well, and amazingly, that was fixed the next day. There was a fair amount of street noise, with our room being so close to the street, and we would often hear people coming and going, right by our window. Towards the end of our stay (the weekend), the place got really busy and at times it was hard to find a parking space. The pool and outdoor areas were completely full, and to be perfectly honest, it then had the feel of trailer park. As more and more people filled up the hotel, the internet service became more and more spotty, which was frustrating at times.

We also came to find out that the bed was actually on wheels (which could roll across the tile floor), and was not at all attached the headboard - which was attached to the wall. That was interesting when we tried to prop ourselves up to read/watch a movie, etc.

Again, the staff were really nice, super friendly. The rooms are clean. The location is good, and the price is good. But as a newlywed couple, learning about our expectations for travel and vacation, we ourselves have learned that if you are expecting a little more "luxury" when you travel, it is worth it to put out a little more money for your hotel stay. We would definitely recommend this place as a clean, fun place in a good location, but would make sure any fellow travelers are aware that this is not going to be the Hilton.

Room Tip: May want to request a room on the second floor, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette M, Public Relations Manager at Hideaway Village, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank-you for taking the time and reaching out to us regarding your recent stay at the Hideaway Village Motel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and if possible, would like to discuss more about your stay. Please feel free to reach out to me at jmunao@jsaonline.com Again, thank-you for your feedback and staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    36
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here in March 2013 for a wedding and LOVED the property. The folks who ran the property were, warm, friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. The rooms were spotless and the and completely updated. Although this property is across from the beach, it had a nice pool, and beautiful outdoor space with grills and a palapas hut for our evening BBQ. We are going back in October and have already booked with here. It really is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribeBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette M, Public Relations Manager at Hideaway Village, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to your return in October. Thank-you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My family has been having our family reunion at the motel for 6 years. We have seen and experienced an enormous improvement since the new ownership took over in 2012. Very clean, rooms supplied with everything even the full kitchen, they provide us with beach chairs and towels if needed (1 less thing to pack). Tiki Hut & BBQ are awesome by the pool outdoor showers and hoses, ice machine, surveillance cameras throughout, ample parking, close to grocery store, short distance to Pier & Entertainment. Awesome room rates. Beach across the street. Very clean pool.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maite444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette M, Public Relations Manager at Hideaway Village, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us again! Our guests really enjoyed spending time with your family members and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We've just left from a week stay and I cannot believe how amazing our stay was. We stayed in the village mid island (w/ the pool). Our apartment was #33, middle and to the back ao we werent facing the pool or tiki hut. We had a slight view of the gulf. While staying a family of Cubans had their annual reunion, and they treated us like family. Our "room" was spacious and comfortable totally felt like home. It could use additionally lighting in the kitchen and our table was TINY but fine for two. They even have grill and pool stuff, who would think? And the Tiki hut, great to sit and chill and chat or whatever.
We were central to everything w/I being in the middle of everything. Beach access is right across the street. Lovers key 5 mns. We drove to MIA, Naples, into RSW, Saniel and Bonita. Our fav breakfast spot by far was Heavenly biscuit. We only had two of us so we ate out a lot and grilled out steaks and king crab legs on the grills last night (skip one 41 seafood market). Castaways down S. Estero has happy Hr 11-7, a must go. Make sure you go to N point lovers key just over the bridge. $2 pp gets you a great fishing spot and if you want to walk to the peninsula you'll enjoy a much better view than the central park entrance. Wow, ao much more I could say, but I don't have room. JUST GO !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette M, Public Relations Manager at Hideaway Village, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at the Hideaway Village Motel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are happy to read you enjoyed your time and visiting with the family reunion members. Fort Myers Beach and the surrounding areas have so much to offer and experience. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Hideaway Village was wonderful for us. We got the room at a fantastic rate and we were expecting a little lower quality at such a good price, but that was not the case at all! Glenn was more than kind; helping us get checked in and loaded into our (much larger than expected) room. The place was clean, and well kept. No, everything was not newest of the new, but it was beyond adequate. Our room was spacious and smelled nice. The floors were clean. The plumbing was a bit older you could tell, but we still enjoyed hot showers every day, so no complaints. We could walk right onto the beach from the hotel. Glenn runs a very laid back and friendly establishment. He was always around to answer questions or lend us some pool floats, beach chairs, or advice on where to eat. The hotel was far enough away to be quiet at all times but close enough to everything that we could walk to the grocery store, restaurants, shops etc. We were able to use Hideaway Village's grill and tiki hut the last night of our stay to have a nice beach cook-out. Check-out was quick and easy, no unexpected fees or hassles. It honestly felt like we stayed with family. We brought our 3 year old daughter and I felt she was safe at the hotel and that it was clean enough to let her sit in the room floor to play. The pool (at the second location) was clean and well kept as well. Glenn and Hideaway Village were fantastic. We will definitely be returning (hopefully in just a few months!)!

Room Tip: Ask to stay at the location without the pool. Yes, it means you have to drive to the second location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annelise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette M, Public Relations Manager at Hideaway Village, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
The crew at Hideaway Sandy Beach (Glenn) and Hideaway Beach Motels (Patti), greatly appreciate you staying with us. I'm so glad you were able to enjoy both establishments and also enjoyed the new Tiki Hut at Hideaway Beach....it sure does get a lot of use. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davison, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2013

this was a very nice place to stay at and enjoy a few days with my grandchildren. very very clean rooms and great people that own this motel. this is a couple miles from the main part of ft. myers which was perfect for taking little ones to the beach.

Room Tip: i had 3 of my small grandchildren and outside you could not hear them, which inside i could!! very w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenna56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette M, Public Relations Manager at Hideaway Village, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titonka
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Spent 2 weeks at the Hideaway Village and we couldn't have been happier. It has been completely redone and all rooms were very well done. Each unit is different, but all very well furnished with anything you need.Patty,Randy,Scott and rest of staff were there all the time and couldn't have been more helpful. It has around 20 units and that being said made it all the better. The new tiki hut was a great gathering spot in the late afternoon and evening for meeting other guests.We had group cookouts most nights. The beach is right across the street but very easy to get to. Its around 3 miles to Times Square so not as crowded. The Publix grocery store is only 1/2 mile away.
Made many good friends and we all will try to meet again next year.

Room Tip: May have to call to find out what unit best fits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette M, Public Relations Manager at Hideaway Village, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,633 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#27 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#22 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#17 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#7 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Village

Property: Hideaway Village
Address: 5607 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hideaway Village 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hideaway Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Village Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing