We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place on the water”

Matanzas on the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Specializing in fresh local seafood, choice Angus steaks, Seed to Table produce and Dave's famous Dockside Pizza, we are Southwest Florida's best waterfront restaurant. Live music and Happy Hour daily!
St. Augustine FL
Level Contributor
637 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Nice place on the water”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a great place for a drink or a great meal. We stopped in twice with our group and we enjoyed each visit.

They have an upper level deck and a lower level deck both overlooking the water. One thing I thought was great was their New England Clam Chowder.

Also they make a frozen key lime drink that the gals could not get enough of!

Overall a great place for lunch or dinner or just chilling out. They also have a hotel that is attached and I plan to stay their on our next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gregbooras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    316
    81
    42
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Matanzas”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Wonderful setting and very cordial wait staff. You can sit inside or outside on the deck over looking water. We watched Dolphins and tour boats. Food was a little pricy and only fair. You pay for the location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeM752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great view on their upper deck & lots of fun”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Matanzas is one of my favorite bar/restaurants in Fort Myers Beach. The 'Upper Deck' is my favorite part of the restaurant. The view is great. You look out onto the bay and the bridge to Fort Myers. More often than not, they have live music, a stand alone musician. On Sundays, around the horseshoe bar, they every one of the NFL games. Sunday, during the games, they have drink specials. The service is always friendly.
It's a great place to watch the games or just enjoy the view.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gchalms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and View”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have eaten here several times over the last several years and the food has always been good and the view is outstanding. I have to agree with a couple of reviews on the service as it was not as friendly this year as in the past but the meal was as good as always.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida
2 reviews
“Overpriced Frozen Food!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We hoped for a quiet wonderful Dinner. What we had was an overpriced Seafood Dinner for two with service by people that could care less. Management could care less.Cute exterior dragged us in. Do not be fooled like us

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matanzas on the Bay also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matanzas on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing